This section will assist you in knowing whether or not you should be making a mandatory report based on the criteria and who you should be reporting to in your community.
This section will cover:
- Who is a mandated reporter?
- What criteria needs to be met for it to be a mandated report?
- What is not a mandated report?
- Who should the information be reported to?
- Child Abuse and Maltreatment for Mandated Reporters: Teaching Personal Safety Skills : Handouts from a presentation of the same name.
- Child Abuse and Maltreatment for Mandated Reporters: Teaching Personal Safety Skills (PDF 1014KB/33 Pages) : Training for teachers and mandated reporters
- ChildHelp NationalChild Abuse Hotline 1-800-4-A-CHILD : "The Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-4-A-CHILD is dedicated to the prevention of child abuse. Serving the United States, its territories, and Canada, the Hotline is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with professional crisis counselors who, through interpreters, can provide assistance in 170 languages. The Hotline offers crisis intervention, information, literature, and referrals to thousands of emergency, social service, and support resources. All calls are anonymous and confidential."
- Mandated Reporting for Teachers: Protecting and Supporting Young Adolescents (PDF: 120KB/8 pages) : Teachers' Responsibilities When Adolescent Abuse and Neglect Are Suspected
- Mandatory Reporters of Child Abuse and Neglect: Summary of State Laws (PDF, 55 pages) : Summarizes all state laws pertaining to mandatory reporting. Information about Minnesota statutes begins on page 30.
- Minnesota State Statutes : The law related to reporting of maltreatment of minors in Minnesota
- State statutes search : Legal information pertaining to mandated reporters in Minnesota.
Top of Page