minnesota newborn screening program
In Minnesota, newborn screening is mandated by Minnesota Statutes 144.125-144.128 and governed by Minnesota Rules 4615.0300 – 4615.0760. All hospitals and healthcare providers must perform newborn screening unless a parent objects in writing. Newborn screening can save babies’ lives and protect babies’ health. Risks of not screening are serious. The benefits of newborn screening must be reviewed by an informed healthcare provider before parents can opt-out of screening.
Option 1: Parents may choose to have their baby screened, but decide to have screening results and the remaining blood specimen destroyed.
Before parents make the decision to have their baby's results and blood specimen destroyed, please have them read the Dried Blood Spots Fact Sheet.
Dried Blood Spots Fact Sheet
If you would like your baby's screening results and blood spot destroyed, a separate from is required. When MDH receives this request, the destruction of the blood sample will occur within 45 days and results will be destroyed 24 months after the initial newborn screen took place. This request can be made at birth or at any future time. Asking that the newborn screening results and specimen be destroyed means that the results and specimen will no longer be available from MDH under any circumstances.
Option 2: Parents may refuse screening of their child.
If parents refuse newborn screening for their infant, they must indicate their refusal in writing on a form provided by the Minnesota Department of Health. A copy of the form should be submitted to the Newborn Screening Program, and the original form should be retained in the child's medical chart with a copy provided to the parent(s) or legal guardian(s).
The refusal form serves as documentation that the parents were informed about the possible adverse outcomes of not performing newborn screening and that they accept legal responsibility for the consequences of their decision.Updated Sunday, 05-Dec-2010 09:35:37 CST