Medical Cannabis Annual Recertification and Enrollment
Participants that are enrolled in the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program must have their qualifying condition recertified by a Minnesota licensed physician, physician assistant (PA) or an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) and pay the enrollment fee on an annual basis in order to continue to participate in the program. Key details of the annual recertification process include:
- MN Statutes require the patient's health care practitioner to certify annually that the patient continues to suffer from a qualifying medical condition and if so, recertify a patient's qualifying medical conditions and that certification must be dated within 90 days of the patient's re-enrollment.
- Enrollment expiration dates are based on a rolling year calendar that starts on the day the patient receives their acceptance e-mail into the program.
- Recertification reminders will be sent via email to each enrollee at both 60 and 30 days prior to the patient’s enrollment expiration date, reminding them to visit their health care practitioner if they have not recertified their condition prior to each of these dates.
- Patients who complete the condition recertification and enrollment process prior to their annual enrollment expiration date will be automatically be reenrolled on their yearly enrollment anniversary date. Patients will receive an approval e-mail confirmation when their reenrollment application has been reviewed by the Minnesota Department of Health.
- Patients who do not complete the recertification process along with their payment before their annual expiration date, will not be able to visit a Cannabis Patient Center (CPC) or purchase medical cannabis. Expired patients must complete the recertification and enrollment process and receive an approval e-mail from the Minnesota Department of Health before they can visit a CPC or purchase medical cannabis.
- Approved caregivers in the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Registry do not need to complete any type of recertification or reenrollment. A caregiver’s status is active, as long as their patient is classified in the APPROVED status in the Registry.