State Trauma Advisory Council (STAC)

The State Trauma Advisory Council was established by legislation to advise, consult with and make recommendations to the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health regarding the development, maintenance and improvement of the statewide trauma system.

Operating Procedures  (PDF: 7 pages/202 KB)

Mission and Vision



March 19
June 4
September 24 TIES Event Center, Hamline Room Online Comments (collected July-August; PDF: 24 pages/311 KB)
November 19 Teleconference
December 3 TIES, Cafeteria Online comments (collected October-November; PDF: 4 pages/106 KB)
Tourniquet Articles (PDF: 35 pages/984 KB)

All meetings held at the Shoreview Community Center, 4580 Victoria St. N. in Shoreview from 12:30-3:30 in the Wedell Community Room. (Enter from the upper level.)
March 11
June 3 (Date change!)
September 9
December 9


DRAFT March 11  (PDF: 7 pages/69 KB)

December 3  (PDF: 4 pages/30 KB)
November 19  (PDF: 4 pages/102 KB)
September 24  (PDF: 8 pages/81 KB)
June 4  (PDF: 5 pages/44 KB)
March 19  (PDF: 6 pages/51 KB)

December 4  (PDF: 4 pages/44 KB)
September 11  (PDF: 4 pages/36 KB)
June 12  (PDF: 4 pages/38 KB)
March 13  (PDF: 3 pages/36 KB)

Prior years' minutes


Applicant Review Committee (ARC) Executive Committee
Joint Policy Committee (JPC) Level 3 Subcommittee


State Performance Improvement Work Group Data Elements Work Group
Education Workgroup  Final Report  (PDF: 13 pages/115 KB) Level III Surgeon Criteria Workgroup Final Report (PDF: 62 pages/ 926 MB)


Allen Brown , M.D., Chair
Rehabilitation Specialist
Mayo Clinic, Rochester
Term expires January 5, 2015
Chad Robbins, D.O., Vice chair
Rural General Surgeon
Glencoe Regional Health Services
Term expires January 4, 2016
Kurt Martinson, M.D.
Level 1 or 2 Trauma Surgeon
St. Cloud Hospital
Term expires January 4, 2016
State EMS Medical Director
EMS Regulatory Board
Term determined by the EMS Regulatory Board
Lt. Colonel Matt Langer
Commissioner of Public Safety Designee
Minnesota State Patrol
Term determined by the Commissioner of Public Safety
John Fossum
Rural Hospital Administrator
Ely–Bloomenson Community Hospital
Term expires January 4, 2016
Gayle Williams, R.N.
Level 3 or 4 Trauma Program Manager
Ridgeview Hospital, Waconia
Term expires January 4, 2016
Daniel DeSmet, EMT-P
Rural EMS Attendant or Ambulance Director
North Memorial Medical Transportation, Marshall Area
Term expires January 5, 2015
John Hick, M.D.
Emergency Medicine Physician
Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis
Term expires January 5, 2015
Ron Furnival, M.D.
University of Minnesota Medical Center-Fairview, Minneapolis
Term expires January 5, 2015
Peter Lindbloom, PA-C
Rural Physician Assistant or Nurse Practitioner
Mille Lacs Health System, Onamia
Term expires January 4, 2016
Peter Cole, M.D.
Orthopedic Surgeon
Regions Hospital, St. Paul
Term expires January 5, 2015
Robert Roach, M.D.
Level 1 or 2 Neurosurgeon
North Memorial Medical Center, Robbinsdale
Term expires January 4, 2016
Carol Immermann, R.N.
Level 1 or 2 Trauma Program Manager
Saint Mary’s Hospital—Mayo Clinic, Rochester
Term expires January 5, 2015
Mark Paulson, M.D.
Level 3 or 4 Family Medicine Emergency Physician
Perham Memorial Hosptial
Term expires January 5, 2015


If you have questions regarding the STAC, please contact the trauma system coordinator.

Updated Friday, 18-Apr-2014 14:55:34 CDT