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Health Occupations Hearing Instrument Practical 
Examination Modification and Delay 
H E A L T H  R E G U L A T I O N  D I V I S I O N ,  H E A L T H  O C C U P A T I O N S  
P R O G R A M  

ATTENTION 
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) Health Regulation Division (HRD) is temporarily 
modifying and delaying certain regulatory requirements related to licensing audiologists and 
certifying hearing instrument dispensers.   
 
The in-person practical examination required for licensure or certification has been suspended 
because of COVID-19 safety concerns.  To reduce hardships for providers, HRD will allow 
qualified applicants to obtain a conditional license to practice audiology before they pass the 
practical exam; and allow qualified applicants for hearing instrument dispensing to obtain a 
conditional certification before they pass the practical exam.  The waiver and modification will 
allow providers to hire audiologists and hearing instrument dispensers to serve individuals with 
hearing needs. 
 

Requirements Being Modified 
Emergency Executive Order 20-32 (https://www.leg.state.mn.us/archive/execorders/20-32.pdf) 
issued on April 8, 2020, allows the Commissioner of Health to temporarily delay, waive, or 
modify certain requirements so that providers can take necessary action to assess, identify, treat, 
and support Minnesotans with COVID-19 and protect those Minnesotans who are not infected. 

The following Minnesota Statutes related to licensing and certification requirements for 
audiologists and hearing instrument dispensers are now modified: 

• 148.515, subd. 6 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/148.515) 

• 153A.14, subd. 2h(a)(2) (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.14) 

What HRD is Doing Differently  
During the COVID-19 peacetime emergency order and for 60 days after termination of the 
order, MDH will: 

• Allow qualified applicants for audiology to obtain a conditional license before they pass 
the practical examination. 

• Allow qualified applicants for certification as hearing instrument dispensers to obtain a 
conditional certificate before they pass the practical portion of the MDH hearing 
instrument dispensing examination, provided they pass the written examination 

https://www.leg.state.mn.us/archive/execorders/20-32.pdf
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/148.515
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.14
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administered by the International Hearing Society, and are supervised by a certified 
hearing instrument dispenser during the period of conditional certification. 

• Require audiologists and hearing instrument dispensers to pass the practical portion of 
the examination within 60 days after termination of the peacetime emergency, or when 
MDH resumes administration of the examination. 

Implementation Guidance 
MDH issues the following guidance to assure safety during COVID-19 related restrictions:   

• Audiologists and hearing instrument dispensers issued conditional licensure or 
certification under this waiver must schedule and pass the practical examination after 
the COVID-19 peacetime emergency is terminated, or when MDH resumes 
administration of the exam. 

• Applicants applying for a conditional hearing instrument certification must demonstrate 
they have passed the written portion of the examination required by Minnesota 
Statutes, section 153A.14, subd. 2h(a)(1) and provide the name of their supervisor. 

• Comply with all documentation and practice standards in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 
153A and Minnesota Statutes, sections 148.511 to 148.5198. 

Timeframe 
The modifications will be in effect during COVID-19 peacetime orders, beginning January 22, 
2021 and for 60 days after termination of the emergency peacetime orders.   

 
Questions? 
Contact the Health Occupations Program at health.hop@state.mn.us or 651-201-3731. 
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To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4101. 
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