Licensing for Radon Mitigation Company and Sole Proprietor
On December 28, 2018, a Ramsey County District Court judge issued an order in an on-going lawsuit filed against the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). That order, in effect, prevents MDH from enforcing certain radon mitigation statutes and rules that were scheduled to become effective on January 1 of 2019. Under the order, MDH for the time being cannot regulate or enforce the statutes and rules that apply to radon mitigation professionals that conduct mitigation in residences. Until further order of the Court, MDH must comply with the order. Other parts of the radon statutes and rules are not affected by the Court’s order. The radon measurement aspects of the statute and rules remain unchanged. If you are conducting radon measurement in a building you do not own or lease, you need to have a radon professional license. For more information, see the statement ‘Radon Licensure Changes due to Temporary Injunction’.
All licensing requirements go into effect January 1, 2019.
Who needs a company license?
Any business or government entity that employs one or more licensed mitigation professional and performs or authorizes employees to perform radon mitigation in a non-residential building. A licensed radon mitigation company is the business that oversees mitigation work of employed or contracted licensed mitigation professionals. A sole proprietor radon mitigation professional, who does not employ or contract with a licensed radon mitigation professional, is not required to obtain a mitigation company license.
What do you need to get licensed?
A radon mitigation company needs to identify one professional as the responsible individual of the business. This professional must be licensed as a mitigation professional in Minnesota.
Application are completed online through the radon licensing system. Documents are to be uploaded online through the radon licensing system. No paper applications will be accepted. Applicants must submit:
- A completed online application form
- Proof of workers’ compensation insurance (or exemption documentation)
- Name and mitigation professional license number of the responsible individual
- Names and license numbers of all licensed mitigation professionals employed or subcontracted by the company
- A non-refundable fee of $100 payable by e-check, credit card, or debit card. The license fee is waived if the company employs or contracts only one licensed radon mitigation professional
All Minnesota radon licenses are valid for 1 year from the date of issuance. Companies must apply to renew their license at least 30 days before the license expires.
Change in Responsible Individual
If a company has a change in responsible individual, they must notify MDH in writing within 30 days. The written notice must:
- Identify a new responsible individual with their name and MN radon professional license number
- Be signed by the new responsible individual
- Provide the date when the new individual assumed the duties of the position
Radon System Tags
- All non-residential mitigation systems installed by professionals must have a MDH issued tag.
- Licensed mitigation companies and sole proprietor mitigation professionals can purchase tags. Tags must be purchased online through the radon licensing system.
- Each tag is $75 payable with e-check, credit card, or debit card
- A licensed mitigation professional must attach tags
Non-residential mitigation work completed by a radon mitigation professional must be reported to MDH by a licensed radon company or a licensed sole proprietor mitigation professional. These reports are due quarterly (January 30, April 30, July 30, October 30) and must be submitted online through the radon licensing system. Information must include:
- Name and contact information of the property owner or occupant, if available
- Address where work was performed
- Start and completion dates
- Type of mitigation system installed
- Type of building mitigated
- Pre and post mitigation radon concentrations, if available
- Mitigation system tag ID number
All data can be entered into a spreadsheet and uploaded as a .csv file (template is available online) or entered individually.
Standards of Conduct and Work Practices
Radon mitigation companies and sole proprietor mitigation professionals must follow standards of conduct and work practices in non-residential mitigations:
- Verify that all of its mitigation professionals comply with Minnesota rules
- Verify that all employees directly involved in mitigation activities complete an NRPP-approved course or a minimum of 8 hours basic mitigation training from a licensed mitigation profession (training must be prior to mitigation work, done annually, and documented with trainees’ signatures)
- Ensure that all mitigation work is performed with on-site supervision of a licensed mitigation professional
- Maintain training and mitigation records for 3 years
- Notify MDH within 30 days of any changes to application information
- Obtain local permits as required
- Make available to MDH information including records, equipment, addresses, property owners and residents, and employees
For information on workers compensation and if you need to provide it for your company see Minnesota Employment and Economic Development .