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Asbestos Training Course Permit 
Application 
Instructions 
NOTICE:  

 Please send separate payments for lead and asbestos application fees.  

 MDH cannot process payments that combine fees for lead and asbestos.  

 MDH will return applications submitted with payments that combine fees for asbestos and 
lead. 

Fill in the application in black or blue ink only. 

For an initial permit application allow 60 days for processing and course material review. 

For a renewal permit application allow 30 days for processing and course material review. 

Include a business check, cashier's check or money order payable to Minnesota Department of 
Health (MDH). 

No cash or personal checks accepted. 

A service fee is charged for returned checks. 

All fees are nonrefundable 

▪ $500 fee for an initial training course permit 
▪ $250 fee for a renewal training course permit 

Include with all initial applications the following course materials: 

▪ The course curriculum; 
▪ The instructor and trainee manuals; 
▪ Copies of slide show presentations, handouts, DVDs, etc.; 
▪ Course examination and key 
▪ The principal instructors, and all other instructors’ resumes. 

Mail to 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Asbestos/Lead Compliance Unit 
PO Box 64497 
St Paul, MN 55164-0497 
For questions or more information, call 651-201-4620 or visit the MDH website 
(http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/eh/asbestos/index.html)

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/eh/asbestos/index.html
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/eh/asbestos/index.html
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Tennessen Warning 

For individuals applying for MDH credentials 
Minnesota Statute, section 270C.72, subdivision 4, requires you to submit your social security 
number before MDH can issue a credential to you.  

For companies applying for an MDH credential 
Minnesota Statute, section 270C.72, subdivision 4, requires you to supply your Minnesota 
business identification number and your social security number before MDH issues a 
credential to you. Minnesota Statutes, section 176 also requires you to provide the 
information concerning Workers Compensation Insurance or your permit to self-insure. 

For all applicants 
MDH uses the information you provide on an application to determine if you meet the 
requirements for an MDH credential. You are not required to provide any of the requested 
information. However, if you do not provide the requested information, MDH will be unable 
to process your application. If you submit false information, MDH will deny your application 
or suspend, revoke, or take other disciplinary action against your credential after issuing it. 

MDH will not disclose the information on your application to others during the application 
process. MDH may disclose it to others, including the Attorney General’s Office and persons 
contacted for purposes of verification or investigation, if required by law. MDH will provide 
information on the application, including your social security number, to the Minnesota 
Department of Revenue at its request. If anyone contests your credential, the information on 
your application may become public. Once MDH issues your credential, all information in the 
application becomes public, except your social security number, which remains private. 
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Asbestos Training Course Permit Application 

Permit Information 
Check only ONE permit type: 

□ Initial permit □ Renewal permit 

Check only ONE course type: 

□ Initial course □ Refresher course 

Check only ONE discipline: 

□ Worker □ Supervisor □ Inspector   

□ Management Planner □ Project Designer □ Air Sampling 

Training Provider Information 
Training Provider Name: __________________________________________________________ 

Minnesota Business ID # (Required by MN Statutes, §270C.72): __________________________ 

Federal Employee ID # (Required by MN Statutes, §270C.72): ___________________________ 

Business Address: _______________________________________________________________ 

City: ____________________________________________State___________Zip____________ 

County________________________________ Telephone Number: (___) __________________ 

Fax Number: (___) __________________ Email _______________________________________ 

Business Contact Name: __________________________________________________________ 

Workers Compensation Insurance Information 
(Check and fill in only A or B) 

□ A. Company has Workers Compensation Insurance 
Insurance Company: __________________________________________________________ 

Policy Number: ______________________________________________________________ 

Start Date (MM/DD/YYYY) ________________ End Date (MM/DD/YYYY) ________________ 
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□ B. Company is exempt from Workers Compensation Insurance requirement 
by MN Statutes §176 
Reason for exemption (check only one): 

□ I have no employees OR I have no employees working in Minnesota 

□ I am self-insured 

□ I have no employees who are covered by the workers compensation law 

Signature 
I provided true and complete information. I understand MDH’s Tennessen Warning, available 
on page 2. I also understand that submitting false information allows MDH to deny, suspend, 
revoke or take other action against this permit. 

Signature  Date / /  
 MM/DD/YYYY 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4620. 
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