Children of Incarcerated Families Workgroup (SCHSAC) - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Children of Incarcerated Families Workgroup

The SCHSAC Children of Incarcerated Parents Workgroup will assess the role of counties in preventing and mitigating the effects of parental incarceration on children. This work will build on ongoing efforts across the state, and is an opportunity for SCHSAC to take a lead role in defining critical gaps in practice and programming as well as opportunities for action at the local level. This group will focus on the role of programs, systems, and environments at the county level, with particular focus on the intersections between local jails and local public health.


Key documents

Children of Incarcerated Parents Workgroup: Final report to the State Community Health Services Advisory Committee (PDF)



Supporting documents



  • Bill Hutton, Co-chair, Executive Director, Minnesota Sheriff’s Association
  • Sheila Kiscaden, Co-chair, Olmsted County Commissioner and SCHSAC member
  • Tracine Asberry, St. Paul Youth Services
  • Anne Barry, Ramsey County
  • Dawn Beck, Olmsted County
  • Guy Bowling, Fatherhood Project
  • Joan Brandt, Minnesota Department of Health
  • Lee Buckley, Ujamaa Place
  • Toni Carter, Ramsey County
  • Jackie Dionne, Minnesota Department of Health
  • Charles Dixon, Minnesota Department of Human Services
  • Ryan Erdmann, Minnesota Association of Counties
  • Renee Frauendienst, Stearns County
  • Devon Gilchrist, Minnesota Department of Human Services
  • Brett Grant, Voices for Racial Justice
  • Roger Heinen, Washington County
  • Brian Howard, Olmsted County
  • Brian Kopperud, Dakota County
  • Harlan Madsen, Kandiyohi County
  • Susan Morris, Isanti County
  • Kay Nastrom, Mille Lacs County
  • John Poupart, tribal health leader
  • Rebecca Shlafer, University of Minnesota
  • John Soghigian, caregiver representative
  • Aaron Sojourner, University of Minnesota
  • Tim Sumner, Beltrami County
  • Tim Thompson, Minnesota Department of Corrections
  • Tyler Winkelman, Hennepin County Medical Center

Committee staff to workgroup

  • Megan Waltz, Minnesota Department of Health
  • Anna Lynn, Minnesota Department of Health