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Body Art – Criminal Penalties for Illegal 
Practice & Technical Changes 
 
Summary training and are more likely to practice in 
This proposal makes it a gross misdemeanor to unlicensed locations that may lack proper 
practice body art without a license. It also makes sanitation. 
technical changes to the body art licensure  
requirements. Current law authorizes MDH to impose civil 
 penalties for unlicensed practice; however, it is very 
Background difficult to enforce an order against an unlicensed 
To protect the public from blood-borne diseases, person. The proposed criminal penalty allows MDH 
MDH began regulating body art technicians and to refer information about unlicensed practice to 
establishments in 2010. MDH has licensed law enforcement. Law enforcement would then 
approximately 800 body art technicians and 150 have discretion to investigate the activity and bring 
body art establishments. criminal charges if appropriate.   
  
The risk of disease transmission arises from the fact Minnesota law has several precedents for 
that during both body piercing and the application imposition of criminal penalties for the illegal 
of tattoos, a client’s skin is punctured. This creates practice of health-related professions. Currently, it 
the potential for transmission of blood-borne is a gross misdemeanor to illegally conduct hearing 
diseases such as hepatitis, MRSA (methicillin- aid dispensing, chiropractic practice, nursing 
resistant staphylococcus aureus), tuberculosis, optometry, and psychology. 
HIV/AIDS, and tetanus. Proper education on blood-  
borne diseases and training in controlling infection Body Art Establishment Technical Changes 
and preventing disease transmission is an important The proposal also contains four technical changes. 
step to ensure public health and effective licensure.  1. Clarifies that both fixed site and mobile 
 establishments must obtain an establishment 
Criminal Penalty for Illegal Practice license. 
MDH has received numerous complaints alleging 2. Allows MDH to accept temporary event 
illegal practice by body artists. In Fiscal Year 2012, applications submitted less than the 
76 of the 90 complaints MDH received regarding currently required 14 days before the event 
body art alleged illegal practice. Unlicensed body if staff has sufficient time to complete an 
artists are unlikely to have had infection control inspection. (Current language has compelled 
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MDH to deny applications received within 
the 14-day window even at times when the 
department has had the capacity to review 
the applications within that time frame.) 

3. States that written aftercare instructions 
provided by body artists to clients must 
advise about the difference between a 
normal irritation and infection. This 
requirement will help clients better 
differentiate normal irritation from 
infections requiring medical attention. 

4. Repeals Minnesota Statutes 146B.03, 
subdivision 10. This was a licensure 
transition period which expired on January 
1, 2012. 
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