Overview

The Sage Screening Program is a partnership between the Minnesota Department of Health and health care providers. The goal of the Sage Screening Program is to provide access to quality breast and cervical cancer screening for Minnesota women with low to moderate-income, who are un- or under-insured. The program is funded through a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention under the "Breast and Cervical Cancer Mortality Prevention Act of 1990," (DP17-1701) as well as funds from the state of Minnesota and private organizations.

Eligibility

Patients must meet all four eligibility criteria listed below:

- 1. Ages 40 and older for breast cancer screening and 21 to 64 for cervical cancer screening
 - a. Exceptions: Patients under 40 years old are eligible for breast cancer screening services under the following conditions:
 - i. The patient is experiencing signs or symptoms that may be related to breast cancer (i.e.: lump, bloody nipple discharge, skin dimpling, inflammation) and screening is important to rule out this possibility.
 - ii. The patient reports a family history of breast cancer in a first-degree relative (parent, sibling or child has had breast cancer; patients with a first degree relative diagnosed at a young age with breast cancer should begin screening within 10 years of their relative's age at diagnosis).
 - b. Patients over 65 may be eligible for breast diagnostic services if they are high risk:
 - i. The patient is experiencing signs or symptoms that may be related to breast cancer (i.e.: lump, bloody nipple discharge, skin dimpling, inflammation) and screening is important to rule out this possibility.
 - ii. The patient has an abnormal breast screening test (mammogram, ultrasound) requiring diagnostic work-up.

2. Have no insurance or be under-insured

a. Underinsured refers to eligible women who have any co-pay or deductible (co-pays are not to be collected from Sage enrolled women). The primary insurance can be a commercial plan or MinnesotaCare. Patients with a Health Savings Account are eligible for Sage. Sage will pay for screening services instead of the HSA. Patients with a Medicaid Spenddown may qualify for the Sage Program.

3. Be a Minnesota resident

 Patients who live in Minnesota, either year-round or seasonally, are eligible for Sage Screening Program services if they meet the program's income and insurance guidelines.

- b. Patients who are not Minnesota residents should be referred to the Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program in their state of residence to determine eligibility for services in their own state's program. Phone numbers for other state programs can be obtained by calling 1-888-643-2584.
- c. Non-Minnesota residents from adjacent states are eligible for the Sage Screening Program if they meet Sage's income and insurance guidelines. These patients are NOT eligible for treatment coverage under the Minnesota Treatment Act and as a result of participating in Sage may become ineligible for coverage under their state's Treatment Act.

4. Annual income at or below 250% of the federal poverty level (based on income and family size)

- a. Income guidelines change annually after January 1st and are also listed on the Sage website. 2020 income guidelines listed below.
- b. Patients who were born female or who are transgender women (male-to-female), who have taken or are taking hormones and meet all other program eligibility requirements, are eligible to receive breast cancer screening and diagnostic services through the Sage Screening Program. All individuals eligible to receive Sage services will be referred to as "patients" throughout the remainder of this manual.

Household Number	Monthly Income	Yearly Income
1	\$ 2,831	\$33,975
2	\$3,815	\$45,775
3	\$4,798	\$57,575
4	\$5,781	\$69,375
5	\$6,765	\$81,175
6	\$7,748	\$92,975

2022 Income Guidelines

Self-employed or farmers should use their net income after deducting business expenses. Since monthly incomes may vary, encourage clients to use a current or recent month's estimate of their monthly income after business expenses. No documentation is required.

Updated: 2/3/2022