
Effective 9-21-14 


August 18, 2014 Protecting, maintaining and improving the health. ofallMinnesotans 

Rafael Antonio-Sanchez 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC14032 

Dear Mr. Antonio-Sanchez: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you: [1] provided body mi services, while under a 
temporary license, without any proper supervision, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, 
subdivisions 3(3), Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions 1 (a) and Minnesota Statutes, 
section 146B.03 subdivision 7; and [2] intenionally submitted false or misleading information to the 
commissioner, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3(1). Therefore, MDH is 
issuing you a reprimand, imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $643, and refusing to grant or renew 
licensure. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by 
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 
writing and.must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Detennination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul; MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to 
Gilbert Acevedo at (651)201-3727. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee 
at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, . ...._ .. J 

~~v 
Darcy Miner, "Jbirector 
Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 

cc: Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Rafael Antonio-Sanchez 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions 1, no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 7, a temporary license may 
be issued if a licensed technician agrees to supervise the applicant. 

6. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.01, subdivision 28, "supervision" means 
the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art is being 
performed. 

7. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(1), the commissioner may 
take any of the disciplinary actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that a technician has 
intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 On April 3, 2013, MDH received a temporary body art technician license application 
from Rafael Antonio-Sanchez (Hereinafter "Technician"). 

2. 	 On April 5, 2013, Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license. 



3. 	 In the temporary body art technician license application, Technician listed Brandon 
Yarborough (Hereinafter "BY") as his supervisor. BY listed The Truth Tattoos in Saint 
Paul, MN as his work place. 

4. 	 On November 5, 2013, BY emailed MDH to advise he is no longer supervising 
Technician and has not been for some time. When asked, BY replied with "The effective 
date my supervision stopped was July 18th,,_ 

5. 	 On December 17, 2013, MDH sent a letter to Technician. The letter advised Technician 
his temporary body art technician license has been suspended immediately until he finds 
a new supervisor that is approved by MDH. 

6. 	 On April 24, 2014, MDH received a full body art technician license application from 
Technician. Enclosed with the application is a spreadsheet logging all body art 
procedures Technician had provided from November 12, 2013 through April 12, 2014. 

7. 	 On April 25, 2014, MDH sent Technician a letter advising his application was not 
processed as it was incomplete. To complete the application process, Technician needed 
to submit a signed affidavit from BY that BY had supervised Technician for 200 hours of 
body art services. 

8. 	 On May 15, 2014, MDH received the letter of affidavit needed from Technician to 
continue with the application process. The letter states, "I Brandon 0. Yarborough 
supervised Rafael Sanchez through out his two hundred hours in which he learned the 
process of tattooing including set up time, hands on tattooing, and proper sanitation. He 
was under my supervision from March, 2013 -March, 2014". The letter has a signature 
underneath the mentioned statement with a date of 5-13-14. 

9. 	 On May 16, 2014, BY emailed MDH and advised Technician "was terminated without 
my signature for completing 200 hours. I wasn't confident that he was ready to be an 
artist without supervision". 

10. On May 16, 2014, Technician was denied a body art technician license and his file was 
referred to the Investigation and Enforcement Unit of the Health Occupations Program 
withMDH. 

11. On June 9, 2014, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. The letter 
requested a written response from Technician no later than July 9, 2014. 

12. On July 24, 2014, MDH received a letter ofresponse from Technician. In the letter, 
Technician admitted he forged BY's signature. Technician stated, "Yes, I forged the 
signature. I signed it without notifying my employer because Omar and I ended up in 
bad terms. He even told me on my last day at the Truth Tattoo that'll never sign of 
license even after I paid him and completed my 200 hours. I knew I was doing wrong but 
I was embarrassed to tell my job the truth and feel like I had to beg Omar after he stated it 
was up to him he'll never license me, even after I knew I deserved it and did what I had 
to too earn it". 



13. In the letter ofresponse, Technician also stated, "All of the logged hours from Novem12­
April 12th were performed at WB Tattoo under a licensed Artist supervision". Technician 
stated he was not aware he could only provide tattoo under BY's supervision and thought 
he could move to other establishments. 

14. WB Tattoo is a body art establishment located in Spring Lake Park, MN. 

15. Based on the spreadsheet Technician enclosed with his full body art license application, 

Technician provided 26 tattoos in November 2013, 25 tattoos in December 2013, 11 

tattoos in January 2014, 25 tattoos in March 2014, and 15 tattoos in April 2014. 


CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Technician failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivisions 1, and section 146B.03, subdivision 7. A temporary license was 
issued to the Technician; however, a temporary license is only deemed valid if the tattoo 
procedure is performed in the presence of and under the supervision of the licensed 
technician the applicant submitted in his temporary license application. Technician 
provided a total of 112 tattoo services between November 2013 and April 2014 outside 
the physical presence of his supervisor on record. 

2. 	 Technician failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08 subdivision 3 (1) as he intentionally submitted false or misleading information 
to the commissioner by forging YB' s signature on the letter of affidavit stating 
Technician had completed his 200 hours under YB's supervision. 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Any body art application Technician submits for licensure shall be not be granted or 
renewed. 

2. 	 Technician may submit an application for temporary body art license after two years of 
the effective date of this Determination. 

3. 	 Technician is prohibited from practicing body art in Minnesota. Technician is prohibited 
from using the body art titles protected by sections 146B.03 subdivision 2 and 
representing to the public that he is licensed to practice body art in Minnesota. 

4. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $643 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violations and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. The civil penalty must be paid in full 
before Technician is granted a body art license. 




