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MIHNNESOTA

DEPARTMENToF HEALTH
Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

April 19, 2006

Ms. Christine Bauleke

RE: MDH File Number AUA-060031

Dear Ms. Bauleke:

I have determined that future audiologist license renewals or applications will be denied. Based
on my review of the facts and law in this matter, I have deiermined that you failed to respond to a
written request from the department within 30 days, as required by Minnesota Statutes, section
148.5195, subdivision 3(2) and failed to pay a required surcharge fee as required by Minnesota
Statutes, section 148.5194, subdivision 7. These are grounds for denying renewal of your
license, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 4(1) and (2).

This decision will be made final and effective 30 days from the date it is received by you. You
have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing provided under Minnesota
Statutes, Chapter 14. A request for a hearing must be made in writing and include specific

. grounds for challenging the department’s decision. If you wish to request a hearing, please send,
deliver, or fax a written hearing request, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Susan Winkelmann, Investigations and Enforcement Manager
Minnesota Department of Health

85 East Seventh Place, Suite 300

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

Fax: 651/201-3839

If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Susan Winkelmann at 651/201-3722.

Sincerely,

D e
David J. Giese, Director

Division of Compliance Monitoring

cc:  Tom Hiendlmayr, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Susan Winkelmann, Manager, Investigations and Enforcement Unit
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. HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of -
Christine Bauleke
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AUTHORITY

1. Effective August 1, 2003, Minnesota Statutes, section 148.513, subdivision 1, required a
. person to be licensed as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes, sections 148.511 to 148.5198, in order to engage in practice.

2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 3(2), failure to respond
within 30 days to a written request from the department sent via certified mail, is a
ground for disciplinary action. :

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5194, subdivision 7, effective November 1,
2005, all audiologists are required to pay a prorated surcharge fee.

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 4(1), authorizes the
. Commissioner of Health to refuse to grant or renew licensure if there is a violation of one
of the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.511, et. seq.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Christine Bauleke (hereinafter “Practitioner”) was first registered as an Audiologist on
January 16, 2003. Practitioner renewed her license in 2004 and her license expired on

January 31, 2006.

2. By letter dated August 29, 2005, Credentialing staff notified Practitioner that she was
required to remit a prorated surcharge fee in the amount of $29 by November 1, 2005, and
that failure to pay the surcharge fee might result in the suspension of her license.

3. By letter dated November 18, 2005, Credentialing staff notified Practitioner the surcharge
fee, which was due by November 1, 2005, had not been received. Practitioner was
provided with a copy of the August 29, 2005, letter, asked to remit the surcharge fee by
December 17, 2005, and informed that failure to do so would result in the suspension of

her Hcense.

4. By letter dated December 21, 2005, Credentialing staff notified Practitioner the surcharge
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fee, due November 1, 2005, had not yet been received. Copies of the August 29* and
November 18%, letters were enclosed, and Practitioner was asked to submit the required
surcharge fee by January 23, 2006. Practitioner was notified that failure to do so would
result in discipline, “including additional penalties and or condition, suspension or
revocation of your license to practice Audiology in Minnesota.” [sic] This letter was sent
to Practitioner via certified mail, receipt number 7000 1670 0005 7582 5311, and
Practitioner signed for it on December 24, 2005. To date, the Practitioner has not paid the
$29.00 prorated surcharge fee.

Practitioner failed to respond within 30 days to a written request from the department sent via
certified mail, and failed to pay the required surcharge fee pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
sections 148.5195, subdivision 3(2) and 148.5194, subdivision 7, which are grounds for
disciplinary action.

DETERMINATION

Practitioner’s Audiologist future license renewal or application will be denied until such time as she
submits payment of the required prorated surcharge fee of $29.00.
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