

# Effective 3-6-15

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

February 4, 2015

Chad Gerald Bloom

#### RE: MDH File Number: BAC14046

Dear Mr. Bloom:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you: [1] intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (1); and [2] failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (2). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and refusing to grant or renew licensure (should you apply). This is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program Minnesota Department of Health PO Box 64882 Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Gilbert Acevedo at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at (651)201-3728.

Sincerely,

Darcy Miner, Director Division of Health Regulation

Enclosure cc: Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program

# HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

# A Determination In the Matter of Chad Gerald Bloom Body Art Technician

#### AUTHORITY

- The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision
  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.
- 2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding \$10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.
- 3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.
- 4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (1), the commissioner may take any of the disciplinary actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that a technician has intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner.
- 5. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (2), the commissioner may take any of the disciplinary actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that a technician has failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner.

## **FINDINGS OF FACT**

- 1. On September 19, 2013, MDH received a temporary body art technician license application from Chad Bloom (Hereinafter "Technician").
- 2. In the temporary body art technician license application, Technician listed (Hereinafter (Hereinafter "Establishment, as his work place.
- 3. The Establishment is operated (Hereinafter "Operator").
- 4. On September 20, 2013, Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license. The temporary body art technician license expired on September 20, 2014.

- 5. On September 16, 2014, MDH received a full body art technician license application from Technician.
- 6. In the full body art technician license application, Technician again listed as his work place and
- Enclosed with the application was a list of 39 tattoo procedures Technician had performed under his temporary license. The tattoo procedures ranged from April 25, 2014 to June 17, 2014. Along with the date of the tattoo procedure, the list also included the name of the client, the client's phone number, description of the tattoo, and total hours spent on the tattoo.
- 8. According to the list, Technician performed 4 tattoo procedures in April 2014, 20 tattoo procedures in May 2014, and 15 tattoo procedures in June 2014.
- 9. Also enclosed with the application was a notarized signed affidavit from The affidavit stated, under . Technician has completed the required 200 supervised hours.
- 10. On September 18, 2014, Operator emailed MDH. The email stated Technician never worked at the Establishment and that \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ employment with the Establishment ended in the first week of May 2014. Possible end dates for \_\_\_\_\_\_ are May 5, 2014 or May 7, 2014.
- 11. According to the list, Technician performed 30 tattoo procedures after May 7, 2014.
- 12. On September 24, 2014, MDH sent Technician a letter advising his full body art technician license application had been denied. The reason for the denial was for intentionally submitting false or misleading information to the commissioner.
- 13. On October 2, 2014, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. MDH requested Technician respond no later than November 3, 2014. MDH did not receive a letter of response from Technician.
- 14. On November 7, 2014, MDH sent a second Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. MDH requested Technician respond no later than December 8, 2014. MDH did not receive a letter of response from Technician.

#### CONCLUSION

 Technician failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3 (1) as he intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner. Technician lied about working at the Establishment. In addition, 30 of the 39 tattoo procedures Technician supposedly performed were when his supervisor was no longer at the Establishment. 2. Technician failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3 (2) as he failed, with 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner. MDH sent Technician two notices but he failed to respond to either of them.

## DETERMINATION

- 1. Any body art application Technician submits for licensure shall be not be granted or renewed.
- 2. Technician is prohibited from practicing body art in Minnesota. Technician is prohibited from using the body art titles protected by sections 146B.03 subdivision 2 and representing to the public that he is licensed to practice body art in Minnesota.