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MINNESOTA Effective: June 4, 2015 


Protecting; maintaining and improving the healrh ofallMinnesotans 
May I, 2015 

Wendy E. Davis 

 





RE: MDH File Number: AUCI3005 

Dear Ms. Davis: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you performed the services ofan audiologist in a 
negligent manner and that falls below the community standard of care in audiology related to 
documentation of dispensing related services, in violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section 148.5 I 95, 
subdivision 3, clause (3) and (4); and that you failed to comply with the restrictions surrounding the 
recommendation and sales of hearing instruments, in violation of section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause 
(20Xi) and (20)(iv). Therefore, the Department is reprimanding you and assessing you a civil penalty in 
the amount of$1,IIO.OO. This action is authorized pursuantto Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, 
subdivision 4. 

This decision will be made final and effective 30 days from the date it is received by you. During that 30­
day .period, you have the right to ctiallenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and include specific 
grounds for challenging the Department's decision. Ifyou wish to request a ·hearing, please send a written 
hearing request, within 30 days ofyour receipt of this letter, to: 

Gilbert Acevedo, Director 

Health Occupations Program 

Minnesota Department of Health 

PO Box 64882 

Saint Paul, MN 55 I64-0882 


You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Mr. 

Acevedo at (651)201-3839. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Catherine 

Dittberner Lloyd at (651)201-3706. 


Sincerely, 

~wl11v~v 
Darcy Miner, Jirector 

Health Regulation Division 


Enclosure 

cc: Anne Kukowski, Ass.istant Director, Health Occupations Program 
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HEALIBOCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALIB 

A Determination In the Matter of 
Wendy E Davis, Audiologist, License Number 7170 . · 

AUTHORITY 

1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has the authority to discipline audiologists for 
violations of Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195. Pursuant to section 148.5195, 
subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose include one or more of the 
following: impose, for each vioIRtion, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for the 
costs of the investigation and proceeding and any reasonable lesser action against an 
individual upon proof that the individual has violated sections 148.511 to 148.5198. 
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (3), MDH may take 
disciplinary action against an audiologist for perfonning services in a negligent manner. 

3. 	

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20)(i), MDH may 
· take disciplinary action against an audiologist for failure to provide the following 

information, in all capital letters of 12-point ot larger boldface type, to the ¢onsumer: "THIS 
-PRESCREPTION OR RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND HEARING 

INSTRUMENTS MAY BE PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED AUDIOLOGIST OR 

CERTIFIED DISPENSER OF YOUR CHOICE." 


5. 	

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (4), MDH may take 
disciplinary action against an audiologist for violating sections 148.511 to 148.5198. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20)(iv), MDH may 
take disciplinary action against an audiologist for failure to comply with restrictions on sales 
ofhearing instruments in section 148.5198. 

6. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5198, subdivision 1 ( c ), an audiologist must 
provide the buyer with a written contract written in plain English and conforms to the Plain 
Language Contract Act. The contract must include, but is not limited to, the following: in 
immediate proximity to the space reserved for the signature of the buyer, a clear and 
conspicuous disclosure of the following specific statement in all capital letters of no less than 
12-point boldface type: "MINNESOTA STA TE LAW GIVES THE BUYER THE RIGHT 
TO CANCEL THIS PURCHASE FOR ANY REASON AT ANY TMEPRIOR TO 
MIDNIGI-IT OF THE 45111 CALENDAR DAY AFTER RECEIPT OF THE HEARING 
AID(S). THIS CANCELLATION MUST BE IN WRITING AND MUST BE GIVEN OR 
MAILED TO THE AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER. IF THE BUYER 
DECIDES TO RETURN THE.HEARING AID(S) WITHIN THIS 45-CALENDAR-DA Y 

I 
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PERIOD, TIIE BUYER WILL RECEIVE A REFUND OF TIIE TOTAL PURCHASE 

PRIICE OF THE AID(S) FROM WHICH TIIE AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED 


,, DISPENSER MAY RETAIN AS A CAN<;::ELLATION FEE NO MORE THAN $250." 


FINDINGS OF FACT 

!. 

2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

	 On June 1, 2006, Wendy Davis (hereinafter "Practitioner") was licensed as an audiologist in 
the State of Minnesota. 

Practitioner owns and operates Soundgate Hearing Clinic. 

Client I was referred to Practitioner's clinic by an organization that assists patients in 
purchasing hearing instruments at a reduced price. 

On April 29, 2009, Practitioner evaluated Client 1 's hearing loss, .her medical evaluation, and 
recommended either a Unitron Moda II hearing instrument or a Nano Sonovation hearing 
instrument for her right ear. According to Practitioner, Client 1 was interested in the Unitron. 

a. 	

b. 

c. 	

d. 	

Practitioner gave client a form with the following statement: "As a participating 
provider with [Client 1 's insurance provider] and its affiliated companies, we are 
obligated to notify you of services that are medically unnecessary. Ibis notification 
will allow us to hold you financially responsible for the upgrade to the durable 
medical equipment you are purchasing." Following this statement, Practitioner 
offered Client l a "standard hearing aid with digital frequency" at a cost of$2,244.00. 
The recominendation included a statement indicating Practitioner informed Client 1 
that the least costly alternative under Client l's insurance plan.was $1,632.00, and 
that the charge for the upgrade or deluxe feature was $632.00. Client 1 signed and 
dated the document April 29, 2009. 
MDH staff noted there was no evidence.in the record that Practitioner provided 
Client I with a recommendation that included the following statement required by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause 20(i), "THIS 
PRESCRIPTION OR RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND 
HEARING ISNTRUMENTS MAY BE PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED 
AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER OF YOUR CHOICE." 
On April 29, 2009, Practitioner and Client 1 signed a purchase agreement. According 
to the purchase agreement, Practitioner recommended and Client I agreed to purchase 
a right Unitron Unison 3-Moda-DFC (frequency compression) hearing aid in the 
amount of$2,200. Practitioner charged Client I $32.00 tax, and discounted the 
hearing instrument by $600.00 for a total amount due of$1,632.00. 
Other terms of the contract include: 

i. 	 Three-year repair warranty and a one-year loss and damage, with no 
deductible for submitting a loss or damage claim. 

11. 	 Trial period start date of April 29, 2009 and end date of June 13, 2009. 
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iii. 	 Insurance: "Insurance will pay up to $1,000; Patient has a 15% copay on 
allowable amount plus $300 individual deductible. Patient is responsible for 
any amount insurance will not cover." 

iv. 	 MDH staff noted that Practitioner modified the 45-calendar-day guarantee and 
buyer right to cancel notice in violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section 
148.55198, subdivision l(c). The notice on the purchase agreement states: 
"MINNESOTA STATE LAW GIVES THE BUYER THE RIGHT TO 
CANCEL THIS PURCHASE FOR ANY REASON AT ANY TIME PRIOR 
TO MIDNIGHT OF THE 45111 CALENDAR DAY AFTER RECEIPT OF 
THE HEARING AID(S). THIS CANCELLAITON MUST BE IN WRITING 
AND MUST BE GIVEN OR MAILED TO THE SELLER. IF THE BUYER 
DECIDES TO RETURN THE HEARING AID(S) WITHIN THIS 45 DAY 
PERIOD, THE BUYER WILL " NOT RECEIVE A REFUND OF: -$255." 

5. 	 On June 10, 2009, Practitioner sent a quotation in the amount of$2,452.08 to a medical 
equipment distributor, with a reference to Client 1. The quotation was for one (monaural) 
digital, behind the ear (BTE) hearing aid in the amount of$1,850, a dispensing fee of 
$250.00, batteries at $45.00; domes at $4.00; slim tubes at $34.00; a dry and store moisture 
removal system at $219.00 and tax at $45.08. 

6. 	 On June 18, 2009, Client 1 signed a note in the amount of$2,500.00 to finance the cost of the 
hearing instruments she purchased from Practitioner. 

7. 	 In Practitioner's September 29, 2013 response to MDH staff in this matter, Practitioner stated 
she "gave Client 1. the opportunity to try two additional models ofDFC hearing aids, 
including another Unitron andthe Nano ...... I wanted Client 1 to compare the hearing aids in 
her daily life. I knew she could not afford to put a deposit down on the other technolpgies so 
I let her take both the Unitron instrument per the purchase agreement and borrow the 
Sonovation Nano instrument. She ultimately decided to keep the more expensive hearing 
aid, Sonovation Nano, becailseit had a volume control." Practitioner stated she did not 
provide Client 1 with ari updated purchase agreement because Client 1 did not return to her 
clinic. · 

8. 	 On February 18, 2010, Client 1 filed a claim against Practitioner in Anoka County 
Conciliation Court for certain products and services she alleged Practitioner charged, but she 
did not received. This included $219 for a dry and store moisture removal system, a 
dispensing fee, and the fees for batteries she did not receive. Client l's claim was denied and 
no judgement was ordered. Client 1 did not appeal. 

9. 	 MDH staff noted the record indicates Client l's insurance provider resolved billing-related 
issues. 

10. On January 15, 2015, the issues in the matter were presented to the Speech Language . 
Pathologist and Audiologist Competency Review Committee (CRC). CRC members 
 reviewed the issues in this matter and made the following comments: · ·
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• 	 . Practitioner's recordkeeping is poor and does not reflect all of the transactions that 
occurred regarding Client 1. 

• 	 · There are no purchase agreements for the two hearing instrwnents Practitioner 

recommended and fit on Client 1 during the trial period. 


• 	 The purchase agreement violates the law regarding the 45-calendar-day guarantee and 
right to cancel. 

• 	 The Practitioner did not give Client 1 a written notice of her rights to take the 

recommendation to a dispenser or audiologist ofher choice. 


• 	 Practitioner delivered and fit a different hearing instrument what is memorialized on 
the signed purchase agreement. 

than 

• 	 There are conflicting data between the Practitioner's quotation, insurance billing, and the 
purchase agreement. · 

• 	 It does not appear the Practitioner provided sufficient counseling to Client 1. 
· • - CRC members stated with Client 1 's hearing loss, some audiologists may have fit the 

right ear, whereas other audiologists may have fit the left ear. Therefore, the CRC did 
not conclude Practitioner's decision to .fit the right ear was incompetent. 

11. The CRC recommended that MDH reprimand Practitioner and require that she pay for the 
cost of the investigation for providing services that violate the practice act and fall below the 
community standard of care in audiology. The CRC did not recommend Client 1 be . 
reimbursed for the cost of the hearing aids because she did not appeal the Conciliation Court 
udgement. j

CONCLUSION 

Practitioner violated Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (3) and (4) 
when she failed to document and record a consistent and accurate description of the transactions, 
communications and dispensing related services and for providing services that fall below the 
community standards ofcare in audiology concerning Client l; section 148.5195, subdivision 3, 
clause (20)(i) when she failed to include the required contract language giving Client 1 a notice 
ofher righdo bring Practitioner's recommendation to ahearing instrument dispenser or 
audiologist ofher choice; and section 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20)(iv) when she failed to 
comply with the restrictions on hearing aid sales by omitting language on the required disclosure 
statement and by inserting the word "NOT' in reference to Client ,J's right to a refund. 

DETERMINATION 

I. 	 Practitioner is reprimanded. 

2. 	 Practitioner should pay a civil penalty of $1,110.00, representing the economic advantage 
gained by the violation and to reimburse MDH for the costs of the investigation and 
proceedings to date. 
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