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Sandra Harder 
 
 

SUBJECT:  Determination  
MDH Case# OCC17002 

Dear Ms. Harder: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you violated:  

1. Minnesota Statute 146A.08, subdivision 1 (c) when you failed to report yourself to MDH 
when you violated OCAP statutes;  

2. Minnesota Statute 146A.08, subdivision 1 (d) when you engaged in sexual contact with a 
complementary and alternative health care client; and  

3. Minnesota Statute 146A.08, subdivision 1 (f) when you demonstrated a willful or 
careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a complementary and alternative 
health care client and  

4. Minnesota Statute 146A.08, subdivision 1 (w) when you failed to provide a client with a 
recommendation to see a health care provider after the client admitted there is a 
reasonable likelihood that client needed to be seen by a licensed or registered health 
care provider.   

Therefore, MDH is suspending your right to practice unlicensed complementary and alternative 
health care in Minnesota for three years.  Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.09, subdivision 1 
(1) and section 146A.09, subdivision 1 (4) authorizes these actions.  

This decision will be final and effective 30 days from the date you receive it.  During that 30-day 
period, you have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing. This right is  
provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.  In order to request a hearing, you must 
submit your request in writing. In this request, include specific grounds for challenging MDH’s 
decision.   
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If you wish to request a hearing, please send a written hearing request, within 30 days of your 
receipt of this letter to: 

Catherine Lloyd, Manager 
Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also fax your request, with attention to Catherine Lloyd, at (651) 201-3839.  If you 
have any questions, please contact Catherine Lloyd at (651) 201-3706. 

Sincerely, 
 

 
Susan Winkelmann, Assistant Division Director 
Health Regulation Division 
 
Enclosure 
Cc:  Catherine Lloyd, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 
 



1 
 

 
HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
 

A Determination In the Matter of  
Sandra Harder 

Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health care Practitioner 

AUTHORITY 

1. Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.09, subdivision 1, authorizes the Office of Unlicensed 
Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practice (hereinafter “OCAP”) within the 
Minnesota Department of Health (hereinafter “MDH”), to revoke, suspend, censure, 
reprimand, or impose limitations or conditions on an unlicensed complementary and 
alternative health care practitioner when there is a violation of law as defined in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146.08, subdivision 1. 

2. Minnesota Statutes, sections 146A.01, subdivision 4 (a) (17) defines “complementary 
and alternative health care practices” as broad domain of complementary and 
alternative healing methods and treatments, including but not limited to bodywork, 
massage and massage therapy. 

3. Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.01, subdivision 6 (4) defines a complementary and 
alternative health care practitioner as providing complementary and alternative health 
care services for remuneration or is holding oneself out to the public as a practitioner of 
complementary and alternative health care practices. 

4. Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivision 1 (c) prohibits failure to comply with 
the self-reporting requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.03, subdivision 7. 

5. Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivision 1 (d) prohibits a complementary and 
alternative health care practitioner from engaging in sexual contact with a 
complementary and alternative health care client. 

6. Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivision 1 (f) prohibits a complementary and 
alternative health care practitioner from conduct likely to harm the public or 
demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a 
complementary and alternative health care client. 

7. Minnesota Statutes, section 13.39, states disciplinary actions are public data. 
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FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Sandra Harder (hereinafter “Practitioner”) owns and operates Renew You Therapy
(hereinafter “Establishment”) in Thief River Falls, Minnesota.  Practitioner offers 
Myofascial release (hereinafter “MFR”) therapy and Brandon Raynor massage 
technique at the Establishment.

2. Located on the informed consent form, Practitioner describes “MFR” as “an effective 
hands-on technique that applies sustained pressure into myofascial restrictions to 
alleviate pain and dysfunction…Sustained pressure is applied into an area for a minimum 
of 90-120 seconds, but may be sustained for longer than 15 minutes if needed.  MFR is 
not a form of massage.  Massage therapy utilizes constant stroking movement over the 
superficial layer of the body and is often accompanied by the use of oil and lotion.  To 
effectively sustain pressure during MFR for any length of time, oils and lotions are not 
used by the therapists and should not be present on the patient at the time of 
treatment.”

3. On August 4, 2016, MDH received information alleging practitioner was engaging in 
sexual contact with a client.  A police report was also filed with local law enforcement.

4. On October 26, 2016, a Notice of Investigation letter was mailed to Practitioner.

5. On November 21, 2016, MDH received a response from Practitioner.

6. In the response, Practitioner admitted to having sexual contact with Client and stated, 
“The sexual contact did not occur during any session wherein I was providing treatment, 
although said sexual contact did occur at my facility.”

7. Practitioner stated there were no other patients with whom she had sexual contact 
with besides Client.

8. Practitioner described her relationship with Client as an “                     ” and that the 
Client “provided me numerous gifts, including jewelry, clothing, and trinkets.”

9. On December 19, 2016, MDH sent Practitioner a follow-up letter and asked Practitioner 
questions about the information she revealed in her previous response to MDH.

10. On January 6, 2017, MDH received a response from Practitioner.

11. Regarding the gifts in which Client gave her, Practitioner stated she met Client on April 
3, 2012 at a class on essential oils.  They discovered mutual acquaintances and Client 
schedule an appointment with Practitioner for MFR.

12. On March 7, 2017, MDH sent Practitioner a follow-up and asked Practitioner if she ever 
referred Client to professional health services after the initial appointment when he 
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revealed past traumas.  MDH asked Practitioner to explain why she continued providing 
OCAP services to Client even after the client had disclosed emotional feelings for her. 

13. On March 17, 2017, MDH received a written response from Practitioner.

14. In the response, Practitioner stated she provided Client with contact information to two
different mental health providers. Practitioner also stated she deeply regretted having
an affair with Client.

CONCLUSION 

1. Practitioner violated Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivision 1 (c), as she failed
to report herself to MDH for violating Chapter 146A.

2. Practitioner violated Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivision 1 (d), when she
engaged in sexual contact with a complementary and alternative health care client.
Practitioner had a professional obligation to cease providing services to Client once he
revealed emotional feelings for her and gave her gifts in addition to paying Practitioner
for professional services.  Instead, Practitioner continued to provide complementary
and alternative health care services for Client, while at the same time accepting gifts
and engaging in a sexual relationship at her place of business.

3. Practitioner violated Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivision 1 (f) when she
engaged in conduct demonstrating a careless disregard for Client’s health and welfare
by engaging in a sexual relationship with Client after her client disclosed personal issues,
and while providing professional services.  Practitioner’s lack of professional boundaries
is a violation of her responsibility to provide services in a manner that is safe and ethical.

4. Practitioner violated Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivision 1 (w) when she
failed to provide her client with a recommendation that the client see a health care
provider who is licensed or registered by a health-related licensing board when there
was a reasonable likelihood that person needed to be seen by a licensed or registered
health care provider.

DETERMINATION 

1. Practitioner’s right to practice in unlicensed complementary and alternative health care
services in Minnesota, including but not limited to bodywork, massage and massage
therapy, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146A is suspended for three years
from the effective date of this Determination.

2. If Practitioner wishes to be reinstated to practice unlicensed complementary and
alternative health care practices, including bodywork, massage and massage therapy, in
Minnesota, she must petition MDH for reinstatement.  As part of the petition for
reinstatement, Practitioner must submit to an evaluation by a licensed health therapist,
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pre-approved by MDH, to assess Practitioner’s safety to practice unlicensed 
complementary and alternative health care practices, specifically assessing boundaries. 

3. Practitioner will be responsible for the scheduling and cost of evaluation; however, the
results will be sent directly to MDH.  Practitioner consents to permit the evaluator to
provide any record or information obtained during the evaluation to MDH for purposes
of compliance with this Determination.  Practitioner shall execute and provide any
health record or other waivers necessary for submission of reports referenced in
Determination to enable MDH to obtain the information related to this matter and
authorize the testimony of those contact by MDH in any proceeding relating to this
matter.

4. The evaluator will submit a report directly to MDH, with a copy to the Practitioner.  The
evaluator’s report shall contain the following information and meet the following
requirements:

a. Verification that the evaluator has received a copy of the Determination;

b. Evaluation date(s);

c. Evaluation methods and instruments employed;

d. A review and discussion of each boundary violation that occurred;

e. The evaluator’s opinion as to whether Practitioner requires additional training in
boundary concepts and/or whether supervision of Practitioner’s practice is
warranted; and

f. Any other information the evaluator believes is relevant and important.

5. Practitioner may be evaluated within three months of the end of the three-year
suspension.  Practitioner must have been evaluated within six months of the date she
petitions for reinstatement.

6. Practitioner shall cooperate fully during the process of MDH’s enforcement and
monitoring of compliance with this Determination and shall respond to MDH’s
correspondence within the time provided by law or by deadline of MDH staff.
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