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Health Regulation Division 

PROTECTING, MAINTAINING & IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF ALL MINNESOTANS 

February 12, 2017 

Mr. Lucas Delray Peterson 

 

SUBJECT: OCC16009 

Dear Mr. Peterson, 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you performed prohibited 
conduct as an unlicensed complementary and alternative health care practitioner. Therefore, 
MDH is hereby revoking your right to practice unlicensed complementary and alternative 
health care, including bodywork, massage therapy, and massage therapy services. 

This decision will be made final and effective 30 days from the date it is received by you. During 
that 30-day period, you have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing. 
This right is provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. You must make the request for a 
hearing in writing and include specific grounds for challenging MD H's decision. If you wish to 
request a hearing, please send, deliver, or fax a written hearing request, within 30 days of your 
receipt of this letter to: 

Catherine Lloyd 
Manager, Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Ms. Lloyd at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact 
Patricia Forsberg at (651)201-3721. 

Sincerely, 

cc: Catherine Lloyd, Manager, Health Occupations Program 

An equal opportunity employer 



  
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

  
 

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

DEPARTMENT 

rn, OF HEALTH 

A Determination in the Matter of 

Lucas Delray Peterson 

Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practitioner 

Authority: 

1. Minnesota Statute, section 146A.09, subdivision 1, provides that the Office of 
Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practice (hereinafter "OCAP") 
within the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has the authority to revoke, 
suspend, censure, reprimand, or impose limitations or conditions on an unlicensed 
complementary and alternative health care practitioner when there is a violation of law 
as defined in Minnesota Statute section 146.08, subdivision 1. 

2. Minnesota Statute, section 146A.01, subdivision 4, provides that complementary and 
alternative health care practices include the broad domain of complementary and 
alternative healing methods and treatments, including but not limited to (17) bodywork, 
massage therapy, and massage therapy services. 

3. Minnesota Statute, section 146A.01, subdivision 6(3) defines a complementary and 
alternative health care practitioner as a person who is engaging in complementary and 
alternative health care services. 

4. Minnesota Statute, section 146A.08, subdivision l(c) prohibits the failure to comply with 
the self-reporting requirements of section 146A.03, subdivision 7. 

5. Minnesota Statute, section 146A.08, subdivision l(d) prohibits sexual contact with a 
client or engaging in contact that may be reasonably interpreted by a client as sexual. 

6. Minnesota Statute, section 146A.08, subdivision l(f) prohibits conduct likely to harm the 
public or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety 
of a client. 

7. Minnesota Statute, section 146A.08, subdivision l(u) permits the revocation, 
suspension, restriction, limitation, or other disciplinary action against any health license, 
certificate, registration, or right to practice of the unlicensed complementary and 
alternative health care practitioner in this or another state or jurisdiction for offenses 
that would be subject to disciplinary action in this state or failure to report to the office 
that charges regarding the practitioner's license, certificate, registration, or right to 
practice have been brought in this or another state or jurisdiction. 



 1.  On August 20, 2015, Lucas Delray Peterson (hereinafter "Practitioner") was working as 
an unlicensed complementary and alternative health care practitioner as a massage  
therapist at   in Plymouth, Minnesota. 

 2. On August 20, 2015, a client reported Practitioner for sexual contact to management of  
 and to Plymouth Police Department.  

 3.  On September 14, 2015, Plymouth Police Department referred the case to the Hennepin 
 County Attorney for charges. 

 4.  In November 2015, Plymouth City Council denied Practitioner's massage license 
 renewal. 

 5. On December 7, 2015, Practitioner was charged with Criminal Sexual Conduct in the  
 Fourth Degree in violation of Minnesota Statute section 609.345, subdivision l(o). 

 6. On June 1, 2016 the aforementioned charge was continued for dismissal. The court  
 ordered Practitioner to surrender his massage therapy license and to not seek 

 employment in that field. 

Findings of Fact: 

Conclusion: 

Practitioner violated Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (f), and (u) 

when he had unwanted sexual contact with a client. 

Determination: 

Practitioner's right to practice complementary and alternative health care, including bodywork, 

massage therapy, and massage therapy services, in the State of Minnesota is hereby revoked. 
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