

Minnesota POLST Registry Study Advisory Committee Member List

10/25/23

Members

Abby L Dotson, Ph.D.

Executive Director, National POLST Collaborative Director, Oregon POLST Registry Research Assistant Professor, OHSU Emergency Medicine Representing: Technical Expertise

Abigail Houts, MD

Medical Director for Ambulatory Services
Direct Care and Treatment
Minnesota Department of Human Services
Representing: Health and Health Care At-Large

Adam Shadiow

Executive Director
Arrowhead EMS Association (Northeast EMS Region)
Representing: Emergency Medical Providers

Andrea O'Hern

Methodist Hospital Representing: Health and Health Care At-Large

Barb Blumer, JD

Barb Blumer Law, P.A. Representing: Attorneys

Brian Burroughs, PA-C, AQH, BC-ADM, CDCES, CHC

Physician Assistant, Family Medicine & Hospital Internal Medicine Instructor in Family Medicine, College of Medicine and Science Mayo Clinic Health System, Red Wing Representing: Physician Assistants

MINNESOTA POLST REGISTRY STUDY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Carrie Henning-Smith, PhD, MPH, MSW

Associate Professor, Division of Health Policy & Management Deputy Director, Rural Health Research Center Director of Graduate Studies, Health Equity Minor Co-Director, Rural Health Program University of Minnesota Representing: Academia

Clinton Billhorn, PA-C

MAPA President-Elect Hospital Medicine Regions Hospital and Lakeview Hospital Representing: Physician Assistants

Crystal Houghtaling, LSW Advisory Committee Co-Chair

Campus Director, Social Services Licensed
Sholom Home West
Representing: Nursing Homes/Long Term Post Acute Care

Dylan Ferguson

Executive Director Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board Representing: Emergency Medical Providers

Eileen Weber, DNP, JD, BSN, PHN, RN

MN POLST Taskforce Co-Chair Retired Clinical Associate Professor Ad Honorem, Population Health and Systems University of Minnesota School of Nursing Member, University of Minnesota Medical Center (Fairview) Clinical Ethics Committee Representing: Registered Nurses

Fr. Tom Knoblach, Ph.D.

Vicar for health care ethics for the Diocese of St. Cloud Pastor of Sacred Heart in Sauk Rapids and Annunciation in Mayhew Lake Representing: Religious Community & Medical Ethicist

Jana Keefe, Community Paramedic (CP), BSP-RRT, MALM

Cuyuna Regional Medical Center Representing: Health and Health Care At-Large

MINNESOTA POLST REGISTRY STUDY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Joel Wu, JD, MPH, MA, HEC-C

Clinical Ethics Assistant Professor

University of Minnesota, Center for Bioethics

Clinical Ethics Lead, M Health Fairview

Co-Chair, Ethics Committee, University of Minnesota Medical Center

Co-Director, Clinical Ethics Consultation Service, University of Minnesota Medical Center

Senior Lecturer

Division of Health Policy and Management

University of Minnesota, School of Public Health

Representing: Medical Ethicists

Kari Everson, DNP MSN MHA RN LNHA LALD PHN DNS-CT QCP

VP Clinical Services

LeadingAge

Representing: Nursing Homes/Long Term Post Acute Care

Laura Borris, LNHA LALD

Administrator, Sacred Heart Care Center

Representing: Nursing Homes/Long Term Post Acute Care

Lori Sylvester

Lifetime Resources, Inc.

Representing: Disability Community

Merari Morales Rosales, MBA, PA-C, CCPA

Representing: Physician Assistants

Michaun Shetler, LALD RN

Director of Assisted Living, Care Providers of MN

Representing: Nursing Homes/Long Term Post Acute Care

Neal C. Buddensiek, MD, DNBPAS, HMDC, CMD, WCC

Chief Medical Officer

Benedictine

Representing: Religious Community

Peter Tanghe, MD

North Memorial

Representing: Emergency Medical Providers

MINNESOTA POLST REGISTRY STUDY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sacha Kelly APRN, CNS, AOCNS

Clinical Nurse Specialist

M Health Fairview

Representing: Health and Health Care At-Large

Sara McCumber DNP, APRN, CNP, CNS

President

MN Nurse Practitioners

Representing: Advance Practice Registered Nurses

Shamsah Rehmatullah, MSN, RN

Clinical Nurse Specialist
University of Minnesota Medical Center
Fairview Health Services
M Health Fairview
Representing: Health and Health Care At-Large

Sue Schettle

Chief Executive Officer ARRM

Representing: Disability Community

Thomas Klemond, MD

Vice President of Medical Affairs / President of the Medical Staff Hennepin Healthcare Hennepin Healthcare Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Minnesota Medical School

Representing: Health and Health Care At-Large

Vic Sandler, MD

Advisory Committee Co-Chair

Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Geriatrics

Chair, Minnesota Network of Hospice and Palliative Medicine Physicians

Co- Chair, Minnesota POLST Task Force

Co-Chair, University of Minnesota Bioethics Committee 2000-2020

Representing: Physicians & Hospice and Palliative Care Providers

Wanda Paulsen, BA, RN

Advance Care Planning Program Manager Essentia Health- Advance Care Planning Representing: Health and Health Care At-Large