

Body Art Establishment

APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST

Body Art Establishment Instructions and Application If you want to open a body art establishment in the State of Minnesota, you will need to fill out the Body Art Establishment Application. You will want to make sure you are in a MDH regulated area. Delegated agencies include: <u>Anoka</u>, <u>Hennepin</u> and <u>Steele counties</u> and the cities of <u>Minneapolis</u>, <u>Maplewood</u>, <u>Brooklyn Park</u>, <u>Bloomington</u>, <u>Richfield</u>, and <u>Edina</u>.

If you would like to apply for a body art establishment license, you must:			
	Complete the establishment application and make a copy of the completed application for your records;		
	Enclose check or money order made payable to "Treasurer: State of Minnesota" for the \$1,500 application		
	fee.		
The	e establishment application must include the following information:		
	Name(s) of the owner(s) and operator(s) of the establishment;		
	Filing with Secretary of State;		
	Location of the establishment;		
	Verification of compliance with all applicable local and state codes (zoning and building code compliance);		
	Description of the general nature of the business;		
	State and federal tax identification number;		
	Names of all employees, including independent contractors and temporary technicians.		
Suk	omit the following documents to demonstrate compliance with the health and safety standards:		
	Floor plan, including dimensions and equipment placement;		
	Location of accessible hand sink;		
	Floor, wall and ceiling finishes.		

Length of Licensure: Establishment licenses are valid for up to two years. All establishment licenses expire on September 30th. The first renewal fee will be a prorated amount based upon the month your license was issued.

Processing Time: Up to 30 days AFTER application paperwork is considered complete.

Provisional Status: All initial establishment MDH licenses are issued as "PROVISIONAL". That status will remain in effect until your establishment has been inspected and approved by MDH staff. To help you prepare for your inspection, please refer to the <u>Body Art Establishment Inspection Checklist (PDF)</u>. (NOTE: This form is subject to change.) During the inspection process, the inspector will note any deficiencies in your establishment and you will be given a specified period of time in which to correct the deficiency. Failure to correct a deficiency may result in the shutdown of your establishment.

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM

Body Art Licensing PO Box 64882 St. Paul MN 55164-0882 Telephone: (651)201-3770

Fax: (651)201-3839

Email: <u>Health.ba@state.mn.us</u>

Minnesota Body Art Establishment License Application

MINNESOTA GOVERNMENT DATA PRACTICE ACT NOTICE. This notice is given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 13.04, subdivision 2, and 13.41, subdivision 2. The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health (Commissioner) will use information you provide in this application to determine if you meet Chapter 146B requirements for licensure. You are not legally required to supply the requested information. However, FAILURE TO PROVIDE INFORMATION OR THE SUBMISSION OF FALSE OR MISLEADING INFORMATION MAY DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION OR MAY BE GROUNDS FOR DENYING YOUR APPLICATION. All data, except your name and address, submitted by you or on your behalf are considered private until you are licensed. "Private" data is data that is not public and is accessible to you. When you become licensed, the application data (except SSN) becomes public. Information submitted to the Commissioner in this licensing application may, in some circumstances, be disclosed to other persons or entities including the Minnesota Department of Health and its staff, staff of the Attorney General's office, and persons whom they contact including any person to whom the Commissioner must refer the application or parts thereof for verification purposes or determination of your qualifications, and to persons you designate. In addition, if the matter of your license becomes contested and thereby results either in a contested-case hearing or litigation, the data submitted by you or on your behalf may also become accessible to the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, appropriate courts, and those associated with such proceedings, and thereby become public data.

Please type or print legibly in black or blue ink (pencil is not acceptable)

Please select one of the following op \Box I am applying for a provisional establish		r a provisional lice	nse is \$1,500.00.		
\square I am applying for a full establishment license. The fee for a full establishment			,500.00		
□ I am applying for re-location of a provisinspection and removal of provisional stat					
□ I am applying for a change in establishn establishment (i.e. piercer establishment i			_		
Do not use this application for renewal of renewal application 60 days before your e	•			ody Art license you will be sent	t a
Owner or Operator	Information	า:			
 For <u>each</u> individual owner and/or of additional sheets as needed). Note 13.41, Subdivision 2. 					
Last Name	First Na	me		Middle	_
Other Name(s) Last Name	First Na	me		Middle	
Home Address	City	City		ZIP	
Home/Cell Phone		,	Work Phone		
Email Address					_
Social Security Number	☐ Male ☐ Female		Date of Birth (N	MM/DD/YYY)	_
Role in Business (check ALL applicable):	☐ Owner	☐ Operator	☐ Technician	

Establishment Information:

Note: If you own/operate more than one establishment, each establishment must be individually licensed and you need to submit an application for each establishment.

Business/Establishment	Name			
Legal Corporate Name			Bus	siness/Establishment Tax ID
Street Address		City	State	ZIP
County				
Business/Establishment	: E-mail			
Business/Establishment	Phone			
Business/Establishment	: Website			_
Type of Facility:	☐ Commercial	☐ Residential		
Nature of Business:	\Box Tattoo only	☐ Piercing only	☐Tattoo and Piercing	
	☐ Other (please	describe)		
Hours of Operation:	Monday	Tuesdav	Wednesday	
				Sunday
Employee Full Name	page 5 and additional shee	ole in Business		Technician License Number
Employee Full Name	R	ole in Business		Technician License Number
Employee Full Name	R	ole in Business		Technician License Number
required to provide vertical v	cal and State Codes: Pursua verification of compliance verification of compliance verification of compliance verification of compliance verification of control of the cont	vith all applicable I ess licenses, proof in a private residen ocumentation below n carrier, policy nun	atutes, section 146B.2, socal and states codes, to of sales and tax certificate, provide proof you have and enclose copies with the rand dates of coverage.	nis includes building and te, and any other applicable ave obtained proper zoning th your application. Finally, age. If you are not required to

BODY ART ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE APPLICATION

☐ Provid	de d	locum	entation of LLC or Corporation filing with Secretary of State paper work.			
☐ If this	is a	renta	al unit, provide proof of lease agreement.			
□ Name	e of	Infect	ious Waste Hauler:			
4. Have չ	you	ever e	engaged in any of the following acts or conduct? You must answer "Yes" or No" to each question:			
	A.	Ordered to discontinue body art operations, suspended or revoked the right to operate a body art establishment for any of the following reasons:				
		1.	Evidence of sewage backup in an area of the body art establishment where body art activities are conducted; \Box Yes \Box No			
		2.	Lack of potable, plumbed, or hot or cold water to the extent that handwashing or toilet facilities are not operational; $\Box Yes \ \Box No$			
		3.	Lack of electricity or gas service to the extent that handwashing, lighting, or toilet facilities are not operational; \Box Yes \Box No			
		4.	Significant damage to the body art establishment due to tornado, fire, flood, or another disaster; \Box Yes \Box No			
		5.	Evidence of an infestation of rodents or other vermin; $\square Yes \ \square No$			
		6.	Evidence of any individual performing a body art procedure without a license as required under this chapter; $\Box Yes \ \Box No$			
		7.	Evidence of existence of a public health nuisance; $\square Yes \ \square No$			
		8.	Use of instruments or jewelry that are not sterile; $\square Yes \ \square No$			
		9.	Failure to properly report complaints of potential bloodborne pathogen transmission to the commissioner, \Box Yes \Box No			
		10.	Evidence of a positive spore test on the sterilizer if there is no other working sterilizer with a negative spore test in the establishment. \square Yes \square No			
	В.	Beer	disciplined in the practice of body art as a technical or establishment for any of the following reasons:			
		1.	Failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill or safety due to the use of alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment; \Box Yes \Box No			
		2.	Aided or abetted another person in violating any provision of this chapter; \Box Yes \Box No			
		3.	Demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client; \Box Yes \Box No			
		4.	Obtained money, property, or services from a client through the use of undue influence, harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; \Box Yes \Box No			
		5.	Failed to refer a client to a health care professional for medical evaluation or care when appropriate; \Box Yes \Box No			
	C.	Any	violations that places the health and safety of a client at risk: \Box Yes \Box No			

BODY ART ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE APPLICATION

Request for Exemption of Establishment License Based on Location: Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.2, subdivision 9, an establishment <u>may</u> be exempt from the state licensure requirement if it is located within a county or municipal jurisdiction with an enacted ordinance which meets or exceeds Chapter 146B requirements. Complete and submit the <u>Establishment Exemption Application (pdf)</u> instead of this form.

Applicant Affirmation:

The information I have provided in this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I have read and will comply with the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B.				
Owner or Operator's Signature	Date			
Additional Information:				
Please use the space below to complete answers only when there is insufficie preceding pages. If you use additional pages, please sign and date each page				
Question Number Answer				
Signature (required only when using this page to complete answers)	Date			
files\HOP_MortSci_MCS\FORMS\BA_Forms\baestablic.docx	5/17/2018			