
 

Body Art Technician License 
A P P L I C A T I O N  A N D  I N S T R U C T I O N S  
MINNESOTA GOVERNMENT DATA PRACTICE ACT NOTICE. This notice is given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Sections 
§13.04, Subd. 2, and §13.41, Subd. 2. The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health (Commissioner) will use 
information provided in this application to determine if you meet Minnesota Statutes Chapter 146B requirements for 
licensing. You are not legally required to supply the requested information. However, FAILURE TO PROVIDE INFORMATION 
OR THE SUBMISSION OF FALSE OR MISLEADING INFORMATION MAY DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION OR 
MAY BE GROUNDS FOR DENYING YOUR APPLICATION. All data, except your name and address, submitted by you or on 
your behalf are considered private until you are licensed. "Private" data is data that is not public and is accessible to you. 
When you become licensed, the application data except social security number becomes public. Information submitted to 
the Commissioner in this licensing application may, in some circumstances, be disclosed to other persons or entities 
including the Minnesota Department of Health and its staff, staff of the Attorney General's office; and persons whom they 
contact including any person to whom the Commissioner must refer the application or parts thereof for verification 
purposes or for otherwise determining your qualifications, and to persons you designate. In addition, if the matter of your 
license becomes contested and results in a contested case hearing or litigation, the data submitted by you or on your 
behalf may also become accessible to the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, appropriate courts, and those 
associated with such proceedings, and thereby become public data. 

▪ Read Minnesota Statutes Chapter 146B Body Art (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/146B). 

▪ Type or print legibly in black or blue ink. 

▪ Complete all questions. If a question does not apply to your situation, mark “N/A.” 

▪ Complete this application, sign and date it. You must send in the original application. 

▪ Enclose proof that you are at least 18 years old. 

▪ Enclose a copy/copies of the certificates of completion showing course title, presenter and date bloodborne pathogen 
training was completed. You must successfully complete a course or courses covering these four topics within the past 
year: bloodborne pathogens, prevention of disease transmission, infection control, and aseptic technique. You must 
complete five hours of training covering those four topics.  

▪ Enclose a log of 200 hours of supervised experience for tattoo technician license applicants. 

▪ Enclose a log of 250 piercings under direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision for piercing 
technician license applicants. 

▪ An individual applying for a dual technician license must log 200 hours of tattoo experience and a total of 500 
piercings (250 under direct supervision and 250 under indirect supervision). 

▪ Enclose a notarized affidavit (https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/affidavit.pdf) signed 
by your Minnesota licensed supervisor attesting to your logged hours. 

▪ If you have been licensed or certified in another state or jurisdiction you must request verification of your credential 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/vcredfrm.pdf) to be sent to you in a 
sealed/unopened envelope. Please note that only applicants who have been licensed in another state or jurisdiction 
are required to include this verification of credential form. 

▪ Include a check or money order with the required application fee, payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.” Please 
note that the application fee is prorated for the initial application fee. The fee schedule can be found on page 9 of the 
application. 

▪ Sign and make a copy of this completed application with supporting documents for your records. Do not open sealed 
envelopes from other states or jurisdictions. 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/146B
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/affidavit.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/vcredfrm.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/vcredfrm.pdf


B O D Y  A R T  T E C H N I C I A N  L I C E N S E  

Applicant Information 
Have you held a guest or temporary license in the state of Minnesota? ☐ No  ☐ Yes 

If yes, provide your Minnesota Temporary Technician or Guest Artist License number: _____________  

Application for Licensure as (check one)  ______  Tattooist  _____  Piercer  ______  Dual 

Are you applying by  ______  Supervision  ______  Reciprocity (states approved: Oregon, New Mexico, 
Oklahoma and Missouri)? 

Please designate the address to receive correspondence from the Department regarding your license. 
The address you provide will be public information. (Choose one) Home ☐ Employer ☐ 

___________________________________________________________________________________  
Last Name  First Name Middle 

___________________________________________________________________________________  
Home/Work Address  City State ZIP 

___________________________________________________________________________________  
Home/Cell Phone Work Phone 

___________________________________________________________________________________  
Email Address 

___________________________________________________________________________________  

Social Security Number*  _______________ Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYY)  ________________________  

*(Required by Minnesota Statute. 270C.72, subdivision 4) 

1. Proof you are at least 18 years of age: enclose a copy of one of the following documents and check 
the type of document you are enclosing 

  ______Driver’s License  _____ Birth Certificate ______ Military ID 

  ______Passport   ______ Tribal ID  

Other (describe)  _________________________________________________________________ 

2. Have you ever used another name (including maiden name) under which records may be filed 
concerning your application, including your education, training or experience? ☐ No  ☐ Yes 

If yes, please list name(s) used (first, middle, last)  

 

*See page 9 to provide required signature.  



B O D Y  A R T  T E C H N I C I A N  L I C E N S E  

Employment Background 
3. a. Name of establishment where you were supervised:   

b. Establishment address:  
Street Address, City, State, Zip, Country 

c. Establishment phone number:   

d. Name of Minnesota licensed supervisor:   

e. Supervisor’s Minnesota license number:  
If you have more than one supervisor, use Additional 
Information page. 

f. Establishment website:  

g. Establishment hours: 

 

4. List all body art work/employment you have had for the last five years. List the most current 
first. Include all body art work, regardless of employment status. Use Additional Information 
page if necessary. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
Employer/ Establishment Name 

______________________________________________________________________________  
Street Address  City  State  ZIP 

______________________________________________________________________________  
Phone  Email 

______________________________________________________________________________  
Employment Start Date – If you are currently working at this location provide mm/dd/yyyy-Current 

______________________________________________________________________________  
Employer/ Establishment Name 

______________________________________________________________________________  
Street Address  City  State  ZIP 

______________________________________________________________________________  
Phone  Email 

______________________________________________________________________________  
Employment Start Date – If you are currently working at this location provide mm/dd/yyyy-Current 
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5. Enclose a copy/copies of the certificates of completion showing course title, presenter and 
date training was successfully completed. Training must include: bloodborne pathogens, 
prevention of disease transmission, infection control, and aseptic technique. Five hours of 
training on these topics is required. 

6. Do you hold or have you ever been issued a license, certification or registration as a body art 
technician issued by a city, county, or other state? ☐ No  ☐ Yes (this section must be 
completed if you are applying for a license by reciprocity). 

a. If yes, please identify the state(s), the current status of the license, the dates(s) of 
issuance and any identification numbers(s) used in relation to your permit, license or 
other credential. Use Additional Information page if necessary. 

___________________________________________________________________________ 
State  Current Status  Date of Issuance ID Number 

___________________________________________________________________________ 
State  Current Status  Date of Issuance ID Number 

7. For each jurisdiction in which you hold or have held a credential as a body art technician, you 
must submit the form Body Art Licensing Verification of Credential 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/vcredfrm.pdf). Mail the 
form to the state(s) credentialing board(s) or agency(s) with any required fees, and request 
that they send the completed form directly to you in an unopened/sealed envelope. This 
letter should be left sealed/unopened and mailed to our office with your body art technician 
application. Please note that if you answered “No” to question 6 you are not required to 
provide a Body Art Technician Verification of Credential form. 

8. Are you or have you been the subject of a negative action against you or has your legal 
authorization to practice body art in this or any other jurisdiction been the subject of 
discipline? This includes denial of an application, revocation, suspension, restrictions, 
limitations, conditions, reprimand, or civil penalty? ☐ No  ☐ Yes 

a. If you answered yes, explain the reason for the action, action taken, dates, and the 
jurisdiction in possession of your record. Please enclose a copy of the disciplinary 
action. Use Additional Information page if necessary. 

9. Have you been convicted of a felony-level criminal sexual conduct offense? ☐ No  ☐ Yes 

a. If you answered yes, give a statement that includes the crime for which you were 
convicted, date, names and location of the court and case number. Use Additional 
Information page if necessary. 

________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________ 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/vcredfrm.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/vcredfrm.pdf
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10. Have you ever engaged in any of the following acts or conduct? You must answer “Yes” or 
“No” to each question. 

a. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner of health. 

b. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Failed, with 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the 
commissioner. 

c. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Violated any provision of Minnesota Statutes Chapter 146B. 

d. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill or safety due to the use of 
alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment. 

e. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Aided or abetted another person in violating any provision of Minnesota Statutes 
Chapter 146B. 

f. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Been or are being disciplined by another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the 
discipline are the same or substantially equivalent to those under Minnesota Statutes 
Chapter 146B. 

g. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Not cooperated with the commissioner in an investigation conducted under Minnesota 
Statutes Chapter 146B.   

h. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Advertised in a manner that is false or misleading. 

i. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public. 

j. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client. 

k. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Obtained money, property, or services from a client through the use of undue influence, 
harassment, duress, deception, or fraud. 

l. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Failed to refer a client to a health care professional for medical evaluation or care when 
appropriate. 

m. ☐ No  ☐ Yes  
Been convicted of a felony-level criminal sexual conduct offense. “Conviction” means a 
plea of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilt by a court. If yes please 
attach a statement providing the details. 

  



B O D Y  A R T  T E C H N I C I A N  L I C E N S E  

6  

Hours Logged 
Use pages 8 through 9 to log the following information: the 200 required hours for tattooing, the 
500 piercings required for piercing; 250 under direct and 250 under indirect supervision. Print as 
many copies of the pages as necessary and send in with the application once completed. 

Date Full Legal Name 
of Client 

Description of 
Work 

# of Tattoo hrs/ 
# of Piercing 

Supervisor 
Signature 
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Date Full Legal Name 
of Client 

Description of 
Work 

# of Tattoo hrs/ 
# of Piercing 

Supervisor 
Signature 
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Additional Information 
Instructions: Use this page as additional space to complete answers from previous page(s) where 
space was insufficient. Include question number(s) with each answer. If more space is needed, print 
a duplicate of this page. Please note: You MUST sign the next page to affirm information provided 
on this application is complete and correct. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
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Applicant Affirmation 
The information I have provided in this application is true and accurate to the best of my 
knowledge. I have read and will comply with the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B. 
I understand that knowingly making a false statement on this application could be cause for denial, 
suspension or revocation of licensure. I understand by signing this document, I give MDH the 
authority to contact any listed supervisor, employer and client submitted for use in verification of 
credentials. 

____________________________________ ______________________________ 
Signature  Date 

Application Fee 
Please note that the fee for your initial body art technician license changes based on the month that 
you apply for your license. 

Fee Schedule 

Month Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

Fee $245.00 $227.50 $420.00 $402.50 $385.00 $367.50 $350.00 $332.50 $314.00 $297.50 $280.00 $262.50 

Mail/Courier Drop-off 
Mail: 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Occupations Program 
P.O. Box 64882 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 

Courier Drop-off Delivery: 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Occupations Program 
85 E. 7th Place, Suite 220 
St. Paul, MN 5510

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Occupations Program 
Attn: Body Art 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 
Health.BA@state.mn.us 
www.health.state.mn.us 

1/29/20 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-3729. 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/
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