
 

Body Art Temporary Technician  
License Application 
Instructions 
To become licensed as a temporary body art technician in Minnesota, you must find a currently licensed 
Minnesota body artist who is willing to supervise you during the temporary licensure period. The 
Department of Health will analyze and may deny any application for temporary licensure with a 
supervisor who has listed two (2) or more temporary technicians. Supervision is defined as the physical 
presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art procedure is being performed. 
Temporary technicians must be supervised only by those listed on their license application and 
approved by MDH. Technicians eligible for supervising a temporary technician must have at least two (2) 
years of experience as a licensed body art technician. NOTE: A temporary license is valid for ONE year 
and may be renewed twice. 

To qualify for a temporary technician license, you must: 

• Be 18 years of age or older and supply a copy of a current, legal ID showing proof of age. 
• Identify a currently licensed Minnesota body artist in good standing, who agrees to 

supervise you for the temporary license period. 
• Work at a currently licensed Minnesota body art establishment in good standing. 
• Complete the Temporary Technician Body Art License Application. 
• Pay the fee of $240 payable to "State of Minnesota." 

Changes of supervisor require completion of a Temporary Technician Supervisor Change Application 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/tempsupchange.pdf) with the 
signature of your new supervisor. No additional fee for this change is required if your temporary license 
is current. 

Supervised experience: Applicants issued a temporary license must complete the following supervised 
practice:  

• To be licensed as a body art technician - piercer, you must complete 250 piercings under 
direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision. 

• To be licensed as a body art technician - tattooist, you must complete 200 hours of 
supervised tattooing. 

Length of licensure: Temporary technician licenses are valid for one year, and may be renewed twice. 

Processing time: Up to 20 business days AFTER application paperwork is considered complete. 

Health Occupations Program 
Body Art Licensing 
PO Box 64882  
St. Paul MN 55164-0882 
Phone: 651-201-3770 
Fax: 651-201-3839 
health.ba@state.mn.us 

8/23/19 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-3770. 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/tempsupchange.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/tempsupchange.pdf
mailto:health.ba@state.mn.us
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Applicant Name:  ________________________  

Temporary Technician License Application 
MINNESOTA GOVERNMENT DATA PRACTICE ACT NOTICE. This notice is given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 13.04, subdivision 2, 
and 13.41, subdivision 2. The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health (Commissioner) will use information you provide in this 
application to determine if you meet Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B requirements for licensure. You are not legally required to supply the 
requested information. However, FAILURE TO PROVIDE INFORMATION OR THE SUBMISSION OF FALSE OR MISLEADING INFORMATION MAY 
DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION OR MAY BE GROUNDS FOR DENYING YOUR APPLICATION. All data, except your name and 
address, submitted by you or on your behalf are considered private until you are licensed. "Private" data are data that are not public but are 
accessible to you. When you become licensed, the application data (except SSN) becomes public. Information submitted to the Commissioner 
in this licensing application may, in some circumstances, be disclosed to other persons or entities including the Minnesota Department of 
Health and its staff, staff of the Attorney General's office, and persons whom they contact including any person to whom the Commissioner 
must refer the application or parts thereof for verification purposes or determination of your qualifications, and to persons you designate. In 
addition, if the matter of your license becomes contested and thereby results either in a contested-case hearing or litigation, the data 
submitted by you or on your behalf may also become accessible to the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, appropriate courts, and 
those associated with such proceedings, and thereby become public data. 

PART I: To Be Completed by Applicant 
Have you held a guest license in Minnesota? No  _____  Yes _____  MN guest license number ______  

Is this a renewal of your Minnesota Body Art Temporary Application? No ________ Yes ________   

Temporary license number __________________________________________  

Application is for Temporary License as (check one): Tattooist  _______ Piercer  _______ Dual _______  

Applicant Information 
 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Last Name  First Name  Middle 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Home Address City State ZIP 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Home/Cell Phone Work Phone 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Email Address 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Social Security Number*  Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) 

*(Required by Minnesota Statute 270.72C, subdivision 4) 

A. Proof you are at least 18 years of age: you must enclose a copy of one of the following documents 
and check the type of document you are enclosing. 

 _____ Driver’s license   ______ Birth certificate   ______ Military ID card issued by US DOD 

 _____ Tribal or state ID  ______ Valid passport   ______ Resident alien card 

B. Have you ever used another name under which records may be filed concerning your application, 
including your education, training or experience? Yes  _______ No ________  

If yes, list names(s) used (first, middle, last): ________________________________________________  

C. Please designate with an ‘X” the address at which you wish to receive correspondence from the 
department regarding your license. This address will be public information (Choose ONE): 
HOME _________ EMPLOYER _________  
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D. Name of establishment where you will be supervised: 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________  
Business/Establishment Name 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Street Address City State ZIP 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Business/Establishment Email 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Business/Establishment Phone 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Business/Establishment Website 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Business/Establishment Hours 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________  
Employment Start Date 

G. Have you ever engaged in any of the following acts or conduct? You must circle “Yes” or “No” to 
answer each question. 

1.  No  Yes  Intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner of health. 

2.  No  Yes  Failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the 
Commissioner. 

3.  No  Yes  Violated any provision of Minnesota Statutes Chapter 146B. 
4.  No  Yes  Failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill or safety due to the use of 

alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment. 
6.  No  Yes  Been or are being disciplined by another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the 

discipline are the same or substantially equivalent to those under this chapter 
(Minnesota Statutes Chapter 146B). 

7.  No  Yes Not cooperated with the commissioner in an investigation conducted under Minnesota 
Statutes Chapter 146B. 

8.  No  Yes  Advertised in a manner that is false or misleading. 

9.  No  Yes  Engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public. 
10. No  Yes  Demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client. 
11.  No  Yes  Obtained money, property, or services from a client through the use of undue influence, 

harassment, duress, deception, or fraud. 
12.  No  Yes  Failed to refer a client to a health care professional for medical evaluation or care when 

appropriate. 
13.  No  Yes  Been convicted of a felony-level criminal sexual conduct offense.  “Conviction” means a 

plea of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by a court. 

If you answered yes to any of these questions, please attach a statement providing the details. 
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Applicant Affirmation 
The information provided in this application is true and accurate. I will comply with the requirements of 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B. I understand that my temporary license must be approved and 
issued before I may provide body art services in Minnesota. I understand that knowingly making a false 
statement on this application may be cause for denial of a temporary license. I understand by signing 
this document, I give MDH authority to contact any listed supervisor or employer submitted for use in 
verification of credentials. 

 _______________________________________________  ___________________________________  
Applicant’s Signature Date 

PART II: To Be Completed by Supervisor 

Supervisor’s Information 
Supervising Technician Name  ___________________________________________________________  

Supervisor’s MN License Number _________________________________________________________  

 ____________________________________________________________    ________________________________  
Establishment Name  Establishment License Number 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________  
Establishment Street Address City State ZIP 

Business/Establishment Email address  ______________________________________________________________  

Establishment Phone  __________________________________________________________________  

Current Number of Supervisees (including applicant)*  ________________________________________  

*If more than two, please provide a supervisory plan that includes all of the following:  

• The areas of practice under supervision (tattooist, piercer, dual). 
• The anticipated supervision hours per week. 
• The anticipated duration of the training period. 
• The method of supervision if there are multiple technicians being supervised during the same time period. 

Supervisor Affirmation: 
I certify that I am a licensed body art technician and that I will supervise this applicant in a licensed 
establishment. I understand that a temporary technician license expires one (1) year from issuance. I 
understand that if I cease supervision before the completion of the temporary technician’s supervised 
practice, I must notify MDH in writing within 14 days of the change and include an explanation of why 
the supervisory plan was not completed. If I am currently, or will be, supervising more than two (2) 
temporary technicians, I have provided a supervisory plan to be submitted with this application. 

__________________________________________ _________________________________ 
Supervisor’s Signature Date 

Note to applicant: Each licensed technician who supervises you must complete and sign Part II of this 
application. Make additional copies as necessary. If you change supervisors or add a new supervisor, 
complete, sign and send a new Supervisor Affirmation page and include your temporary license number.  
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Applicant Name:  ________________________  

Sample Log 

Date Client Name Description of Work # of Tattoo Hours/# of 
Piercings 

Supervisor 

8/8/2019 JOHN DOE Back of arm; Spider- 
line work color 

2.5 hrs. tattoo/1 piercing J.T. 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

You may make copies of this sample log to document the required body art hours completed under supervision. 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/temptechap.pdf 
8/23/2019  

http://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/providers/bodyart/docs/temptechap.pdf
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