
 

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Examination 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

Minnesota Government Data Practices Act Notice: The information provided by you on this form will be used by the 
Minnesota Department of Health (Department) solely and exclusively for scheduling your examination date. Participation in the 
Hearing Instrument Dispenser (HID) Certification Examination is voluntary, and you are not legally required to furnish any of the 
information requested on this form. The only consequence of not furnishing all of the requested information on this form is 
that the Department may not be able to schedule you for an examination. The information you provide on this form is private 
data, with the exception of your name and address. If you become certified, all other information on this form becomes public. 
Private data will be accessible only to you and the appropriate Department staff.  

Application and Examination Fees 

Fee Type Non-Audiologist Audiologist* 
HID Examination $1,200.00 $600.00 

Hid Examination Retake $600.00 $600.00 

Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Minnesota. DO NOT SEND CASH. ALL FEES ARE 
NONREFUNDABLE. 

*If you are in, or have completed an audiology master’s or doctoral degree training program, and are 
applying for the practical exam or a retest of any portion(s) of the practical exam, you will pay the 
Audiologist fee.  

Submitting HID Exam Application  

Returned applications must include: 

1. Completed and signed HID Exam application 
2. Examination fee 
3. Photo identification. 
 
Mail completed applications, any supportive documentation and appropriate exam fee to: 

Mail/Courier Drop-off 

Mail Courier Drop-Off Delivery 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Occupations Program 
P.O. Box 64882 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Occupations Program 
85 E. 7th Place, Suite 220 
St. Paul, MN 55101 

Application Process 

Once your full application is received and approved, you will be notified in writing of your scheduled 
examination date and time at least one week before the examination. 

The Department encourages, though does not require, that you obtain professional liability insurance 
before taking the HID Certification Examination. The Department does not maintain or provide liability 
insurance for examinees.  
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Application for Hearing Instrument Dispenser (HID) Examination 
To register for the HID exam, complete this application, provide any supportive documentation and mail 
with the appropriate exam fee amount to the address above. Make checks payable to: Treasurer, State 
of Minnesota.  

Please indicate your profession: 

� Hearing Instrument Dispenser � Audiologist 

HID Examination Date Requested 
Please go onto the HID Exam website and write below the date on which you are requesting to take the 
exam. Please write clearly. 

 
Month (mm) Date (dd) Year (yyyy) 

You must check one of the options below: 

☐I will bring a live subject to complete the ear mold portion of the exam. Your subject must be 
at the exam site at least one hour before your scheduled ear mold exam. 

☐I will use the simulator provided by the Minnesota Department of Health at the exam site to 
complete the ear mold portion of the exam. 

Examination Information 
Is this HID Exam registration for a retest? � Yes � No 

If yes, please indicate which portions of the examination you will take below: 

� Minnesota Law  
� Ear Mold Impressions 

� Audiometry 
� Hearing Aids: Fitting and Servicing 

• If you require accommodation for the exam, indicate this in the box below. Submit supporting 
documentation regarding your request for testing accommodations due to a disability. At a 
minimum the documentation must include:  

o a letter from an appropriate professional confirming the disability and providing 
information as to what accommodations are appropriate; and 

o a letter from the Disability Services department of your school indicating what 
modifications, if any, were granted by the program.  

� Yes, I need special exam arrangements.  

  

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/hid/hidexamdates.html
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Personal Information 

 
Last Name First Name Middle 

 
Home Address City State ZIP 

 
Home Phone Work Phone 

 
Email Address Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) 
 

Professions and Higher Education Information 
Are you a licensed audiologist? If yes, what is your license number?  
� Yes,______ � No 
Are you in or have you completed an audiology master’s or doctoral degree training program? 
 � Yes � No 
Are you currently a student enrolled in an audiology graduate degree or a doctorate of audiology 
program? If yes, how many years of audiology related higher education have you completed? 
 � Yes,______ � No 
Are you currently licensed as an audiologist in another state?  
� Yes � No 

Affirmation of Applicant 
I attest that the statements made on this application are true. I understand that intentionally 
submitting false or misleading information in connection with this application may be grounds 
for discipline under the Hearing Instrument Dispenser Statute. I have read and understand this 
application, including the notice regarding liability insurance.  

 
Signature Date 
 
I have printed the following materials in my examination packet and understand it is my 
responsibility to read these materials: 

� HID Examination Information Sheet 
� HID Examination Application 
� HID Examination Overview 
� Bibliography 
� Minnesota Law Packet which includes the following: 

o Minnesota Statutes Chapter 153A Hearing Instrument Dispensing 
o Minnesota Statutes Home Solicitation Sales Chapter 325G Consumer Protection: 

Solicitation of Sales 
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o FDA-Title 21 Food and Drugs Chapter I – Food and Drug Administration 
Department of Health and Human Services Subchapter H – Medical Devices Sec 
801.420 Hearing Aid devices; professional and patient label 

o FDA-Title 21 Food and Drugs Chapter I – Food and Drug Administration 
Department of Health and Human Services Subchapter H – Medical Devices Sec 
801.421 Hearing Aid devices; conditions for sales. 

o Minnesota Statutes Assistive Device Chapter 325G 
o Minnesota Statutes Chapter 148.511 to 148.5198 Speech Language Pathologist 

and Audiologist Licensing. 

 
Signature Date 
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Hearing Instrument Dispenser Examination Identification 
The Minnesota Department of Health requires a photograph for identification and examination security. 
Attach a passport size photograph of yourself in the space below. The photograph must be taken less 
than six months prior to the date of application. All applications must have a photograph, including for a 
retest. 

 
Directions: Attach photograph in the space above. Photograph must fit in 2”x2” square, head and 
shoulders only. NOTE: Photograph will be removed and used as an identification badge for the 
examination. 

 I, the undersigned, affirm that I am the person in the photograph above. 

 
Signature Date 

For MDH Use Only 

Approved for the following date: Additional Notes: 

Blank blank 

 

Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
St. Paul, MN 55164 
651-201-3731 
Health.hidexam@state.mn.us 
www.health.state.mn.us 

11/30/18 

L:\HOP_MortSci_MCS\FORMS\HID Forms\hidexamapp Nov 2018.docx 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-3731. 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/
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