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Hearing Instrument Dispenser Retest Examination 
INSTRUCTIONS 

Minnesota Government Data Practices Act Notice: The information provided by you on this form will be used by the 
Minnesota Department of Health (Department) solely and exclusively for scheduling your examination date. Participation in the 
Hearing Instrument Dispenser (HID) Certification Examination is voluntary, and you are not legally required to furnish any of the 
information requested on this form. The only consequence of not furnishing all of the requested information on this form is 
that the Department may not be able to schedule you for an examination. The Department considers all of the information 
requested on this form to be private data, with the exception of your name and address. If you become certified, all other 
information on this form becomes public. Private data will be accessible only to you and the appropriate Department staff.  

Application and Examination Fees 

Fee Type Non-Audiologist Audiologist* 
Hid Examination Retake $600.00 $600.00 

 

Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Minnesota. DO NOT SEND CASH. ALL FEES ARE 
NONREFUNDABLE. 

*If you are in or have completed an audiology master’s or doctoral degree training program, and are 
applying for the practical exam or a retest of any portion(s) of the practical exam.  

Submitting HID Exam Application  

Returned applications must include: 

1. Completed and signed HID Exam application, 
2. Examination fee, and 
3. Photo identification. 
 
Mail completed applications, any supportive documentation and appropriate exam fee to: 

Mail/Courier Drop-off 

Mail Courier Drop-Off Delivery 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Occupations Program 
P.O. Box 64882 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Occupations Program 
85 E. 7th Place, Suite 220 
St. Paul, MN 55101 

Application Process 

Once your full application is received and approved, you will be notified in writing of your scheduled 
examination date and time at least one week before the examination. 

The Department encourages, though does not require, that you obtain professional liability insurance 
before taking the HID Certification Examination. The Department does not maintain or provide liability 
insurance for examinees. 
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Hearing Instrument Dispenser Retest Examination 
APPLICATION 

To register for the HID Exam, complete this application, provide any supportive documentation and mail 
with the appropriate exam fee amount to the address above. Make checks payable to: Treasurer, State 
of Minnesota. 

HID Retest Examination Dates 
Please go onto the HID Exam website and write below the date on which you are requesting to take the 
exam. Please write clearly. 

 
Month (mm) Date (dd) Year (yyyy) 

 

Please indicate which portions of the examination you will take below: 

� Ear Mold Impression 
� Audiometry 

If you need special examination arrangements, indicate this in the box below and on a separate sheet 
describe your disability and the arrangements you require. 

� Yes, I need special exam arrangements. 

Personal Information 
 

Last Name First Name Middle 
 

 
Home Address City State ZIP 
 

 
Home Phone Work Phone 
 

 
Email Address 
 

 
Social Security Number �Male � Female  Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYY) 

  

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/hid/hidexamdates.html
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Professions and Higher Education Information 
Are you a licensed audiologist? If yes, what is your license number? 

☐Yes, ________ ☐ No 

Are you in or have you completed an audiology master’s or doctoral degree training program? 

☐Yes ☐ No 

Are you currently a student enrolled in an audiology graduate degree or a doctorate of audiology 
program? If yes, how many years of audiology related higher education have you completed? 

☐Yes, ________ ☐ No 

Are you currently licensed as an audiologist in another state? 

☐Yes, ________ ☐ No 

Affirmation of Applicant 
I, the above names applicant, state that I am the person referred to in this application and that the 
statements herein contained are each strictly true in every respect. I understand that intentionally 
submitting false or misleading information in connection with this application may be grounds for 
discipline under the Hearing Instrument Dispenser System. I have read and understand this application, 
including the notice regarding liability insurance.  

 
Signature Date 
 
I have printed the following materials in my examination packet and understand it is my 
responsibility to read these materials: 

� HID Examination Information Sheet 
� HID Examination Application 
� HID Examination Overview 
� Bibliography 
� Minnesota Law Packet which includes the following: 

o Minnesota Statutes Chapter 153A Hearing Instrument Dispensing 
o Minnesota Statutes Home Solicitation Sales Chapter 325G Consumer Protection: 

Solicitation of Sales 
o FDA-Title 21 Food and Drugs Chapter I – Food and Drug Administration 

Department of Health and Human Services Subchapter H – Medical Devices Sec 
801.420 Hearing Aid devices; professional and patient label 

o FDA-Title 21 Food and Drugs Chapter I – Food and Drug Administration 
Department of Health and Human Services Subchapter H – Medical Devices Sec 
801.421 Hearing Aid devices; conditions for sales. 

o Minnesota Statutes Assistive Device Chapter 325G 
o Minnesota Statutes Chapter 148.511 to 148.5198 Speech Language Pathologist 

and Audiologist Licensing. 

 
 
Signature Date  
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 Hearing Instrument Dispenser Examination Identification 
The Minnesota Department of Health required a photograph for identification and examination 
security. Attach a passport size photograph of applicant in the space below. The photograph 
must be taken less than six months prior to the date of application. All applications must have a 
photograph, regardless if this is a retest. 

Directions: Attach photograph in the space below. Photograph must fit in 2’x2’ square, head 
and shoulders only. NOTE: Photograph will be removed and used as an identification badge for 
the examination.

 
 
I, the undersigned, affirm that I am the person in the photograph above. 

 
Signature Date 

For MDH Use Only 

Approved for the following date: Additional Notes: 

 
n/a 
 

 

n/a 

 

Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
St. Paul, MN 55164 
651-201-3731 
Health.hidexam@state.mn.us 
www.health.state.mn.us 

04/03/2019 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-3731. Printed on recycled paper. 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/
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