

# **Hearing Instrument Dispenser (HID) Trainee**

#### APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST

# **Important Things to Know About the Application Process**

- It will take MDH five (5) to ten (10) business days to review your HID Trainee application for approval. To ensure that your application is processed in a timely matter, complete all the steps in this checklist.
- MDH will not approve your application until we receive:
  - A completed and signed application
  - All requested documentation
  - License fee payment
- Any applications mailed 30 days after the date of signature on the application will be returned to you to confirm that provided information is still current.
- If a question on the application doesn't apply to you, respond "N/A"
- If your HID Trainee application is approved, you will received a notification in the mail from MDH confirming your Trainee status.
- You must receive written approval from MDH before you can dispense hearing instruments as a Trainee.

# **Application Checklist**

- Print this document and check off the instructions as you complete them.
- Complete, sign and date Part I of the application.
- Complete, sign and date the top half of Part II. Then have your hearing instrument dispenser supervisor complete and sign the bottom half of Part II.
- Complete, sign and date Part III.
- Enclose a check or money order for \$230 and make payable to "Treasurer: State of Minnesota."
  - All fee payments received are deposited immediately.
  - All fees are non-refundable.
- Make a copy of your application and all supporting documents for your records.
- Mail completed original application, supporting documents and fee payment to MDH.

## What happens next?

While you're waiting for HID Trainee approval, you can see if you've been issued trainee status on MDH's <u>Health Occupations Program Credential Lookup</u> website. This website is updated daily. Your name will appear on our website the day after your trainee status has been issued.

### Questions

If you have questions about the application process or submitting the required documents, please email health.hid@state.mn.us or call (651) 201-4200.

#### HEARING INSTRUMENT DISPENSER TRAINEE

# Hearing Instrument Dispenser (HID) Trainee

MINNESOTA GOVERNMENT DATA PRACTICE ACT NOTICE. The information requested on this form will be used only by Minnesota Department of Health staff to determine whether the applicant and the supervisor meet requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.14, subd. 4a or 4c. All information, except your name and address, provided by you on this form are considered private until this application is approved, at which point all information becomes public except social security number. Failure to provide the requested information may delay the application and approval, and providing false or misleading information on this form is grounds for denial of this trainee application, for denial of certification as a hearing instrument dispenser, and for an enforcement action authorized by Minnesota Statute, section 153A.15, subd. 2.

#### Part I: Personal Information

To be completed by applicant only. Please print and sign clearly in blue ink.

Last Name	First Name	ı	Middle	
Home Address	City	State	ZIP	
Home Phone		Work Phone		
Email Address				
Social Security Number	☐Male ☐ Female	Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYY)		
Where would you prefer to select will be public informa	receive mail from MDH regarding you ion.   Home  Employer	ur HID Trainee status? Th	ne address you	
	legal name under which records maining or experience? $\square$ Yes $\square$ No	y be filed concerning you	ur application,	
If yes, please list name(s) use	ed (First, Middle, Last)			
understand that as a trainee, I must dispenser who dispenses until I have under indirect supervision until I are credential number on all contracts with the requirements of Minnesot disciplinary action in this or any otle conciliation court orders), in this or action or omission in connection we that approval of this trainee applic	reby make application as a trainee to dispense to dispense hearing aids under the direct supere taken and pass the HID practical exam. The necrtified or until the expiration date of my the for sale of hearing instruments. By signing be a Statute, section 153A.14, subdivisions 4a, 4 for state; 3) I have not been subject to any Colony other state, currently in effect or issued with the dispensing of hearing instruments; and ation and status as a trainee creates no right for certification as a hearing instrument dispensing of certification as a hearing instrument dispensing of the status as a trainee creates no right or certification as a hearing instrument dispensing of the status as a trainee creates no right or certification as a hearing instrument dispension.	ervision of a certified hearing is ereafter, I may dispense hearing is ereafter, I may dispense hearing is ereafter, I may dispense hearing it will use the sublew, I certify that: 1)I have really, and 4d; 2) I have not been on missioner, court or other or within the last five years, with d 4) I am at least 21 years of a stoor expectation of approve	instrument ing instruments upervisor's ind and will comply the subject of any orders (including th respect to an age. I understand	
Trainee-Applicant Signature		Date		
The HID trainee period automatically e	xpires two (2) months following notice of my passi	ng all HID examination requireme	ents.	
		Date		

# **Part II: Employment Information**

To be completed by applicant and supervisor. Please note that applicant and supervisor's Place of Employment should be the same. Please print and sign clearly in blue ink.

Applicants Place of I	Employment if	Approved a	s Trainee
-----------------------	---------------	------------	-----------

City	State	ZIP
	Fax Number	
omplete by Supervisor ONLY		
First Name		Middle
Place of Employment (Name)		
City	State	ZIP
Fax Number		
ervisor is not the employer, fill in e	employer's informa	tion)
City	State	ZIP
	Fax Number	
CERTIFIED SUPERVISOR AFFIRMATION: I request that the applicant be authorized to dispense hearing aids as a trainee under my supervision for a period not to exceed twelve (12) months. I know that this person is at least 21 years of age. I certify that I hold a valid credential to dispense hearing aids that I have read and will comply with the requirements of Minnesota Statute, section 153.14, subdivisions 4a, 4b and 4d, that I have not been subject to any commissioner, court or other orders, currently in effect or issued within the last five (5) years, that were issued with respect to an action or omission in connection with the dispensing of hearing instruments. I understand that the trainee must be under direct supervision until passing the HID practical examination at which time the trainee may be under indirect supervision until they are certified. The applicant is under my supervision, and I am not supervising more than two (2) trainees at a time, and am not directly supervising more than one trainee at a time. I shall be responsible for all actions and omissions of the applicant in connection with the dispensing of hearing instruments. I understand that I am liable for satisfying all terms of the contracts, written or oral, made by the trainee, including terms relating to products, repairs, warranties, service and refunds. I understand that the trainee will use my credential number on all contracts of sale for as long as I supervise him/her as a trainee. I understand that I am responsible as supervisor for trainee until the Minnesota Department of Health receives my written and signed statement that I wish to cease supervision of the trainee, the trainee period automatically expires two months following notice of the trainee passing all examination requirements, or until expiration of twelve (12) months.		
	First Name  Place of Employment (Name)  City  Ci	First Name  Place of Employment (Name)  City State  Fax Number  Fax Number  City State  Fax Number  City State  Fax Number  Fax Number  City State  Fax Number  Fa

Date

Certified Supervisor's Signature

#### HEARING INSTRUMENT DISPENSER TRAINEE

Part III: Certification of Calibration of Audiometric Equipment

To be completed by applicant. Please print and sign clearly in blue ink.

I hereby certify and understand that any audiometric equipment that I use has been calibrated to the current ANSI standards within twelve (12) months of the date of this application. For purposes of certification "ANSI" means ANSI S3.6 – 1989, American National Standard Specification for Audiometers from the American National Standards Institute.

Trainee-Applicant's Name (Printed)	
Trainee-Applicant Signature	Date

## **MDH USE ONLY**

Mail	Additional Comments
Approved:	
Denied:	
Trainee Exp:	
Check Number:	
Amount: \$	

Minnesota Department of Health PO Box 64882 St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 651-201-3731 health.hid@state.mn.us www.health.state.mn.us

05/29/2024

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4200.