

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

Minnesota Department of Health

Mortuary Science Section Cease and Desist Order

Issued to: Burke Funeral Home

I. Authority:

Upon the lapse of a license, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is required to issue a cease and desist order to prevent the funeral establishment provider whose license lapsed from engaging in the practice of mortuary science. MDH is authorized to issue a cease and desist order under Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.08.

II. Findings of Fact

Timothy Hoff and Gary Hoff are the owners of Burke Funeral Home in Goodview, Minnesota. MDH issued you license Number 0248.

Your funeral establishment license to practice mortuary science was scheduled to expire June 30, 2014. MDH did not receive a license renewal application from you by July 31, 2014.

III. Conclusion

Your funeral establishment license to practice mortuary science has lapsed per Minnesota Statutes 149A.51, subdivision 4.

IV. Cease and Desist Order

You are no longer licensed to practice mortuary science in the state of Minnesota effective July 31, 2014. Accordingly, you are hereby ordered to cease and desist performing the duties of a licensed funeral establishment provider as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.50, subdivisions 1, 2 and 3.

You may restore your lapsed license by complying with the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.51, subdivision 6. An application form is included with this Order.

V. Failure to Comply

If you continue to engage in the practice of mortuary science in violation of this order, MDH may assess an administrative penalty of up to \$10,000.00, institute a proceeding in district court to obtain injunctive relief, or refer the matter for prosecution.

VI. Request for Hearing

You may appeal this order by requesting a hearing. The hearing request must be in writing and delivered to the commissioner by certified mail within 20 calendar days after you receive this order. The request must state the specific reasons for seeking a review of the order. The commissioner will initiate a hearing within 30 days of receiving the request. Your rights and responsibilities regarding this order are found in Minnesota Statutes 149A.08.

SO ORDERED this 5th day of August, 2014.

Compliance Monitoring Division Minnesota Department of Health

P.O. Box 64882

St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0882

Direct all correspondence to: Minnesota Department of Health Mortuary Science Section P.O. Box 64882

St. Paul, MN 55164-0882

651-201-3829

Reference: Cease and Desist Order

Burke Funeral Home