Renewal of your Licensing as a Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist:

## **Instructions:**

Renewal application forms are not available online. Prior to your license expiration date renewal notices are mailed to the address on file. Your renewal application should be in our office by the due date stated on your renewal notice. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve or exempt you from the license renewal requirement.

## Below is the current Statute describing the renewal requirements and process.

## 148.5191 LICENSURE RENEWAL.

Subdivision 1. **Renewal requirements.** To renew licensure, you must:

- (1) biennially complete a renewal application on a form provided by the commissioner and submit the biennial renewal fee;
- (2) meet the continuing education requirements of section 148.5193 and submit evidence of attending continuing education courses, as required in section 148.5193, subdivision 6; and
- (3) submit additional information if requested by the commissioner to clarify information presented in the renewal application. The information must be submitted within 30 days after the commissioner's request.
- Subd. 2. **Late fee.** An application submitted after the renewal deadline date must be accompanied by a late fee as provided in section 148.5194, subdivision 4.
- Subd. 3. **Licensure renewal notice.** Licensure renewal is on a biennial basis. At least 60 days before the licensure expiration date, the commissioner shall send out a renewal notice to the licensee's last known address. The notice shall include a renewal application and notice of fees required for renewal. If the licensee does not receive the renewal notice, the licensee is still required to meet the deadline for renewal to qualify for continuous licensure status.
- Subd. 4. **Renewal deadline.** Each license, including a temporary license provided under section 148.5161, must state an expiration date. An application for licensure renewal must be received by the Department of Health or postmarked at least 30 days before the expiration date. If the postmark is illegible, the application shall be considered timely if received at least 21 days before the expiration date. When the commissioner establishes the renewal schedule for an applicant, licensee, or temporary licensee, if the period before the expiration date is less than two years, the fee shall be prorated.

## 148.518 LICENSURE FOLLOWING LAPSE OF LICENSURE STATUS.

If your license has lapsed, you must:

(1) apply for licensure renewal according to section 148.5191 and document compliance with the continuing education requirements of section 148.5193 since the applicant's license lapsed;

- (2) fulfill the requirements of section 148.517;
- (3) apply for renewal according to section 148.5191, provide evidence to the commissioner that the applicant holds a current and unrestricted credential for the practice of speech-language pathology from the Minnesota Board of Teaching or for the practice of speech-language pathology or audiology in another jurisdiction that has requirements equivalent to or higher than those in effect for Minnesota, and provide evidence of compliance with Minnesota Board of Teaching or that jurisdiction's continuing education requirements;
- (4) apply for renewal according to section 148.5191 and submit verified documentation of successful completion of 160 hours of supervised practice approved by the commissioner. To participate in a supervised practice, the applicant shall first apply and obtain temporary licensing according to section 148.5161; or
- (5) apply for renewal according to section 148.5191 and provide documentation of obtaining a qualifying score on the examination described in section 148.515, subdivision 4, within one year of the application date for license renewal.