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4659.XXXX ORIENTATION. 1 

2 Subpart 1. Orientation required.  

3 A. All unlicensed personnel, including temporary personnel, providing assisted living services, 

4 supervisors of staff providing assisted living services, and licensed health professionals must 

5 complete an orientation as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.63, subdivisions 1 to 3. 

6 Staff under this item must complete the orientation within 14 days of starting work at the facility 

7 and before providing assisted living services. 

8 B. The orientation must be at least five hours and tailored to the facility. 

9 C. This part applies to unlicensed personnel who provide only supportive services, supervisors of 

10 unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services, and volunteers. Staff and volunteers 

11 under this item must complete the orientation within 14 days of starting work at the facility. 

12 D. For purposes of this part, “staff” or “staff member” includes:  

13 1) unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services;  

14 2) unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services;  

15 3) temporary personnel;  

16 4) supervisors; and 

17 5) licensed health professionals. 

18 Subp. 2. Orientation topics. In addition to the topics listed under Minnesota Statutes, section 

19 144G.63, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), the orientation must include: 

20 A. emergency-and-disaster training as required under part XXXX and Minnesota Statutes, section 

21 144G.42, subdivision 10, paragraph (b); 

22 B. safety training under part X, subpart 2; 

23 C. basic communication skills, including both verbal and nonverbal communication; 

24 D. the facility’s grievance procedure under part X; 

25 E. infection-control training under part X, subpart 3; and 

26 F. records management, including training on the facility’s system for logging and tracking: 

27 1) resident data related to supportive services and assisted living services; and  

28 2) any other data the facility must maintain according to this chapter and Minnesota 

29 Statutes, chapter 144G, and that staff are allowed by law to maintain. 

30 Subp. 3. Providing orientation.  

31 A. Only the following facility individuals may provide the orientation under this part: 

32 1) the assisted living director or managerial official; 

33 2) the clinical nurse supervisor; or 
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3) a supervisor who supervises unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services. 1 

B. An assisted living director or managerial official must keep in the facility’s records the following 2 

information on the individual under item A who provided the orientation: 3 

1) the individual’s name and job title; 4 

2) the date the individual provided the orientation; and 5 

3) the number of hours the individual provided the orientation. 6 

Subp. 4. Orientation method. The required orientation under this part must be conducted 7 

according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.83, subdivision 4. An individual under subpart 3 8 

must be available during the orientation to answer staff questions or concerns about the 9 

orientation. 10 

Subp. 5. Staff member’s records. An assisted living director or managerial official must 11 

document in a staff member’s records that the staff member completed the required orientation 12 

under this part. 13 

Subp. 6. Incorporating orientation into required annual training. If the orientation is 14 

incorporated into the required annual training under part X, this part still applies. 15 

 16 

Notes: From statute: All staff providing and supervising direct services must complete an 17 

orientation to assisted living facility licensing requirements and regulations before providing 18 

assisted living services to residents 19 

Who constitutes staff? What are direct services? What does supervising entail/who is a 20 

supervisor? As it reads, someone supervising but not providing services, and someone providing 21 

but not supervising, does not need to complete orientation. Same issue with annual training. Also 22 

conflicts with emergency-training requirement, which implies all staff receive orientation 23 

What is orientation to resident? 24 

 25 

4659.XXXX INITIAL TRAINING. 26 

Subpart 1. Initial training required.  27 

A. All unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services and supervisors of unlicensed 28 

personnel providing assisted living services must complete at least 75 hours of initial training 29 

according to this part and complete the competency evaluation and tests under part X. Before 30 

performing delegated health-care duties and tasks according to Minnesota Statutes, sections 31 

144G.62, 144G.71, and 144G.72, unlicensed personnel must comply with Minnesota 32 

Statutes, section 144G.60, subdivision 4, paragraph (b). 33 
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B. Supervisors of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services must be trained on 1 

mental health and developmental disabilities according to subparts X and X. 2 

C. All unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services must complete at least 35 hours 3 

of initial training according to this part and complete the competency evaluation under 4 

subpart X. 5 

D. A licensed health professional working in the facility must receive at least eight hours of 6 

initial dementia-care training on the topics under part X, item A, within 80 working hours of 7 

being employed at the facility. 8 

E. The initial training required under items A to C does not apply to:  9 

1) individuals who are on the department’s Nursing Assistant Registry; 10 

2) licensed health professionals; 11 

3) out-of-state personnel according to subpart X; and 12 

4) individuals who complete the challenge test under part X, subpart 5. 13 

F. The required training under this subpart is in addition to the initial training on dementia care 14 

as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.64. Unless otherwise provided, individuals 15 

under item E must complete the initial dementia-care training under part X. 16 

G. For purposes of this part, “staff” or “staff member” includes:  17 

1) unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services;  18 

2) unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services;  19 

3) temporary personnel;  20 

4) supervisors of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services; and 21 

5) licensed health professionals. 22 

Subp. 2. Training program; content.  23 

A. A facility’s training program for all unlicensed personnel and supervisors of unlicensed 24 

personnel must include the topics on competency evaluations under Minnesota Statutes, section 25 

144G.61, subdivision 2, paragraph (a). 26 

B. A facility’s training program for all unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services and 27 

supervisors of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services must include the topics on 28 

competency evaluations under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.61, subdivision 2, paragraph 29 

(b). 30 

C. In addition to items A and B, the training program must include training on: 31 

1) staff self-care, including practices and resources for reducing stress and practicing self-32 

care; 33 
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2) providing assistance to resident and family councils under Minnesota Statutes, section 1 

144G.41, subdivisions 5 and 6; 2 

3) the facility’s policy on discharging and transferring residents; 3 

4) CPR and first aid; 4 

5) accommodating residents with disabilities and residents who are non-English speakers; 5 

6) cultural sensitivity, including methods to ensure cultural backgrounds are respected when 6 

providing supportive and assisted living services;  7 

7) grief and loss, including common symptoms associated with grief and loss; and 8 

8) do-not-resuscitate orders, but only for unlicensed personnel providing assisted living 9 

services and supervisors of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services. 10 

D. If a facility provides a new assisted living service that was not previously provided nor included 11 

in the training program under this subpart and subpart 3, the facility’s licensee must provide 12 

training on the new assisted living service and comply with subpart 3, item B. 13 

Subp. 3. Training program; approval.  14 

A. A facility must use a department-approved training program listed on the department’s website 15 

or a training program approved according to this subpart.  16 

B. If a facility is using a training program not listed on the department’s website, the facility’s 17 

licensee must submit to the department: 18 

1) the facility’s name, address, and licensure category; 19 

2) the training program that the facility will use; 20 

3) the name of the instructor overseeing or providing the training program; and 21 

4) documentation showing that the training program meets the requirements of this part and 22 

Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144G. 23 

C. The commissioner has 30 days to approve the training program after the licensee submits the 24 

program to the department. The commissioner must disapprove the training program if it does 25 

not meet the requirements of this part and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144G. 26 

D. A licensee must submit to the department any changes to the training program, and the 27 

commissioner has 30 days to approve the changes after the licensee submits the changes. The 28 

commissioner must disapprove the changes if they do not meet the requirements of this part and 29 

Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144G. 30 

Subp. 4. Training requirements.  31 
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A. The initial training must be conducted according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.83, 1 

subdivision 4. No more than 35 hours of the required initial training under subpart 1 may be on-2 

the-job training. 3 

B. After completing the initial training and passing the competency evaluation under part X, 4 

unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services must be paired with a mentor unlicensed 5 

personnel who has completed the competency evaluation and who has at least one year of work 6 

experience in the facility. Unlicensed personnel must be paired with the mentor for at least 30 7 

days, and the mentor must approve that the unlicensed personnel may provide assisted living 8 

services unsupervised. This item applies to individuals under subpart 1, item E, subitems (3) and 9 

(4). 10 

C. For purposes of this part, “on-the-job training” means training in which an instructor, clinical 11 

nurse supervisor, registered nurse, or staff member under subpart 1, item A, who has completed 12 

the required training under this part provides assisted living services while a trainee observes but 13 

does not provide any assisted living services. 14 

Subp. 5. Training timeline. The initial training must be completed within 120 days of starting 15 

work at the facility. Unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services and supervisors of 16 

unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services may not provide assisted living services 17 

until completing the training and passing the competency evaluation. 18 

Subp. 6. Temporary personnel. Temporary personnel must comply with part X (dementia) and 19 

subparts 1, items A and C; 4; and 5. 20 

Subp. 7. Out-of-state personnel.  21 

A. An individual from another state is exempt from the initial training requirements under this 22 

part if: 23 

1) the individual has an associate degree or higher and at least one year of work 24 

experience in a licensed assisted living facility, nursing facility, or other health-care-25 

related facility with elderly residents; 26 

2) the individual was a certified nursing assistant or registered or licensed as a nursing 27 

assistant from the other state; or 28 

3) the individual completes the challenge test under part X, subpart 5. 29 

B. Before providing assisted living services and within seven calendar days of being employed 30 

at the facility, the individual must provide documentation or records showing that the 31 

individual is compliant with item A. 32 

Subp. 8. Training portability.  33 
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A. Notwithstanding subpart 1, item E, a newly hired staff member is not required to complete the 1 

training under this part and the competency evaluation under part X if the staff member: 2 

1) is leaving a licensed facility in this state and previously completed the required initial 3 

training at that facility; or 4 

2) does not work at a licensed facility in this state but has completed the required initial 5 

training within the last 18 months. 6 

B. To comply with this subpart, a newly hired staff member must provide a certificate of training 7 

under subpart 10 to a facility’s assisted living director or managerial official before providing 8 

assisted living services and within seven calendar days of being employed at the facility. 9 

Subp. 9. Instructor qualifications.  10 

A. An instructor overseeing or providing the training program under subpart 2 must be the facility’s 11 

clinical nurse supervisor or:  12 

1) a registered nurse with at least two years’ work experience in a nursing home, assisted 13 

living facility, or other health-care-related setting with elderly residents; or 14 

2) an individual with at least an associate degree in a health-care-related field and at least 15 

four years’ work experience in a nursing home, assisted living facility, or other health-16 

care-related setting with elderly residents. 17 

B. The work experience under item A must be within the last five years. 18 

Subp. 10. Certificate of training. An instructor under subpart 9 and part X must sign a 19 

certificate of training for each staff member that completes the required initial training under this 20 

part and the required initial dementia-care training under part X. The certificate of training must 21 

be kept according to subpart 12. 22 

Subp. 11. Policies and procedures; manuals. A facility’s assisted living director or managerial 23 

official must ensure that training manuals and information on the facility’s required policies and 24 

procedures under this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144G, are available in the facility 25 

and accessible to all staff. 26 

Subp. 12. Staff member’s records. An assisted living director or managerial official must 27 

document in a staff member’s records that the staff member completed the required initial 28 

training under this part. This subpart applies to temporary personnel under subpart X. 29 

 30 

4659.XXXX DEMENTIA CARE; TRAINING PROGRAM. 31 
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A. In addition to the required training topics on dementia care under Minnesota Statutes, section 1 

144G.64, paragraph (b), all staff under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.64, paragraph (a), 2 

clauses (1) to (3), must receive initial training on: 3 

1) physical restraints and alternatives to physical restraints under part X, subpart 2; 4 

2) pain assessment under part X, subpart 3; 5 

3) fall prevention under part X, subpart 4;  6 

4) elopement training under part X, subpart 5;  7 

5) medication, treatment, and therapy, including: 8 

a.  side effects from medication;  9 

b. reporting side effects; 10 

c.  chemical restraints as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 245D.03, 11 

subdivision 3b; 12 

d. resident refusal to take medications; and 13 

e.  nonpharmacological practices and therapies. 14 

B. An instructor providing or overseeing the training program under this part must be qualified 15 

according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.83, subdivision 3. 16 

C. The training program must be approved according to part X, subpart 3. 17 

D. The training must be completed according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.64. 18 

E. A facility’s assisted living director or managerial official must comply with the notice 19 

requirements under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.64, paragraph (c), and 144G.90, 20 

subdivision 3. 21 

 22 

4659.XXXX SAFETY TRAINING AND INFECTION-CONTROL TRAINING. 23 

Subpart 1. Applicability. Subparts 2 and 3 apply to: 24 

A. unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services;  25 

B. unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services;  26 

C. temporary personnel;  27 

D. supervisors; and 28 

E. licensed health professionals. 29 

Subp. 2. Safety training. Safety training must be provided by an assisted living director or 30 

managerial official or a supervisor who has received safety training and must include: 31 

A. training on conducting fire drills according to the Life Safety Code and training on fire safety; 32 
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B. training on emergency communication during an disaster or emergency as defined under 1 

Minnesota Statutes, section 12.03, subdivisions 2 and 3; 2 

C. location of the facility’s emergency exits; 3 

D. location of first-aid kits and automated external defibrillators; 4 

E. training on worker safety and information on the facility’s injury policy, including contact 5 

information for the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry and the Occupational Safety 6 

and Health Administration; 7 

F. training on working with specialized equipment, if applicable; and 8 

G. training on any other facility policy or procedure related to safety. 9 

Subp. 3. Infection-control training. Training on infection control must be provided by an 10 

assisted living director or managerial official or supervisor who has received infection-control 11 

training and must include training on: 12 

A. proper handwashing techniques; 13 

B. protecting from exposure to blood and other bodily fluids; 14 

C. disposing of contaminated or hazardous materials; 15 

D. reporting exposure to contaminated or hazardous materials, blood, or other bodily fluids; and 16 

E. the facility’s illness policy. 17 

 18 

4659.XXXX SPECIALTY TRAINING; UNLICENSED PERSONNEL AND 19 

SUPERVISORS. 20 

Subpart 1. Applicability. Subpart 2 to 4 apply to: 21 

A. unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services;  22 

B. unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services;  23 

C. temporary personnel; and 24 

D. supervisors. 25 

Subp. 2. Transportation training. Transportation training must include training in defensive 26 

driving and operating a vehicle containing a wheelchair lift or ramp. An individual under subpart 27 

1 must be trained according to this subpart before transporting residents. Only an assisted living 28 

director, managerial official, or individual with a certificate of compliance under part 8840.5400 29 

may provide the training. 30 

Subp. 3. Food-handling training.  31 

A. Training on food handling must include:  32 

1) basic training as it relates to the individual’s job duties on food handling; and  33 
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2) training on the topics under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.61, subdivision 2, 1 

paragraph (a), clause (9).  2 

B. An individual under subpart 1 must receive the training under this subpart before handling food, 3 

preparing food, and assisting residents with eating. 4 

Subp. 4. Diabetes training.  5 

A. Before unlicensed personnel may administer insulin according to Minnesota Statutes, section 6 

144G.71, subdivision 7, unlicensed personnel must receive training from a registered nurse on:  7 

1) basic facts about diabetes and appropriate care for managing diabetes; 8 

2) administering, storing, mixing, measuring, and injecting insulin; 9 

3) treating and preventing hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia; 10 

4) blood-glucose monitoring;  11 

5) appropriate times to administer insulin; and 12 

6) the procedure for contacting a registered nurse or other appropriate licensed health 13 

professional regarding insulin-related questions or emergencies. 14 

B. Before administering insulin, unlicensed personnel must be deemed competent by a registered 15 

nurse. 16 

 17 

4659.XXXX SPECIALTY TRAINING; SUPERVISORS. 18 

Subpart 1. Training on developmental disabilities.  19 

A. Supervisors of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services must complete training 20 

under this subpart within 120 days of starting work at a facility. The training must be at least four 21 

hours and must include: 22 

1) an overview of developmental disabilities; 23 

2) training on effective communication techniques, including both verbal and nonverbal 24 

techniques; 25 

3) training on understanding challenging behavior, including best practices for managing 26 

challenging behavior; and 27 

4) training on crisis prevention and intervention, including the main principles of crisis 28 

prevention and intervention and how to support a resident experiencing a crisis. 29 

B. The training under this part must be provided by an instructor with a four-year bachelor’s degree, 30 

a graduate degree, or a professional degree and two years’ experience working with individuals 31 

with developmental disabilities. The training under this subpart must be provided to unlicensed 32 

personnel if requested by unlicensed personnel. 33 
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Subp. 2. Training on mental health. 1 

A. Supervisors of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services must complete training 2 

under this subpart within 120 days of starting work at a facility. The training must be at least four 3 

hours and must include: 4 

1) information on mental disorders, including differentiating forms and types of mental 5 

disorders and mental-health conditions; 6 

2) training on effective communication techniques, including behavior that impacts 7 

communication; 8 

3) information and training on medication side effects, including ways to effectively 9 

respond to side effects; 10 

4) training on nonpharmacological practices to alleviate mental-illness symptoms and 11 

manage challenging behavior; and 12 

5) training on crisis prevention and intervention, including suicide prevention. 13 

B. The training under this part must be provided by an instructor with a four-year bachelor’s degree, 14 

a graduate degree, or a professional degree in a mental-health-related field and at least two years’ 15 

work experience working with individuals with a mental illness. The training under this subpart 16 

must be provided to unlicensed personnel if requested by unlicensed personnel. 17 

 18 

4659.XXXX SPECIALTY TRAINING; DEMENTIA. 19 

Subpart 1. Applicability.  20 

A. Subparts 2 to 5 apply to:  21 

1) staff under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.64;  22 

2) temporary personnel providing assisted living services; and 23 

3) individuals under part X, subpart 1, item E, providing assisted living services. 24 

B. This part does not apply to new employees according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.64, 25 

paragraph (a), clause (4). 26 

Subp. 2. Physical restraints. Training on physical restraints must be provided by a registered 27 

nurse and must include: 28 

A. training and information on restraint-free alternatives to physical restraints; 29 

B. training and information on the types of physical restraints and the facility’s policy on restraints; 30 

C. information on medical causes or other causes that may warrant using physical restraints; 31 

D. information on the negative health and safety consequences for a resident when physical 32 

restraints are used; 33 
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E. training on monitoring and caring for residents who are physically restrained; and 1 

F. training on safely transitioning from physical restraints to restraint-free alternatives. 2 

Subp. 3. Pain assessment. Training on assessing resident pain must be provided by a registered 3 

nurse and must include: 4 

A. information on how poorly managed pain can result in behavioral symptoms and unnecessary 5 

use of psychotropic medications; 6 

B. training on properly communicating with residents about their pain experiences and side effects 7 

of medications; 8 

C. training on tailoring pain-management techniques to a resident according to the resident’s service 9 

plan and assessments; and 10 

D. training on recording pain observations and reporting signs of pain to a licensed health 11 

professional. 12 

Subp. 4. Fall prevention.  13 

A. Training on preventing resident falls must be provided by a registered nurse and must include 14 

training on how a facility’s environmental conditions may contribute to resident falls and how to 15 

be aware of the environmental conditions when providing assisted living services. Environmental 16 

conditions include: 17 

1) lighting, including glare; 18 

2) obstructions in a resident’s room and the facility’s common areas; 19 

3) floor surfaces, including whether the floor is a nonslip surface; 20 

4) availability, sturdiness, and visibility of handrails and furniture; 21 

5) accessibility to bathrooms and dining areas; 22 

6) a resident’s personal safety devices such as a cane, walker, wheelchair, or other mobility 23 

device; 24 

7) a resident’s footwear; and 25 

8) any other environmental condition that is likely to increase a resident’s chance of falling. 26 

B. Training must include:  27 

1) how to monitor a resident’s condition and whether any changes in a resident’s condition 28 

increase a resident’s chance of falling; and  29 

2) how to report a resident’s change in condition. 30 

C. Training must include information on the importance of resident mobility and promoting and 31 

having residents use assistive devices. 32 

D. Training must include how to manage and report a fall. 33 
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Subp. 5. Elopement training. Training on elopement must be provided by an individual 1 

qualified according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.83, subdivision 3. The training must 2 

include: 3 

A. information on why individuals with dementia and other cognitive impairments wander 4 

and elope; 5 

B. information on the benefits and detrimental effects of wandering for residents with 6 

dementia and other cognitive impairments; 7 

C. training on supporting a resident who wanders and minimizing unsafe wandering; and 8 

D. training on using safety devices that help prevent a resident from eloping. 9 

 10 

4659.XXXX ANNUAL TRAINING. 11 

Subpart 1. Annual training required.  12 

A. All unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services and supervisors of unlicensed 13 

personnel providing assisted living services must complete annual training as required by 14 

Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.63, subdivision 5, and 144G.64, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to 15 

(3). 16 

B. An instructor under subpart 3 must provide the required training under this part. 17 

C. For purposes of this part, “staff” or “staff member” includes unlicensed personnel providing 18 

assisted living services, unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services, and supervisors 19 

of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services. 20 

Subp. 2. Training topics.  21 

A. All staff under subpart 1, item A, must complete annual training on the topics listed under 22 

Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.63, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), and 144G.64, paragraph (b). 23 

B. In addition to the required training topics under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.63, 24 

subdivision 5, paragraph (a), all staff under subpart 1, item A, must receive annual training on: 25 

1) emergency-and-disaster training as required under part XXXX and Minnesota Statutes, 26 

section 144G.42, subdivision 10, paragraph (b); 27 

2) safety training under part X, subpart 2; 28 

3) basic communication skills, including both verbal and nonverbal communication; 29 

4) the facility’s grievance procedure under part X; 30 

5) records management, including training on the facility’s system for logging and tracking:  31 

a.  resident data related to supportive services and assisted living services; and  32 
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b. any other data the facility must maintain according to this chapter and Minnesota 1 

Statutes, chapter 144G, and that staff are allowed by law to maintain; and 2 

6) performing delegated duties and tasks according to Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.62, 3 

144G.71, and 144G.72. 4 

C. A licensed health professional must receive at least at least two hours of annual training on topics 5 

under part X (dementia). 6 

D. In addition to the required training under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.64, paragraph (a), 7 

clause (4), all unlicensed personnel who provide only supportive services must complete at least 8 

four hours of annual training on: 9 

1) reporting maltreatment of vulnerable adults under Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, to 10 

the Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center; 11 

2) emergency-and-disaster training as required under part XXXX and Minnesota Statutes, 12 

section 144G.42, subdivision 10, paragraph (b); 13 

3) safety training under part X, subpart 2; 14 

4) basic communication skills, including both verbal and nonverbal communication; and 15 

5) the facility’s grievance procedure under part X. 16 

Subp. 3. Instructor qualifications.  17 

A. An instructor providing or overseeing annual training on topics under subpart 2, item B, and 18 

Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.63, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), must: 19 

1) have at least two years’ work and supervisor experience in a nursing facility, assisted 20 

living facility, or other health-care-related facility with elderly residents; 21 

2) be the facility’s clinical nurse supervisor; 22 

3) be licensed as a registered nurse or advanced practice registered nurse; or 23 

4) have a four-year bachelor’s degree, a graduate degree, or a professional degree in 24 

gerontology or another health-care field related to caring for the elderly and at least one 25 

year of work experience in gerontology or another health-care field related to caring for 26 

the elderly. 27 

B. An instructor providing or overseeing annual training on topics related to dementia care under 28 

subpart 2, item C, and Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.64, paragraph (b), must be qualified 29 

according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.83, subdivision 3. 30 

C. An instructor providing training on hearing loss under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.63, 31 

subdivision 2, paragraph (b), must have at least two years’ work experience related to age-related 32 

hearing loss. 33 



 
WORKING DRAFT 

DATE:03/12/2020 

14 

D. An assisted living director or managerial official must keep in the facility’s records the following 1 

information on an instructor under this subpart: 2 

1) the instructor’s name; 3 

2) the instructor’s qualifications according to item A, B, or C; 4 

3) the training the instructor provided; 5 

4) the date the instructor provided the training; and 6 

5) the number of hours the instructor provided the training. 7 

Subp. 4. Training method. The required annual training under this part must be conducted 8 

according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.83, subdivision 4. At least half of the required 9 

annual training must be conducted in person. 10 

Subp. 5. Staff member’s records. An assisted living director or managerial official must 11 

document in a staff member’s records that the staff member completed the required annual 12 

training under this part. 13 

 14 

4659.XXXX. COMPETENCY EVALUATION; KNOWLEDGE AND PRACTICAL-SKILLS 15 

TESTS. 16 

Subpart 1. Competency evaluation required; timeline.  17 

A. All unlicensed personnel and supervisors of unlicensed personnel providing assisted living 18 

services must complete the competency evaluation under this part. 19 

B. Unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services and supervisors of unlicensed personnel 20 

providing assisted living services must complete the competency evaluation before providing 21 

assisted living services. 22 

C. Unlicensed personnel providing only supportive services and supervisors of unlicensed personnel 23 

providing only supportive services must complete the competency evaluation under this part 24 

within 14 calendar days after completing the required initial training under part X. 25 

D. For purposes of this part, “unlicensed personnel” includes temporary personnel. 26 

Subp. 2. Evaluation content. Unlicensed personnel and supervisors of unlicensed personnel 27 

providing assisted living services must be evaluated on the topics under Minnesota Statutes, 28 

section 144G.61, subdivision 2, paragraphs (a) and (b). Additionally, all unlicensed personnel 29 

and supervisors must be evaluated on CPR and first aid. 30 

Subp. 3. Evaluation instructor; evaluating competency.  31 
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A. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.61, subdivision 1, clause (1), a facility’s 1 

clinical nurse supervisor or a registered nurse must evaluate unlicensed personnel and 2 

supervisors according to subpart 2. 3 

B. To complete the evaluation, unlicensed personnel and supervisors must be deemed competent in 4 

every topic under subpart 2 as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.60, subdivision 4.  5 

C. Unlicensed personnel and supervisors must be retrained in any topic under subpart 2 in which 6 

they are not deemed competent after two attempts at demonstrating competency. 7 

D. Accommodations during the evaluation must be made for individuals with a disability, including 8 

a learning disability. 9 

Subp. 4. Required tests.  10 

A. The following required tests must be completed according to Minnesota Statutes, sections 11 

144G.60, subdivision 4, and 144G.83, clause (2): 12 

1) the written or oral test; 13 

2) the practical-skills test; and 14 

3) the skills-competency or knowledge test. 15 

B. The tests under item A must be developed or approved by the commissioner. The commissioner 16 

must post information on the tests, including testing material, content, scoring guide, location 17 

information, and any other relevant testing-related information and materials. 18 

C. A score of 75 percent or greater is required to pass each test, and accommodations must be made 19 

for individuals with a disability, including a learning disability, or for individuals who speak 20 

English as a second language. 21 

D. Unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services, temporary personnel, and supervisors of 22 

unlicensed personnel providing assisted living services, must retake the initial training under part 23 

X if the staff member fails the required test twice. 24 

E. An instructor under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.83, clause (2), must pass the required test 25 

under item A before providing training according to this chapter. 26 

Subp. 5. Challenge test.  27 

A. An assisted living director or managerial official must waive the initial training requirements 28 

under part X if an individual passes the challenge test according to this subpart. 29 

B. The challenge test is the same test as the one given under subpart 4, item A. A score of 90 30 

percent or greater is required to pass each test, and accommodations must be made for 31 

individuals with a disability, including a learning disability, or for individuals who speak English 32 

as a second language. 33 
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C. An individual taking a challenge test must take the initial training under part X if the individual 1 

does not pass the test on the first attempt. 2 

D. There is no challenge test for initial dementia-care training. 3 

Subp. 6. Records.  4 

A. An assisted living director or managerial official must document in a staff member’s records that 5 

the staff member completed the required evaluation and tests under this part. 6 

B. For purposes of this subpart, “staff member” includes all individuals required to take the 7 

evaluation and tests under this part.  8 

 9 

4659.XXXX GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE. 10 

A. An assisted living director or managerial official must develop a facility’s grievance procedure. 11 

The grievance procedure must comply with Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.41, subdivision 7, 12 

and include in the posted notice:  13 

1) the statement under Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.90, subdivision 1, paragraph (b); 14 

2) a statement saying the grievance may be submitted orally or by writing and informing of 15 

a right to a response, including a written response if requested; and 16 

3) a statement saying that the individual submitting the grievance is prohibited from being 17 

retaliated against. 18 

B. An assisted living director, managerial official, or supervisor is responsible for handling, 19 

including responding to and managing:  20 

1) resident grievances, including grievances from resident councils under Minnesota 21 

Statutes, section 144G.41, subdivision 5; 22 

2) grievances from a resident’s family, including from family councils under Minnesota 23 

Statutes, section 144G.41, subdivision 6; 24 

3) grievances from a resident’s legal and designated representatives; and 25 

4) grievances from a volunteer. 26 

C. An assisted living director, managerial official, or supervisor must be available on-site in the 27 

facility to receive a grievance during the facility’s normal business hours. 28 

D. The grievance procedure must include an informal dispute resolution for handling grievances and 29 

a procedure for documenting the grievance, including whether and how the grievance was 30 

resolved.  31 
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E. An assisted living director, managerial official, or supervisor must respond to a grievance as 1 

soon as possible, but no longer than 14 days after the grievance was submitted. A written copy of 2 

the response must be provided if requested by the individual who submitted the grievance. 3 

F. A grievance and related documentation must be maintained for one year after the grievance has 4 

been resolved or, if not resolved, reported. 5 

G. An assisted living director or managerial official must make the facility’s grievance procedure 6 

and all documented grievances under item F available to the commissioner upon request. 7 


	WORKING DRAFT DATE:03/12/2020
	4659.XXXX ORIENTATION. 1
	26 4659.XXXX INITIAL TRAINING.
	31 4659.XXXX DEMENTIA CARE; TRAINING PROGRAM.
	23 4659.XXXX SAFETY TRAINING AND INFECTION-CONTROL TRAINING.
	19 4659.XXXX SPECIALTY TRAINING; UNLICENSED PERSONNEL AND 20 SUPERVISORS.
	18 4659.XXXX SPECIALTY TRAINING; SUPERVISORS.
	19 4659.XXXX SPECIALTY TRAINING; DEMENTIA.
	11 4659.XXXX ANNUAL TRAINING.
	15 4659.XXXX. COMPETENCY EVALUATION; KNOWLEDGE AND PRACTICAL-SKILLS 16 TESTS.
	10 4659.XXXX GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE.


