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Assisted Living Licensure in Minnesota:  
Making the Transition 
New Legislation Creates Assisted Living License 
The 2019 Minnesota Legislature enacted a law to create new licensing requirements for 
assisted living in Minnesota. The new assisted living licensure law is in Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 144G, Assisted Living (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144G). 

The new assisted living licensure, which goes into effect August 1, 2021, applies to: 

▪ Current providers of assisted living services. 

▪ Arranged home care providers in a housing with services establishment. 

▪ Providers of customized living services under the Elderly Waiver (EW), Brain Injury (BI), or 
Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) waiver. 

▪ Organizations planning to provide assisted living services and/or customized living services 
in Minnesota.  

One License that Combines Housing and Services 
Under the new law, each assisted living facility will have one single, integrated license that 
combines an assisted living resident’s housing and services. Housing with Services and Home 
Care regulations will be replaced with the assisted living regulations under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 144G, Assisted Living (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144G).  

There are two types of license a facility may choose to have, either: 

▪ the assisted living facility license for a facility that provides sleeping accommodations and 
assisted living services to one or more adults. 

▪ the assisted living facility with dementia care license for a facility that is advertised, 
marketed, or otherwise promoted as providing specialized care for individuals with 
Alzheimer's disease or other dementias. An assisted living facility with a secured dementia 
care unit must be licensed as an assisted living facility with dementia care.  

If you hold a housing with services establishment registration or a home care license on or 
before July 31, 2021, and you apply for one of the assisted living facility licenses listed above, 
you will be issued a license to provide those services. 

If you are a new provider and do not hold a housing with services establishment registration or 
a home care license on or before July 31, 2021, and you apply for one of the assisted living 
facility licenses listed above, you will be issued a provisional license to provide those services. 
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Fees 
The fee structure for the new license will be: 
▪ Assisted Living Facility License = $2,000 plus $75 per resident 
▪ Assisted Living Facility with Dementia Care License = $3,000 plus $100 per resident 

Impacts to Department of Human Services Programs 
Providers of the Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver service of customized 
living services must have an assisted living license to continue delivering customized living 
services. This applies to the following waiver programs: 

▪ Elderly Waiver (EW) 
▪ Brain Injury (BI) 
▪ Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) 

There are a limited number of customized living settings that are excluded from assisted living 
licensure. These settings may continue to deliver customized living services, pending federal 
approval. The list of excluded settings include: 

▪ Public Housing Buildings and Developments 

▪ Section 202 (elderly) Multi-Family Buildings 

▪ Section 811 (disability) Multi-Family Buildings    

These settings are excluded from assisted living licensure under Minnesota Statutes, section 
144G.08, subdivision 7, paragraphs 11-13. 

For more details about the different types of licenses, please refer to our previous Assisted 
Living Licensure in Minnesota fact sheet 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/assistedliving/docs/factsheet.pdf). 

If you have questions about the kind of Home and Community Based Services you will 
provide, please contact the Minnesota Department of Human Services Aging and Adult 
Services Division at dhs.aasd.hcbs@state.mn.us. 

Assisted Living Facility Requirements 
You must have an assisted living facility license if you plan to provide assisted living services on 
or after August 1, 2021.  

▪ The person or legal entity applying for the assisted living facility license may or may not be 
the same as the current housing with services establishment registrant. 

▪ You will be prohibited from providing assisted living services as defined in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 144G.08, subdivision 9, on or after August 1, 2021, unless you have an 
assisted living facility license.  

https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/assistedliving/docs/factsheet.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/assistedliving/docs/factsheet.pdf
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Whether a license applicant will be seeking to become licensed for the first time or a current 
home care provider or housing with services registrant needs to transition to a new license, you 
must follow the new license application requirements.   

Conversion to assisted living licensure; background studies. Any new individuals listed on the 
assisted living facility application who have a direct ownership interest in the license or who are 
managerial officials are subject to background study requirements. No individual may be 
involved in the management, operation, or control of an assisted living facility if the individual 
has been disqualified under Minnesota Statutes Chapter 245C. 

Changes of ownership; current housing with services establishment registrations. An assisted 
living facility registered as a housing with services establishment prior to August 1, 2021, that 
expects to change ownership on or after August 1, 2021, must submit an assisted living facility 
change of ownership application along with an assisted living facility license application at least 
60 calendar days prior to the anticipated effective date of the sale or transaction. 
 

Providers are not required to apply for an assisted living facility license at this time. 
Information about the new regulatory responsibilities of assisted living facilities and 
when and how to apply for an Assisted Living Facility License will be provided in the 
fall of 2020. To receive updates on the Assisted Living Licensure Rulemaking process, 
visit our Assisted Living Licensure Rulemaking website 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/assistedliving/index.html) and 
sign up for “Email Updates.” 

 

 

Minnesota Department of Health  
Health Regulation Division  
PO Box 64900 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0900 
www.health.state.mn.us/assistedliving 
health.assistedliving@state.mn.us 
651-539-3049 or 844-926-1061 
 
 
To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4101. 
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