m DEPARTMENT
OF HEALTH

Application for Change of Ownership

COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

General Instructions

This application is for individuals and organizations applying for a home care license due to a proposed
change of ownership or transfer of a controlling interest to a different entity.

Statute references (with links to the Revisor’s website) occur throughout this application (e.g.,
144A.472). Click on the link and scroll to the noted subdivision for information about the specific
requirement(s). If you are working from a printed document you can search the statute reference at the
Office of the Revisor of Statutes (https://www.revisor.mn.gov).

Instructions for Attachments
Some sections in this application require the applicant to submit attachments. Identify each attachment
in the upper right corner with the number or letter as indicated in the application and checklist.

You must submit policies and procedures as listed in the checklist at the end of this application. These
policies and procedures must be agency-specific and in compliance with Minnesota laws.

Keep a copy of the application and attachments for your records.

Submission
Mail the completed application (including all required documents and fees) to:

Minnesota Department of Health
Health Regulation Division

Home Care and Assisted Living Program
P.O. Box 3879

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-3879

Completed applications for changes of ownership must be received in our office at least 60 days prior to
acquiring ownership of or a controlling interest in a home care provider business.

Acknowledgement of Application Received
MDH will acknowledge receipt of the application in an email to the applicant and will indicate if
additional information is needed. Incomplete or deficient applications may be rejected.

Review Process

As part of the review process, additional information may be requested. Answer all questions
completely and accurately to avoid unnecessary delay. The department has 60 days from the date a
completed application is received to issue or deny the license. Application materials will not be returned
to applicants. License application fees are non-refundable.

Questions?
Contact Health.homecare@state.mn.us or 651-201-5273.
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m—- % DEPARTMENT
| OF HEALTH
Application for Change of Ownership

COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Current Licensee Information

Name of existing licensee:

Existing licensee’s health facility ID: Federal tax ID:

Proposed effective date for change of ownership:

Applicant Information

If you are using a home address for your business, please let the post office know the name of your
business to ensure mail delivery.

Assumed Name / “Doing Business As” Name (DBA):

Physical Address:

City: State: Zip:
County:
Telephone: Fax:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip:

Website (if applicable):

Office physically located within: ] Commercial Business Building
] Private Home/Residence
[ Other Licensed Facility or Provider
] Other:

Office Hours

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday

Agent

A home care provider must designate one agent who is authorized to receive all notices and orders
(including license renewal information, survey and complaint investigation results). This information
will be mailed and/or emailed to the mailing address or email address provided. Applicants must provide
an email address.
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APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Agent: Title:

Telephone: Email:

Provide the name and contact information of the individual to contact for questions regarding this
application:

[ Check box if same as above (and add fax number)

Name: Email:

Telephone: Fax:

Current Licensee Services

Has the current licensee provided home care services in the past 12 months?

[] Yes [J No Ifyes, provide the last date of service:

Payment Sources

List sources of income from the provision of licensed home care services by the current licensee: (check
all that apply)

Private Pay
Private Insurance

Medical Assistance/Medicaid (Waiver money)
Medicare

Veterans Administration

Long Term Care Insurance

Other (specify)

Oooooon

Current Clients

How many clients are being served by the current licensee? List the number of clients by age range.
Under 22 years of age

22 — 45 years of age

46 — 65 years of age

66 — 84 years of age

85 + years of age

Medicare Certification

Is the current licensee a Medicare-certified home health agency (HHA)? [ Yes [J No

If yes, insert the Medicare number:
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APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Description of Other Licenses

Other Licenses and/or Enrollment

License/Enrollment Yes | No | Pending | License # or other ID

Family adult foster care

Corporate adult foster care

Adult day care

245D home and community-based services

Personal care assistance provider

Other Minnesota home care license(s)

Other

Does applicant hold home health-related licenses from other states? L] Yes ] No
If yes, complete the information below. Add more pages if necessary.

State License type License #

Has any owner or managerial official of this applicant ever had a license revoked by the Minnesota
Department of Health, the Minnesota Department of Human Services, or any state agency in any state
or jurisdiction? If yes, attach an addendum explaining the reason for the revocation.

1 Yes ] No

Has any owner or managerial official of this applicant ever had a temporary license or license denied,
either at the application stage or on initial full survey, by the Minnesota Department of Health, the
Minnesota Department of Human Services, or any state agency in any state or jurisdiction? If yes, attach
an addendum explaining how the home care provider will manage the business differently if this change
of ownership license is granted.

1 Yes ] No

Service Locations

Will you serve clients in housing with services (HWS) establishments? [ Yes [ No

Minnesota Statutes 144D Housing with Services Establishment
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144d)

List all HWS establishments (facility names and addresses) where you will serve clients. Check either
“pending” or “active” to indicate if a HWS registration is active or if the application has been made and is
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APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

pending for this location. If you have the HWS health facility identification number (HFID), enter it in the
space provided. If you do not have the HFID, leave that box blank. Attach separate page if needed.

pending |Active |HWS HFID |Facility Name Address

Will you serve clients who do not live in a HWS establishment? O Yes ] No

Other Office Locations
If you have additional office locations, list them here.

Address Telephone

Counties Served

List the counties where you intend to provide services. Do not list the counties where you do not intend
to provide services:

Home Care Services
For each licensed home care service you will provide, enter 1, 2 or 3 in the left column per the
instructions below. (144A.471, Subd. 2)

"1" — provide the service directly by the licensee or licensee’s employees
"2” — provide the service by contract with another licensed provider
"3" — provide the service both directly by the licensee or licensee’s employees and by contract

Enter # | Comprehensive Home Care Services

Advanced practice nurse services

Registered nurse services

Licensed practical nurse services

Physical therapy services

Occupational therapy services
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APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Enter # | Comprehensive Home Care Services

Speech-language pathologist services

Respiratory therapy services

Social worker services

Dietician or nutritionist services

Medication management services*

Delegation of tasks to unlicensed personnel*

Hands-on assistance with transfers and mobility

Treatment and therapies

Eating assistance for clients with complicating eating problems (i.e. difficulty swallowing, recurrent lung
aspirations, or requiring the use of a tube, parenteral or intravenous instruments)

Complex or specialty healthcare services**
Describe:

Enter # | Basic Home Care Services

Assistance with dressing, self-feeding, oral hygiene, hair care, grooming, toileting, and bathing

Standby assistance within arm’s reach for safety while performing daily activities

Verbal or visual reminders to take regularly scheduled medication (includes bringing clients previously
set-up medication, medication in original containers, or liquid or food to accompany the medication)

Verbal or visual reminders to the client to perform regularly scheduled treatments and exercises

Preparing modified diets ordered by a licensed health professional

Enter # Home Management Services

Shopping

Housekeeping/other household chores

Meal preparation

*To consider medication management services and delegation of tasks to unlicensed personnel as services provided directly,
the RN (or the licensed health professional, in the case of non-nursing delegated tasks) must be a direct employee of the
licensee.

**Refer to the frequently asked questions on the website for clarification:
Frequently Asked Questions for Providers of Home Care and Assisted Living Services
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/homecare/providers/fag.html)

Registered Nurse/Other Licensed Health Professional

Name: License #:
Address:

City: State: Zip:
Phone #: Email:

Does this RN/LHP work for other home care providers? []Yes [ No Ifyes, how many?

August 20 6



APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Ownership Information

State law requires that all applicants for home care licensure disclose the names, email and mailing
addresses and telephone numbers of all owners and managerial officials, regardless of the nature of the
entity applying for licensure. The purpose of this section is to collect information about the person(s)
and/or entity responsible for the operation of this home care provider.

Business entities: List the name of the legal entity if you have formed a business. Generally, this means
you are operating as a business corporation, nonprofit corporation, limited liability company,
partnership or government entity. Print the full legal entity name as it appears on file with the
Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State. Do not abbreviate.

Individuals: List the name of the individual if you are operating as a sole proprietorship. This means that
the business is owned and operated by an individual and there is no distinction between the owner and
the business. Sole proprietorships must still register with the Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State
to use an assumed name (or “doing business as” or DBA name), may have employees and may obtain a
federal tax ID from the Internal Revenue Service.

Note: The applicant/licensee must provide at least one home care service directly, meaning this service
is either provided by the individual listed below (sole proprietorships) or the service is provided by an
employee(s) of the legal entity/sole proprietor below. Services provided by contract are not direct
services. Refer to 144A.471, Subd. 2 for information on "Determination of direct home care service."

Print the full legal entity name as it appears on file with the Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State.
Do not abbreviate. In the case of a sole proprietorship, print the full legal name of the owner.

Legal Name:

Federal Tax ID #: State Tax ID #:

Parent Company

Is the applicant a subsidiary of another organization? If yes, provide the information requested below:

Parent Organization Name:

Parent Organization Federal Tax ID:

Parent Organization Address:

City/State/Zip:

Ownership Type

Select the owner type that applies to this application.

1 Sole Proprietorship [ State

[ For-Profit Corporation 1 County

1 Nonprofit Corporation 1 City

1 For-Profit Limited Liability Company [ Tribal

1 Nonprofit Limited Liability Company 1 Church

1 Partnership 1 Health District or Authority
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According to the ownership type selection above, submit the documents listed below. Identify each
attachment (in the upper right corner) with the letter indicated.

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP
A: Copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name (if applicable).

FOR-PROFIT CORPORATION

A: Copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name (if applicable).

B: Copy of the certificate of incorporation.

C: Complete list of all board members, officers, and principal stockholders indicating position or title of
each and the number of shares of stock to be owned by each.

D: Brief description of the organization structure of the agency, including a table of organization and
relationship to any existing parent entity (if applicable).

NONPROFIT CORPORATION

A: Copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name (if applicable).

B: Copy of the certificate of incorporation.

C: Complete list of all board members, officers and members indicating position or title of each and a
brief description of the membership interests, if applicable.

D: Brief description of the organization structure of the agency, including a table of organization and
relationship to any existing parent entity (if applicable).

LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY (For-profit or Nonprofit)

A: Copy of a certificate of doing business under an assumed name (if applicable).

B: Copy of the most current articles of organization.

C: Complete list of all board members, managers (including Chief Manager), and members (owners)
indicating position or title of each and the percent of ownership of each member.

D: If the LLC will be managed by managers who are not members, a copy of the existing management
agreement between the LLC and the manager.

E: Brief description of the organization structure of the agency, including a table of organization and
relationship to any existing parent entity (if applicable).

PARTNERSHIP

Copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name (if applicable).

Specification of type of partnership.

Complete list of partners.

Copy of the partnership agreement.

Brief description of the organization structure of the agency, including a table of organization and
relationship to any existing parent entity (if applicable).

moow>

GOVERNMENT SUBDIVISION/TRIBAL
A: Copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name (if applicable).
B: Brief description of the organization structure of the agency.

CHURCH/HEALTH DISCTRICT OR AUTHORITY

A: Copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name (if applicable).
B: Brief description of the organization structure of the agency.
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APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Ownership Interests

On this page, provide the full legal name, title, address, phone number, and email address for all
officers, directors, partners and owners of the applicant listed above. Include the percent of ownership
or interest. Indicate if the individual will have direct contact with home care clients. Copy this page if
additional space is needed.

Owners are individuals whose ownership interest provides sufficient authority or control to affect or
change decisions related to the operation of the home care provider. An owner includes a sole
proprietor, a general partner, or any other individual whose individual ownership interest can affect the
management and direction of the policies of the home care provider. An individual who has less than 5%
of equity interest or voting stock is not considered an “owner” for purposes of this section. (144A.43,
Subd. 17; 144A.476, Subd. 1(b))

Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:
Owner/Member: % of ownership Will this individual provide direct contact? [] Yes [] No
Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:
Owner/Member: % of ownership Will this individual provide direct contact? [ Yes [ No
Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:
Owner/Member: % of ownership Will this individual provide direct contact? [ Yes [ No
Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:

Owner/Member: % of ownership Will this individual provide direct contact? [1 Yes [1 No
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APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Managerial Officials

"Managerial official" means an administrator, director, officer, trustee, or employee of a home care
provider, however designated, who has the authority to establish or control business policy.

Provide the name, title, address, phone number, and email address for all managerial officials. Indicate
whether the individual will have direct contact with home care clients. You do not need to list owners

who are already listed above. Attach an additional sheet if necessary.

Managerial official in charge of day-to-day operations (144A.472, Subd. 1 (11))

Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:

Will this individual provide direct contact? [1 Yes [1 No

Type: OO Administrator [ Director I Officer O Trustee
Additional managerial officials

Legal Name: Title:

[ Other or Employee

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:

Will this individual provide direct contact? [0 Yes [1 No

Type: O Administrator [ Director [ Officer O Trustee

[ Other or Employee

Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:

Will this individual provide direct contact? [0 Yes [1 No

Type: O Administrator [ Director O Officer O Trustee

[ Other or Employee

Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:

Will this individual provide direct contact? 1 Yes [1 No

August 20

10


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.472

APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP:
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Type: I Administrator [ Director [ Officer [ Trustee [ Other or Employee

Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:

Will this individual provide direct contact? [0 Yes [ No

Type: O Administrator [ Director [ Officer O Trustee [ Other or Employee

Management Companies

Will there be another legal entity providing management services for this home care provider? If so,
complete the following information:

Legal Name: Title:

Permanent Address (PO Box is not acceptable):

City/State/Zip:

Telephone: Email Address:

Submit a copy of the management agreement between the applicant and the entity providing
management services.

Background Studies

All owners, managerial officials and the named RN or other licensed health professional on home care
license applications must complete and pass background studies, as required by 144A.476, prior to MDH
issuing a temporary license or a change of ownership license. Background studies are conducted by the
Department of Human Services (DHS). Information about initiating background studies will be provided
to applicants when MDH confirms receipt of the application.

After MDH issues a temporary license or change of ownership license, providers must complete
background studies for all individuals seeking employment, paid or volunteer, as required by 144.057.
DHS will provide more information at that time.

Questions about background studies?

Contact DHS Background Studies (https://mn.gov/dhs/general-public/background-studies/providers/) or
651-431-6620.

Workers’ Compensation Insurance

State law requires that the commissioner of health withhold the license for the operation of a home
care provider until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’
compensation requirements. If the applicant has employees it must have active workers’
compensation insurance and the applicant must be listed as the insured entity. An application for
workers’ compensation insurance is not acceptable as evidence of coverage. You will not be issued a
license to operate as a home care provider unless acceptable evidence of compliance with 176.181 and
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176.182 is presented with this application or you meet an exception from coverage. Applicants can find
information on the Department of Labor website:

Workers' Compensation — Businesses
(https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation-businesses)

Check the type of evidence of coverage that is included with this application.

1 Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance Coverage
This document is supplied by an authorized workers’ compensation carrier pursuant to Minnesota
Statute 60A.06, Subd. 1(5b). The insurance must be in effect prior to the issuance of a license.

[0 Self-Insured Workers’ Compensation (Including Attachment “A”)
This type of coverage is generally held by large organizations. The certificate is issued from the
commissioner of commerce permitting an organization to self-insure pursuant to Minnesota
Statute 79A and Minnesota Rules Chapter 2780. Questions regarding self-insurance should be
directed to:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
https://mn.gov/commerce/industries/insurance/licensing/self-insurance/.

[1 Self-Insured as a Government Entity
Written confirmation from your third party administrator or evidence of coverage from the
Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Association (WCRA) allowing you to self-insure as a
government entity/political subdivision pursuant to Minnesota Statute 176.181, Subd. 2. The
reinsurance certificate must be renewed annually on a calendar year basis.

[0 1do not have employees
This option is only applicable if the home care provider does not have employees. "Employee" is
defined in Minnesota Statute 176.011, subd. 9.

If you do not plan to hire employees for your home care agency as of now, please confirm in

writing by submitting a definitive signed letter. This letter must include your address and state that
you are not planning to hire employees. If the situation changes and you hire employees, you agree
to contact MDH.

Fees

A fee must accompany all applications. An application without a fee is incomplete. Fees are
nonrefundable. If payment is rejected due to insufficient funds a $30.00 fee will apply. Make check
payable to “Minnesota Department of Health”.

Fee

Change of Ownership Comprehensive License Application — $4,200

Managerial Official Verification

Read the following statements, initial each, if true, and sign below.

| certify that | have read and understand the following Minnesota Statutes:

Home Care Statutes (https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/homecare/laws/index.html)

Housing with Services Establishment (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144d) (if applicable)
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Assisted Living Services (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144g) (if applicable)

Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/626.556)

Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable Adults (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/626.557)

Electronic Monitoring in Certain Facilities (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.6502) (if

applicable)

| understand that pursuant to Minnesota Statute 13.04 Rights of Subjects of Data, the
Commissioner will use information provided in this application, which may include an in-person or
telephone conference, to determine if the applicant meets Minnesota Statute sections 144A.43
through 144A.484 requirements for home care licensing. | understand | am not legally required to
supply the requested information; however, failure to provide information or the submission of false or
misleading information may delay the processing of my application or may be grounds for denying a
temporary license or license. | understand that information submitted to the commissioner in this
licensing application may, in some circumstances, be disclosed to the appropriate state, federal or local
agency and law enforcement office to enhance investigative or enforcement efforts or further a public
health protective process. Types of offices include Adult Protective Services, offices of the ombudsmen,
health-licensing boards, Department of Human Services, county or city attorneys’ offices, police, local
or county public health offices.

| understand that in accordance with Minnesota Statute 144.051 Data Relating to Licensed and
Registered Persons, all data submitted on this application shall be classified as public information upon
issuance of a temporary license or license. All data submitted are considered private until a temporary
license or license is issued.

| declare that, as the managerial official in charge of day-to-day operations of this business, | have
examined this application and all attachments, and checked the above boxes indicating my review and
understanding Minnesota Statutes and requirements related to home care. To the best of my
knowledge and belief, this information is true, correct and complete. | will notify MDH, in writing, of
any changes to this information as required.

Name (print or type): Date:

Signature: Title:

Application Checklist

Applicants must complete this checklist and include it with their application, along with the fee and
attachments, including all policies and procedures outlined below. Label each attachment (in the upper
right corner) with the number or letter as indicated below.

Fees

L1 Include a check or money order payable to “Minnesota Department of Health”. Starter or counter
checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable.

o Change of ownership comprehensive license application fee - $4,200

Workers’ Compensation Insurance

[1 Attachment #1 — Include evidence of workers’ compensation insurance coverage.
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Policies and Procedures

Attach the following agency-specific policies and procedures (144A.472). See information on the
website:

O

O

([

O 0O oood

Attachment #2 — Requirements for reporting of maltreatment of minors (626.556) and reporting of
maltreatment of vulnerable adults (626.557).

Attachment #3 — Requirements for instructors, training content and competency evaluations
(144A.4795, subd. 7).

Attachment #4 — Training, orientation and competency evaluations of home care staff (144A.4795;
144A.4796).

Attachment #5 — Complaint and investigation process (144A.4791, subd. 11).
Attachment #6 — Service plan implementation and revisions (144A.4791, subd. 9).
Attachment #7 — Home care client bill of rights (144A.44 and 144A.4791, subd. 1).

Attachment #8 — Tuberculosis prevention: control plan and risk assessment (144A.4798, subd. 1).
Attachment #9 — Comprehensive assessment, monitoring and reassessment (144A.4791, subd. 8).

Attachment #10 — Supervision of unlicensed personnel performing delegated home care tasks
(144A.4797).

Other Documents

O

(I I

O

Attachment #11 — If you have liability insurance, include evidence of this coverage.
Attachment #12 — Federal tax identification number (FEIN) documentation (IRS form SS-4)
Attachment #13 — Bill of sale or transfer of ownership documents (for CHOWSs, when available)
Attachments A-E — (as applicable) from Ownership section

Check this box if you are also submitting a housing with services application. Do not attach your
HWS application here.

Submit a copy of the management agreement between the applicant and the entity providing
management services (if applicable).

Home Care and Assisted Living Program

Health Regulation Division

P.O. Box 3879

St. Paul, MN 55101

Phone 651-201-5273 | Fax 651-215-9697

Home Care and Assisted Living (https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/homecare/index.html)
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