DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Closure Form

FOR BASIC OR COMPREHENSIVE HOME CARE LICENSE

Complete the information requested below and submit to the department as soon as possible or at least 60 days prior to closing a license.

Before completing this form, read the following statutes to understand the requirements for closing a license and discontinuing services to clients:

- 144A.44 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.44)
- 144A.4791, Subd. 10 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.4791)
- 144A.4794, Subd. 4 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.4794)

Closing License Information

Lic	ensee's Leg	gal Name:						
Licensee's Doing Business As (DBA) Name:								
Health Facility ID (HFID – 5 digit #):								
Tax FEIN for Licensee:								
Business Address:								
City, State, & Zip:								
Telephone Number: Fax Number:								
Authorized Agent Name:								
Email Address:								
Is this licensee currently providing licensed home care services?								
	Yes	If yes, to how many clients?						
	No	If no, date services ended:						
Enter the names of providers with whom you are coordinating the transfer of care:								
ls t	the licensee	e Medicare certified?						
	Yes 🗆 No							
Eff	Effective date of closure:							

Reason for closure (check all that apply)

- □ No clients
- □ Staffing issues/hard to find staff
- □ Low reimbursement rates
- Other:

Intent for license (check one)

- □ Close and terminate services for all home care clients
- □ Close and provide services under another license
- □ Sell business to another provider (see below)
- Other:_____

If selling business to another provider, contact the Minnesota Department of Health regarding a change of ownership (CHOW). Home care licenses cannot be sold or transferred to another party. Before acquiring ownership of a home care business, a prospective provider must apply for a new license per <u>MN Statute</u> <u>144A.472 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.472)</u>. MDH has 60 days to process the application once it is complete.

An application is considered incomplete until all documents are received and verified, and required background studies are passed. If you are anticipating a CHOW, contact MDH as soon as possible at 651-201-4200 or <u>health.homecare@state.mn.us</u> to ensure all required steps are completed.

If Closing License and Terminating Home Care Services

Forwarding Street Address:					
orwarding City, State, & Zip:					
orwarding Phone Number:					
orwarding Email Address:					

If Closing License to Provide Services Under Another Home Care License

HFID # of license under which you will now provider services:_____

Licensee name under which you will now provide services:

Tax FEIN for licensee under which you will now provider services:

Does the other licensee have Medicare certification?

🗆 Yes 🛛 No

Information Regarding Notice to Clients

Minnesota statute <u>MN Statute 144A.44 Subd. 10 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.44)</u> requires that you notify your clients and coordinate transfer of care when closing a license, continuing care under a different license, or changing ownership. The notice must be in writing and contain:

- The effective date of termination;
- The reason for termination;
- A list of known licensed home care providers in the client's immediate geographic area;
- A statement that the home care provider will participate in a coordinated transfer of care of the client to another home care provider, health care provider, or caregiver, as required by the <u>home care bill of rights</u> (<u>https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/billofrights/index.html#hcp</u>); and
- The name and contact information of a person employed by the home care provider with whom the client may discuss the notice of termination.

Date notice was sent to clients:

Other Requirements

When closing an assisted living license, the licensee must notify:

- Commissioner of Health at <u>health.homecare@state.mn.us</u> (by submitting this form and required attachments)
- Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care at OOLTC Contact Us (https://mn.gov/ooltc/contactus/)
- Lead agencies, which may include:
 - Department of Human Services (if you are a DHS-enrolled provider)
 - Tribal Reservations or Counties where you are serving residents. <u>Minnesota Tribal and County</u> <u>Directory (https:\mn.gov\dhs\people-we-serve\adults\healthcare\health-care-programs\contact-us\county-tribal-offices.jsp)</u>
 - Managed Care Organizations:
 - <u>Special Needs BasicCare (SNBC) (https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/people-with-disabilities/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/snbc.jsp)</u>
 - <u>MN Senior Health Options (MSHO) (https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/seniors/health-care/health-care-programs/contact-us/msho-contacts.jsp)</u>

You must keep client records for at least five years following closure of a home care license. <u>144A.4794, Subd.</u> <u>5 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.4794)</u>

If there are fines assessed against the licensee, the licensee is still responsible for paying the fines. <u>144A.474</u>, <u>Subd. 11 (g) (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.474)</u>

Employee records must be retained for three years after closure of the license. <u>144A.479</u>, <u>Subd. 7 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.479</u>)</u>

Verification

To the best of my knowledge, I certify that the information provided on this form is accurate and complete.

Title:	Owi	vner [Authorized Agent	Managerial Official				
Owner/Authorized Agent/Managerial Official Printed Name:								
Owner/Authorized Agent/Managerial Official Signature:								
Date:								

Submit the Following Documents to MDH

- □ Completed Closure Form
- □ A copy of the letter you sent to clients informing them of your intent to stop services

Return All Required Documents via Email to

health.homecare@state.mn.us

Questions?

- Email: <u>health.homecare@state.mn.us</u>
- Call: (651) 201-4200

Minnesota Department of Health Health Regulation Division | State LCR PO Box 3879 St. Paul, MN 55101-3879 651-201-4200 www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/homecare

08/01/2023

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4200.