
   

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
Division of Compliance Monitoring 

P.O. Box 64900 
St. Paul, Minnesota   55164-0900 

 
HOSPITAL REQUEST FOR APPROVAL OF A LICENSE 

CONDITION FOR SWING BEDS 
 

In order to receive approval of a license condition for swing beds pursuant to Minnesota Statute 144.562, 
 
Subdivision 3, the     agrees: 
 (Name of Hospital) 
 

1. To report to the Commissioner of Health by December 1, 1985 and annually thereafter, on forms 
provided by the Commissioner, the number of patients readmitted to a swing bed within 60 days 
of a patient’s discharge from the facility, the hospital’s charges for care in a swing bed during the 
reporting period with a description of the care provided for the rate charged, and the number of 
beds used by the hospital for transitional care and similar sub-acute inpatient care. 

 
2. To report statistical data on the utilization of the swing beds on forms provided by the 

Commissioner. 
 

ITEMS 3 AND 4 DO NOT APPLY TO CRITICAL ACCESS HOSPITALS THAT HAVE AN 
ATTACHED NURSING HOME OR THAT OWN A NURSING HOME IN THE SAME 
MUNICIPALITY PER MINNESOTA STATUTE § 144.562, SUBD. 2 (B) AS AMENDED BY 
THE 2005 LEGISLATURE. 

 
3. To limit the length of stay of a patient receiving services in a swing bed to not more than 40 days, 

or the duration of Medicare eligibility.  (The Commissioner of Health may approve a greater 
length of stay in an emergency situation.) 

 
4. To limit admission to a swing bed only to patients who have been hospitalized and not yet 

discharged from the facility, or patients who are transferred directly from an acute care hospital. 
 
 
 

Name of Authorized Representative (Typed) 
 
 

Title 

Signature 
 
 

Date 
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