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2020 Application for a
License to Operate a Supervised Living Facility

In accordance with Minnesota Statute §13.41, ALL DATA SUBMITTED ON THIS APPLICATION SHALL BE
CLASSIFIED PUBLIC INFORMATION.

Answer all questions completely and accurately to avoid unnecessary delay. The application shall be
returned to the address noted below no later than December 31, 2019.

Minnesota Department of Health
Health Regulation Division

PO Box 64900

St. Paul, MN 55164-0900

The undersigned hereby makes application to operate a Supervised Living Facility subject to the
provisions of Minnesota Statutes Section 144.50-144.58, and the rules adopted thereunder.

Type of Application (check one)

OlInitial License [lLicense Renewal [IChange of Ownership*

*If a change of ownership application, proposed effective date:

A.ldentification
1. Please correct name and address ifincorrect:

a. Name

b. Street

c. City/Zip

Telephone number Fax number

Name of county in which facility is located

Name of administrator

vk N

Administrator’s email address




APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE A SUPERVISED LIVING FACILITY

B. Ownership

1. Fill in the code that corresponds to the type of entity legally responsible for operating
the facility.

Ownership Code

GOVERNMENTAL NONGOVERNMENTAL NONGOVERNMENTAL

NONFEDERAL NONPROFIT FOR PROFIT
11. State 20. Church-related 23. Individual 27. Tribal
12. County 21. Nonprofit 24. Partnership

Corporation
13. City 25. Corporation
22. Other Nonprofit

14. City-County Ownership 26. Group
15. Hospital District or 28. Limited Liability

Authority Company

29. Business Trust

2. Give the name of the corporation, association, governmental unit, person or partners
legally responsible for the operation of this facility.

Federal ID # State Tax ID #

3. If a corporation, give the date and place of incorporation

4. President/Chairperson

C. Licensed Beds (A bed must be licensed if it is available for use
by patients or residents)
Insert the licensed bed capacity for determination of license fee.

Supervised Living Facility: Class A: Class B:




APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE A SUPERVISED LIVING FACILITY

D. Personnel

1. Name and title of person in charge in the absence of theadministrator

2. Give the name of the person in charge of each category:

a. Nursing Service

b. Dietary Service

c. Medical Records

E. Program Licensure Information
Type of Department of Human Services license(s) currently held:

[1Rule 32 (Detox) [JRule 34 (DD) [IRule 35 (CD) [1Rule 36 (MI)  [JRule 80 (PH)

F. Building Classification

Capability of residents for self-preservation in case of emergency

1. Number of residents physically and mentally capable of self-preservation/ __ / / /

2. Number of residents not mentally or physically capable of self-preservation/__/ / /




APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE A SUPERVISED LIVING FACILITY

Verification

The law requires that an application on behalf of a corporation, association or governmental unit shall
be made by any two officers thereof or by its managing agents. This requires two (2) signatures. All
other applications require one (1) signature.

The Applicant(s) state that the information contained on all parts of this application is complete and
accurate.

Signature Signature
Name Name
Date Date

Title or Position Title or Position

License Fees

Supervised Living Facility $183.00 base fee
plus $91.00 per bed

Make checks payable to "Minnesota Department of Health"

NOTE: If you have questions concerning this license application, please email MDH
at health.fpc-licensing@state.mn.us.



mailto:health.fpc-licensing@state.mn.us

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE A SUPERVISED LIVING FACILITY

Ownership Information Sheet

Legal Entity (same as Item B.2. on Page 2)

Name of Facility City

Zip Code County Date

This form must be completed by all supervised living facilities licensed by the Minnesota State
Department of Health. This requirement is applicable to facilities of all categories of ownership -
nonprofit corporation, city, county, district, state, proprietary, church, etc.

The requirement stems from Minnesota Rule 4665.0400, subp. 2 of the Department of Health
Supervised Living Facilities Rules.

Please provide the following information:

Full disclosure of each person having interest of ten (10) percent or more.

In case of corporate ownership*, the name and address of each officer and director.

If the home is organized as a partnership, the name and address of each partner.

If the home is operated by a lessee, the persons or business entities having an interest in the
lessee organization and an executed copy of the lease agreement furnished.

5. If the home is operated by the holder of a franchise, disclosure of the franchise holder with an
executed copy of the franchise agreement.

PwnNPRE

. . Title % of Ownership (if
Name of Officers, Directors and Address

(President, Director, . . proprietary, for
Owners (Street, City, Zip) .
Partner, Stockholder, etc.) profit)

*A licensee that is a corporation should submit with this application a copy of the Articles of
Incorporation or governing body bylaws to the Department of Health. Please note that any
amendments to either the Articles of Incorporation or the governing body bylaws are to be submitted
to this department as they occur.



APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE A SUPERVISED LIVING FACILITY

Evidence of Compliance with Workers’ Compensation
Coverage Provisions

State law requires that the Commissioner of Health shall withhold the license for the
operation of a health care provider until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of
compliance with workers’ compensation coverage provisions.

One of the following documents must accompany this application. Please check which
document is attached.

1. Certificate of Insurance supplied by an authorized Workers’ Compensation carrier
pursuant to Minn. Statute 60A.06, Subd. 1(5b). The Certificate should include the
name of the licensee, the name of the corporation legally responsible for the licensee,
or the name that the licensee is doing business as. The Certificate of Insurance must
be in effect prior to the issuance of an initial license or have an effective date on or
after the effective date of a renewal license.

2. “Certificate of Exemption” from the Commissioner of Commerce permitting an
organization to self-insure pursuant to Minn. Statute 79A and Minn. Rules Chapter
2780. The Certificate of Exemption is available to privately owned or publicly held
companies and groups. The Certificate of Exemption must be renewed every five
years. Questions regarding the Certificate of Exemption should be directed to the
Minnesota Department of Commerce at 651-296-4026. For multiple providers
merged under one group, please include Attachment A with the Certificate of
Exemption.

3. Written confirmation from your Third Part Administrator or evidence of coverage from
the Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Association (WCRA) allowing you to self-
insure as a Government Entity/Political Subdivision pursuant to Minn. Statute
176.81,Subd. 2. The Reinsurance Certificate must be renewed annually on a calendar
year basis.

You cannot be issued a license and may not operate as a health care provider unless
acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation coverage provisions
is provided.

Minnesota Department of Health
Heath Regulation Division

P.O. Box 64900

St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900
651-201-4101
www.health.state.mn.us

10/19- FPC928 SLF

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4101.
6


http://www.health.state.mn.us/
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