Allied Health Care Faculty - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Minnesota Allied Health Care Faculty Loan Forgiveness Guidelines


Application materials: The Minnesota Health Care Loan Forgiveness program cycle is now CLOSED and will re–open again for new applications on November 1, 2021.

Program administrator: Angela Lofgren, 651–201–3854, angela.lofgren@state.mn.us
Eligible professionals: Individuals teaching in allied health care or advanced nursing
Minimum service obligation: Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum as postsecondary faculty
Annual repayment amount: $11,000
The purpose of Minnesota´s Loan Forgiveness program is to recruit and retain health care professionals and educators to needed areas and facilities in Minnesota. Loan forgiveness is an important benefit for health care professionals and educators as well as health care facilities and communities experiencing a shortage of access to primary health care services.
The Office of Rural Health and Primary Care (ORHPC), Minnesota Department of Health administers this program. It is funded by the State of Minnesota. Program eligibility requirements and benefits are established by state statute, 144.1501 authorizing the health professional education loan forgiveness program.

This program is offered to students studying to become allied health instructors, who plan to teach in the allied health field in a postsecondary program in Minnesota. A prospective participant must submit an application to ORHPC during the open application cycle while completing a masters or doctoral program.

The Allied Faculty Loan Forgiveness Program provides funds for repayment of Qualified Educational Loans. Qualified Educational Loans include government, commercial, and foundation loans for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education and living expenses related to the past graduate or undergraduate education of the allied health educator.  Credit card debt or loans from family members do not qualify. Parent PLUS loans do not qualify.

Loans in current or active default are NOT eligible for forgiveness in this program, even if considered in good standing with the collections agency. Previously defaulted loans that have since been completely rehabilitated and are not currently in active default status are eligible.

This is a competitive selection process. Selections are made based on suitability for practice as indicated by personal and professional experience and training noted on an application, as well as preference given to those closest to completing their training. Preference will be given to applicants who document diverse cultural competencies. The number of applicants ORHPC may select for participation varies annually and is contingent upon state funding.
Participants are required to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year (including prep time), in an allied health care program in Minnesota for a minimum of three years.

Participants must begin their service obligation under this program no later than March 31 following completion of their master’s or doctoral program. Participants must complete their master’s or doctoral program as originally stated in their application.

Participants are eligible to participate for up to four years of loan forgiveness during which they teach at least twelve credit hours, or 720 hours per year (including prep time) as allied health faculty in a postsecondary program. The ORHPC will make an annual payment to the participant in the amount of $11,000, not to exceed $44,000 total for the maximum four–year period or the balance of the designated loan(s), whichever is less subject to the availability of funds appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature for the loan forgiveness program.

 

Updated Thursday, 21-Jan-2021 23:56:37 CST