News release: Minnesota public health advocates honored for leadership, impact and service

News Release
October 11, 2018

Contact information

Minnesota public health advocates honored for leadership, impact and service

Awards announced last night at Community Health Conference in Brainerd

Minnesota’s public health community honored five people and three groups for outstanding contributions to public health in Minnesota at a Wednesday night awards ceremony held in conjunction with the annual Community Health Conference in the Brainerd area.

Minnesota Commissioner of Health Jan Malcolm praised the recipients for their service to their communities as well as their work to improve health and reduce health inequities.

“We are fortunate in Minnesota to have so many talented and dedicated people working to protect, maintain and improve our health,” Commissioner Malcolm said. “These awards recognize our public health professionals, elected officials, and volunteers for the many ways they help make Minnesota’s residents and communities healthier.”

The 2018 Community Health Award recipients include:

  • Daniel Huff, director, Environmental Health, Minneapolis Department of Health, Minneapolis (Jim Parker Leadership Award)
  • Terry Ristinen, epidemiologist, Minnesota Department of Health, Bemidji (Jack Korlath Partnership Award)
  • Sandy Tubbs, Director, Horizon Public Health, Alexandria (Commissioner's Award for Distinguished Service in Community Health Services)
  • Dr. Jokho Farah, director of quality and population health, People’s Center Clinic, Minneapolis (Lou Fuller Award for Distinguished Service in Eliminating Health Disparities)
  • Rose Jost, Richfield Advisory Board of Health, Richfield (Award for Outstanding Dedication to Local Public Health)
  • Meeker-McLeod-Sibley Healthy Communities Leadership Team (Certificate of Recognition)
  • Metro-Area Environmental Health Partners - Super Bowl Food Defense and Food Safety operation (Certificate of Recognition)
  • Minneapolis Health Department and Youth Tobacco Prevention Community Partners (Certificate of Recognition)

More information is available online at Community Health Awards.


Media inquiries:

Scott Smith
MDH Communications