“How much does medical cannabis cost?”

At this time, insurance companies do not cover the
cost of medical cannabis. Consequently, all
patients who participate in the program are
responsible for these costs:

ANNUAL REGISTRATION FEE is $200 that will be
reduced to $50 if you receive Social Security
Disability (SSD) benefits, Supplemental Security
Income (SSI) or Railroad disability or participate in
Medicaid or MinnesotaCare.

MEDICAL CANNABIS PRODUCT COST is paid
directly to the manufacturers that operate the
Cannabis Patient Center each time you, your
parent/legal guardian or registered caregiver
return to purchase medical cannabis. The amount
of this fee will vary based on the type and amount
of medical cannabis purchased.

“Where are the Cannabis Patient Centers
located?"

Cannabis Patient Centers are located in
Minneapolis, St. Paul, Eagan, Bloomington,
Rochester, St. Cloud, Willmar, Moorhead, and
Hibbing. Please call ahead to verify hours of
operation. Visit mn.gov/medicalcannabis to find
the Cannabis Patient Center nearest you.
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FIND OUT MORE

For your convenience, program-related resources
including the latest legislative news, fact sheets, and
clinical research, are available on the OMC website,
mn.gov/medicalcannabis.

If you have additional questions, please call or e-mail
the Office of Medical Cannabis.

Minnesota Department of Health
Office of Medical Cannabis

P.O. Box 64882

St. Paul, MN 55164-0882

(651) 201-5598 Metro

(844) 879-3381 Non-metro
health.cannabis@state.mn.us
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Introducing the Minnesota

Medical Cannabis Program

When Governor Dayton signed the Medical Cannabis
Therapeutic Use Act into law in May 2014,

Minnesota became the 23rd state to legalize medical
cannabis.

The Minnesota Department of Health’s Office of
Medical Cannabis (OMC) oversees this legislation and
strives to help you, your child or the patient in your
care and other Minnesotans affected by these laws
understand related policies and processes.

Explore this publication and learn:

= If you qualify to be a patient in the Minnesota
Medical Cannabis Program

* What three steps you must take to participate
1. CERTIFY, 2. REGISTER, 3. PURCHASE

= How to obtain medical cannabis if you are a
qualified patient

= Where to find additional resources

“Do I quadlify for the program?”

If you are a Minnesota resident who suffers from
at least one of the following conditions that has

been certified by a health care practitioner who is
registered with the program, you may be eligible:

= Cancer!

= Glaucoma

= HIV/AIDS

= Tourette syndrome

= ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis)

= Inflammatory Bowel disease, including Crohn’s
disease

= Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy

= Severe and persistent muscle spasm, including
those characteristic of multiple sclerosis

= Terminal illness with a probable life expectancy of
less than one year?

= Intractable Pain

= Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
= Autism

= Obstructive Sleep Apnea

= Alzheimer's disease

= Chronic Pain (effective Aug. 2020)

1. Certify

Before you may register for the program, a doctor,
physician assistant or advanced practice registered
nurse must first certify your condition.

Schedule an appointment with your doctor,
physician assistant or advanced practice registered
nurse. These are the only health care practitioners
authorized to certify your condition.

Keep in mind: The OMC does not maintain a list of
preferred practitioners. It is your responsibility to
meet with a qualified health care practitioner.

Go to the OMC website and print the Patient E-mail
& Acknowledgement form. On the form you’ll need
to write in the e-mail address you'd like to use to
receive private messages about your health. If you
do not already have a non-employer based e-mail
address, consider setting up a personal e-mail
account before your appointment.

Bring the Patient E-mail & Acknowledgement form
along with you to your appointment and give it to
your health care practitioner.

During your visit, ask your practitioner for

an appointment summary and a list of the
medications that are currently prescribed to you.
Take these documents with you when you go pick
up your medical cannabis.

110 qualify for the program, your cancer, or its treatment, must be
accompanied by severe/chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia
or severe wasting. Or you must be diagnosed with a terminal iliness, with a life
expectancy of less than one year, if the iliness or treatment produces severe/
chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, cachexia or severe wasting.

After your health care practitioner certifies your
condition at your visit, you’ll receive an e-mail from
the OMC that contains:

= Confirmation of your condition being certified by
your health care practitioner.

= Your unique online registration link for the
Medical Cannabis Patient Registry.

2. Register

= Once you receive your certification e-mail, you
will be ready to register. Before you click on the
registration in your email, gather your:

= Government-issued ID: state ID, driver’s license or
passport

= If applicable, your government medical assistance
plan ID: Medicaid or MinnesotaCare, Railroad
disability, Social Security Disability (SSD) or
Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

= Camera or a camera-equipped mobile phone to
capture/scan images of your IDs

= Credit/debit card or check — the program’s
payment processor, U.S. Bank, accepts all of
the above methods of payment for the annual
registration fee

When your account has been approved, you’ll
be notified by e-mail. This can take up to 30
days.

3. Purchase

Congratulations! You are now officially registered
with the program. To purchase medical cannabis,
you will need to:

= Complete and submit a Patient
Self-Evaluation form

= Visit a Cannabis Patient Center

THE PATIENT SELF-EVALUATION FORM can be
accessed by logging in to your account on the
Medical Cannabis Patient Registry if you are over 18.

OR

if you have a caregiver registered with the program,
that caregiver can complete the form for you. Each
time you purchase medical cannabis, you must
complete a new Patient Self-Evaluation form.





