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Definitions 
Definition of “hemp” added; as “industrial hemp” is defined in §18K.02, subd. 3 Minn.Stat. §152.22, subd. 

5a 
Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §78 

  
Definition of “hemp grower” added; must be licensed under Chapter 18K 

Minn.Stat. §152.22, subd. 
5b 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §79 

Definition of “medical cannabis” is amended to include hemp purchased by manufacturer  
 

Minn.Stat. §152.22, subd. 
6(b) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §80 

Patients 
The maximum patient supply of medical cannabis is increased from a 30-day to a 
90-day supply. 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
3(c)(6) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §95 

Standard for when a patient needs a caregiver was changed: 
• Old language:  if “the patient is unable to self-administer medication or 

acquire medical cannabis from” a distribution facility 
• New language:  if “the patient requires assistance in administering medical 

cannabis or obtaining medical cannabis from” a distribution facility 
 

Throughout Minn.Stat. 
§§152.22 – 152.37 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §§81, 87, 
88, 89, 92 

A patient may also register as a caregiver. 
 

Minn.Stat. §152.27, subd. 
4(c) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §89 

Requirement that a patient’s qualifying medical condition has to appear on the 
registry verification was removed 

Minn.Stat. §152.22, 
subd. 13 and §152.27, 
subd. 6(e) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §82 

Recertification examinations by a health care practitioner can be done via 
telemedicine (as defined in §62A.671, subd. 9 – requires real-time two-way, 
interactive audio and visual communications) 

Minn.Stat. §152.28, 
subd. 1(c) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, § 

Medical cannabis laws may be enforced under the Health Enforcement Consolidation Act 
(HECA) 

Minn.Stat. §§144.99 et 
seq. 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §37 

MN Clean Indoor Air Act amended definition of “smoking” so medical cannabis vaping may 
fall under MCIAA prohibitions/requirements 

Minn.Stat. §144.413, subd. 
4 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §25 

Caregivers 
A caregiver may also register as a patient. 
 

Minn.Stat. §152.27, subd. 
4(c) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §89 
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Minimum age for designated caregiver is lowered from 21 years to 18 years Minn.Stat. §152.22, subd. 
11; §152.27, subd. 4(a)(1) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §§81, 89 

Standard for when a patient needs a caregiver was changed: 
• Old language:  if “the patient is unable to self-administer medication or 

acquire medical cannabis from” a distribution facility 
• New language:  if “the patient requires assistance in administering medical 

cannabis or obtaining medical cannabis from” a distribution facility 
 

Throughout Minn.Stat. 
§§152.22 – 152.37 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §§81, 87, 
88, 89, 92 

In addition to Parents and Legal Guardians, a Spouse may register as caregiver without 
having to qualify as a designated caregiver 

Throughout Minn.Stat. 
§§152.22 – 152.37  

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §§82, 85, 
88, 90 – 92, 95, 98 – 100 

Designated caregiver background checks must be renewed every 2 years (previously there 
was no expiration) 

Minn.Stat. §152.27, subd. 
4(b) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §89 

Medical cannabis laws may be enforced under the Health Enforcement Consolidation Act 
(HECA) 

Minn.Stat. §§144.99 et 
seq. 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §37 

Health Care Practitioners 
Recertification examinations can be done via telemedicine (as defined in §62A.671, subd. 9 
– requires real-time two-way, interactive audio and visual communications). 

Minn.Stat. §152.28, subd. 
1(c) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §92 

Standard for a patient needing a caregiver was changed: 
• Old language:  if “the patient is unable to self-administer medication or acquire 

medical cannabis from” a distribution facility 
• New language:  if “the patient requires assistance in administering medical 

cannabis or obtaining medical cannabis from” a distribution facility 

Throughout Minn.Stat. 
§§152.22 – 152.37  

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §§81, 87, 
88, 89, 92 

Health Care Facilities          
Protections for employees of certain health care facilities to possess/administer medical 
cannabis in the course of job duties area extended to 
• hospice providers licensed under Chapter 144A 
• prevised living facilities licensed under § 144.50, and 
• other health facilities licensed by MDH 

Minn.Stat. §152.34(a) Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §101 

Medical Cannabis Manufacturers 
Distribution 
Each medical cannabis manufacturer shall operate 8 medical cannabis distribution facilities 
(an increase from 4)  

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
1(a) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §93 
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A medical cannabis manufacturer may sell medical cannabis produced by the other 
manufacturer  
 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
3(a) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §95 

The maximum supply of medical cannabis a manufacturer may distribute to a patient is 
increased from a 30-day supply to a 90-day supply 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
1(c)(6) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §95 

Hemp 
Manufacturer may purchase hemp from a hemp grower licensed under Chapter 18K to 
produce medical cannabis  

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
1(b) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §93 

Manufacturer must verify a hemp grower has a license under Chapter 18K before acquiring 
hemp from the hemp grower 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
1(m) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §93 

The same quality control, testing, security, and other requirements apply to medical 
cannabis made from hemp as traditional medical cannabis 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
1(b) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §93 

Transport 
A medical cannabis manufacturer may transport medical cannabis to the other 
manufacturer 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
3(a) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §95 

Medical cannabis manufacturers may transport hemp with only 1 employee (if transporting 
only hemp) 
 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
3(b) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §96 

A medical cannabis manufacturer must have operating documents that address procedures 
and security requirements for transporting hemp 

Minn.Stat. §152.29, subd. 
1(d)(3); §152.29, subd. 
1(e) 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §93 

General 
Medical cannabis laws may be enforced under the Health Enforcement Consolidation Act 
(HECA) 

Minn.Stat. §§144.99 et 
seq. 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §37 

Department of Health’s registration agreement with a medical cannabis manufacturer is 
non-transferable  

Minn.Stat. §152.25, 
subds. 1(a), 1a 

Laws of Minnesota 2019, 1st Spec. 
Sess., chap. 9, art. 11, §§83, 84, 

Medical cannabis manufacturers may subtract “business expenses” from total taxable 
income for state tax purposes. 

Minn.Stat. §290.0132, 
subd. 29, and 
§290.0134, subd. 19; 
both effective for tax 
years beginning after 
12/31/2018 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 6, 
Art. 2, §§ 13, 14 
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Third-party Testing Labs 
Approved third-party labs are authorized to test manufacturers’ medical cannabis produced 
from hemp 

Minn.Stat. §152.29. subd. 
1(c) 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §93 

MDH/OMC 
Department of Health’s registration agreement with a medical cannabis manufacturer is 
non-transferable 

Minn.Stat. §152.25, 
subds. 1(a), 1a 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §83, 84 

Medical cannabis laws may be enforced under the Health Enforcement Consolidation Act 
(HECA) 

Minn.Stat. 144.99 et seq. Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §37 

MDH will report to Task Force and legislature changes in  
• federal law or regulation regarding hemp, and  
• the supply and demand of hemp products that can be used for medicinal purposes 

Minn.Stat. §152.25, subd. 
4(a) 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §86 

Dept of Health is authorized to enter into a data sharing agreement with Dept of Agriculture 
to verify hemp grower licensing, inspection and compliance info 

Minn.Stat. §152.31(c) Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §97 

Health commissioner’s authority/process to add delivery methods/qualifying conditions is 
modified; she may add delivery methods and add or modify qualifying medical conditions 
upon petition from the public or Task Force using best available evidence and research. 

Minn.Stat. §152.27, subd. 
2(b) 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 6, 
Art. 2, §Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. 
Ch. 9, Art. 11, §87 

Dept of Health will establish a Cannabinoid Products Workgroup with the Departments of 
Commerce, Agriculture, and Public Safety and the Board of Pharmacy. Workgroup will 
report to the legislature by 1/15/20 how to regulate cannabinoid extract products, 
including: 

• Cultivating standards 
• Labeling requirements  
• Advertising/marketing restrictions 
• Health claims 
• Lab testing 
• Safety standards for edibles 
• Any other requirement the Commissioner deems necessary 

 

Not codified Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §110 

Medical Cannabis Task Force 
Task Force will receive reports from Dept of Health about changes to:  

• federal laws or regulations regarding hemp, and  
• the supply and demand of hemp products that can be used for medicinal purposes 

Minn.Stat. §152.25, subd. 
4(a) 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §86 

Task Force may petition the commissioner of health to add delivery method and add or 
modify a qualifying medical condition  

Minn.Stat. §152.27, subd. 
2(b) 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §87 
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Task Force will include hemp in program impact assessments Minn.Stat. §152.36, subd. 
2 

Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Ch. 9, 
Art. 11, §102 

Summary of Statutory Changes to §§ 152.22 – 152.37 
• Minn.Stat. §152.22 subd. 5a was added by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 78 

• Minn.Stat. §152.22 subd. 5b was added by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 79 

• Minn.Stat. §152.22 subd. 6 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 80 

• Minn.Stat. §152.22 subd. 11 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 81 

• Minn.Stat. §152.22 subd. 13 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 82 

• Minn.Stat. §152.25 subd. 1 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 83 

• Minn.Stat. §152.25 subd. 1a was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 84 

• Minn.Stat. §152.25 subd. 1c was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 85 

• Minn.Stat. §152.25 subd. 4 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 86 

• Minn.Stat. §152.27 subd. 2 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 87 

• Minn.Stat. §152.27 subd. 3 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 88 

• Minn.Stat. §152.27 subd. 4 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 89 

• Minn.Stat. §152.27 subd. 5 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 90 

• Minn.Stat. §152.27 subd. 6 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 91 

• Minn.Stat. §152.28 subd. 1 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 92 

• Minn.Stat. §152.29 subd. 1 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 93 

• Minn.Stat. §152.29 subd. 2 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 94 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.78.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.79.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.80.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.81.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.82.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.83.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.84.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.85.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.86.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.87.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.88.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.89.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.90.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.91.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.92.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.93.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.94.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
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• Minn.Stat. §152.29 subd. 3 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 95 

• Minn.Stat. §152.29 subd. 3a was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 96 

• Minn.Stat. §152.31 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 97 

• Minn.Stat. §152.32 subd. 2 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 98 

• Minn.Stat. §152.33 subd. 1 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 99 

• Minn.Stat. §152.33 subd. 2 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 100 

• Minn.Stat. §152.34 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 101 

• Minn.Stat. §152.36 subd. 2 was amended by Laws 2019, 1st Spec. Sess. Chapter 9, Article 11, Section 102 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.95.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.96.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.97.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.98.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.99.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.100.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.101.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2019/1/9/%5E(%3FPlaws.11.102.0%5B0-9%5C.a-zA-Z%5Cs/%5C/%5D+)$

