Amending a death record through the state registrar - Minnesota Department of Health

Requesting an amendment to a death record through the state registrar

To request an amendment to a death record through the state registrar:

  1. Complete an Application to Amend a Death Record through a Registrar (PDF) or a written request. The application or request must be notarized.

  2. Locate at least one document that supports the amendment and meets the requirements established in Minnesota Rules, part 4601.1100.
  3. It costs $40 to process an amendment request. The fee is due at the time of application and is nonrefundable. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226

  4. If you want a death certificate, complete the Death Certificate Application (PDF) and have your signature on the application notarized. The fee for a certified death certificate is $13.

  5. The Office of Vital Records does not have in-person service. Mail your supporting document(s), the notarized application(s), and the fee(s) to the Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health:

    Minnesota Department of Health
    Central Cashiering – Vital Records
    P.O. Box 64499
    St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0499

Updated Thursday, 31-Jan-2019 13:05:03 CST