Noncertified Copies of Death Records
A noncertified copy is a plain paper copy of a death record. It does not show an issue date or issuance location. Noncertified copies are for informational use only and cannot be used for legal purposes. If you need a certificate for legal use, please go to Death Certificates.
Our county vital records office webpage has contact information for all the counties in Minnesota. Check with a county office close to you for information about their services during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
Did you know that the U.S. Department of Homeland Security extended the REAL ID enforcement deadline to October 1, 2021? If you apply for your REAL ID, you must provide an identity document such as a certified copy of your birth certificate. Request your birth certificate now if you were born in Minnesota, and avoid the rush.
How long does it take to get a noncertified copy of a death record?As of September 29, 2020, the Office of Vital Records is mailing noncertified copies of death records from applications received on September 16, 2020.
Rush processing requests received as of September 28, 2020 for noncertified copies of death records have also been mailed.
Who can get a noncertified copy of a death record?
- Anyone can get a noncertified copy of a death record.
How do I get a noncertified copy of a death record?
- Read and complete the Noncertified Death Record Application Instructions (PDF) form.
- The fee is $13. If you order more than one copy, each additional copy of the same record is $6. Fees are non-refundable (Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226).
- If no death record can be found, you will receive a “Statement of No Death Record Found."
Where do I get a noncertified copy of a death record?
Check with a county vital records office in Minnesota for hours of service and whether mailed in applications are accepted. The Office of Vital Records (state office) does not have walk-in service.
For same day service: Visit a vital records office in any Minnesota county for records 1997-present. Pre-1997 records are available only in the county of death or from the Office of Vital Records.
Apply by fax or mail to the Office of Vital Records for records 1908-present.
Payment is accepted by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order and is deposited upon receipt.
- By fax. Fax your application to 651-201-5740. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the fax.
- By mail. Mail your application and check or money order to the address on the application; or, see the mailing address listed on the right side of this page.
The Office of Vital Records does not have walk-in service.
If you want a copy of a record for someone who died in another state, see the National Center for Health Statistics website for contact information.
If you have questions about applying for a noncertified copy of a death record, contact at email@example.com or 651-201-5970.
How are we doing?