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Funeral home access to death certificates
Authority to request 
Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, 
subdivision 7, paragraph (b) allows a 
licensed mortician to request death 
certificates on behalf of an eligible person 
within 180 days of the decedent’s time of 
death. 

In relation to the decedent, an eligible 
person is: 

▪ A child, spouse, parent, or sibling 

▪ A grandparent or grandchild 

▪ A personal representative, successor, or 
trustee to administer the decedent’s 
estate or trust 

▪ A person or entity who demonstrates 
that a certified vital record is necessary 
for the determination or protection of a 
personal or property right 

Request electronically 
A licensed mortician (or designee) may 
submit a request for death certificates 
through Minnesota Registration & 
Certification (MR&C). 

1. Locate the death record in MR&C. 

2. Select Request death certificate from 
the follow-on action dropdown list. 

3. Complete the online form and submit. 

After 180 days 
Licensed morticians and funeral home staff 
may help a decedent’s family order death 
certificates more than 180 days after the 
death. 

▪ Help the family choose the certificate 
that best meets their needs by 
explaining the difference between fact 
of death, cause of death, and VA 
certificates. 

▪ Advise on who is and is not eligible to 
request a death certificate. 

▪ Direct the family to a local vital records 
office so that they can get a certificate 
in person or by mail. 

Licensed morticians and funeral home staff 
may also: 

▪ Apply for certificates as a requester 
authorized by an eligible family 
member. The family member must sign 
a written statement that authorizes the 
licensed mortician to buy certificates on 
their behalf. The statement must 
include the decedent’s name and date 
of death, and the person’s relationship 
to the decedent. Submit the statement 
to an issuance office with the paper 
application. 

▪ Order certificates as a successor of the 
decedent under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 524.1-201 (52) and with a claim 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 
256B.15. 
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To obtain this information in a different format, call: 
651-201-5970. 
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