

Adopted Person's Request for Original Birth Record Information

Adopted people who are at least 19 years old and were born in Minnesota can use this form to request information from the birth record created at their birth.

The birth parents may each have signed an Affidavit of Disclosure or Non-Disclosure form to indicate whether they want the information from the original birth record released to the adopted person. You will receive a noncertified copy of your original birth record if we can release the information. If we cannot release the information, we will inform you. This request can only be fulfilled by the Office of Vital Records (Minnesota Department of Health); it's not available through county vital records offices.

If our office has no forms on file, we will refer your request to the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS). DHS will send your request to the proper adoption agency; that agency will contact you about their services and fees.

It's illegal to give false information to obtain a vital record, and it may subject you to fines, jail time, or both.

Suffix Suffix Suffix Suffix					
Suffix Suffix					
Suffix Suffix					
Suffix					
Suffix					
Suffix					
Suffix					
Suffix					
Suffix					
Suffix					
Suffix					
Adoption information IF KNOWN					
curred					
REQUIRED - Requester information and signature in front of notary public					
I certify that the information provided on this application is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge. Please print your name					
l					

ADOPTED PERSON'S REQUEST FOR ORIGINAL BIRTH RECORD

Requester Name:					
Fees and records request					
Noncertified copy of original birth record			\$13	\$13	
Shipping					
Regular first-class mail					
Express delivery (Check here \square to require a signature.)					
 The Office of Vital Records and the express delivery service are not responsible for deliveries that do not require a signature. Express delivery services will not deliver to PO boxes or APO addresses. For delivery outside the United States, you must supply a prepaid express delivery envelope with your application. 					
Total due	ue Fees are due with the application and are non-refundable.				
Payment method					
☐ Credit card MasterCard/VISA/Discover	Cardholder name		Valid thru (MM/YY)		
	Card number		3-digit code		
□ Check #		Make check or money order payable to Minnesota Department of Health. DO NOT SEND CASH. Checks			
☐ Money order#		returned for non-payment will result in a \$30 charge to you. You could also face civil penalties.			
Send your application and payment to:		Incomplete requests			
Minnesota Department of Health Office of Vital Records		The Office of Vital Records returns applications that are incomplete, not signed in front of a notary public, or not			
Mail: PO Box 64499, St. Paul, MN 55164-0499		paid in full at the time of application. Unresolved			
Fax: 866-416-1357 (credit card payments only)		requests will be closed 12 months after we receive them. Once a request is closed, customers must submit			
Courier/express delivery: 625 Robert St. N, St. Paul, MN 55155 (no vital-records counter service at this location)		a new request and pay the fee again to update the record and/or receive the vital records.			
If you have questions , contact the Office of Vital Records at health.vitalrecords@state.mn.us or 651-201-5970.					