
Death Certificate Application and Instructions 
The headings below match the sections on the Death Certificate Application found on pages 3 and 4. 

Information about the deceased person - used to locate the requested death record 
You must complete the required items in this section. If you know the other information, fill it in. Vital record 
offices use this information to locate the correct Minnesota death record.  

What kind of death certificate do you want? 
Select from the document types listed. If you do not select a specific death document, you will receive a death 
certificate that identifies the deceased person, the date and place of death, and the cause and manner of death. 

Requester - person completing this application 
To obtain a Minnesota death certificate, Minnesota law requires you (the requester) to provide information about 
yourself. Complete this section whether you apply by mail or in person.  

When you apply by mail, the Office of Vital Records (OVR) and county vital records offices will send the 
document(s) you requested to your mailing address. OVR does not have walk-in service. 

You may take your application to a county vital records office and apply in person. 

MANDATORY - Check the boxes below that describe your relationship to the deceased person: 
Only persons who have a right to a legal certificate (called tangible interest) may purchase a certified death 
certificate. Mark one or more of the boxes (lines 1-17) to describe your tangible interest in this death record. If 
you mark any of the boxes on lines 11-16, you must present or provide additional documentation with your 
application. 

If you are a representative of the Department of Veterans Affairs, please wait until the family has verified the 
death record before requesting a VA death certificate. 

Sign this form in front of a Notary Public if you are applying by MAIL or FAX. 
You must sign the Death Certificate Application in front of a notary if you are requesting a certified copy of a 
death certificate and mailing or faxing your application.  

If you are applying in person at a county vital records office, your signature does not need to be notarized. 

How many certified death certificates do you want? 
One certified death certificate costs $13. If you want additional copies of the death certificate, you must pay $13 
for the first copy and $6 each for the other copies. Enter $13 for the first certificate. Enter the number of 
additional certificates you want in the box under “# of additional copies”. 

If you choose to buy additional copies of a certified death certificate later, you must still pay $13 for the first copy 
and $6 each for the other copies. 
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How many VA death certificates do you want? 
The surviving spouse or next of kin of a veteran, a Veterans Services Officer or a representative of the Department 
of Veterans Affairs may obtain a VA death certificate. Fill in the number of VA certificates you want in the “# VA 
certificates” box. The certificates print with a statement that limits them to VA use only. 

How do you want your request processed? 
The Office of Vital Records (OVR) offers standard processing and faster processing. Standard processing means 
that OVR processes death certificate applications in the order received. Faster processing means that OVR moves 
your request ahead of standard requests. Go to How long does it take to get a death certificate? 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/death.html#dctime) to see OVR death certificate 
processing times. 

If you want standard processing, enter $0 on the application under ‘Choose processing’. 

If you want faster processing of the death certificate, enter $20 on the application under ‘Choose processing’. 
Faster processing does not include UPS delivery.  

You can get the certificate you want the same day if you take your application to a county vital records office. If 
you mail or fax your application to a county vital records office, check with that office for their processing times 
and costs.  

How do you want the certificates you ordered delivered to you? 
OVR will send the death certificates you ordered by regular mail unless you choose UPS delivery. 

If you want OVR to send the certificates by UPS, enter $16 on the application under ‘Choose delivery’. Check the 
box to require a signature for UPS delivery. The Office of Vital Records and UPS are not responsible for 
deliveries that do not require a signature. UPS delivery does not mean faster processing.  

If you want OVR to send the certificates by UPS to an address outside of the United States, you must include a 
UPS prepaid envelope when you submit your application and fees to OVR.  

If you take your application to a county vital records office, you can get the certificate you want the same day. If 
you mail or fax your application to a county vital records office, check with that office for their delivery options 
and costs.  

How do you want to pay? 
Fees for vital records are the same at all vital records offices statewide. You must pay for documents and services 
when you submit your application. Vital records offices will not process applications without payment.  

The Office of Vital Records accepts payment by credit card (VISA, MasterCard, and Discover), check, or money 
order. Make checks or money orders payable to the Minnesota Department of Health. 

County vital records offices may have different payment, processing and delivery options. Check with the county 
office to confirm payment and delivery options if you mail your application. 

Send your application, check, money order, or credit card information 
Send your application and payment to the Office of Vital Records, OR, take or mail your application to a county 
vital records office. If you send your application and payment to a county vital records office, call the office first 
to confirm processing, payment and delivery options. 

To obtain this information in a different format, call 651-201-5970. Printed on recycled paper. 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/death.html#dctime
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/death.html#dctime
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Death Certificate Application 
To obtain any Minnesota death certificate, Minnesota law requires you to provide the information on this form, pay the 
required fee, and provide acceptable identification. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 7, and Minnesota 
Rules, part 4601.2600, subpart 5. 
Information about the deceased person - used to locate the requested death record 

De
ce

as
ed

 P
er

so
n 

First name (required) Middle name (required) Last name (required) Name suffix 

Date of death [MM/DD/YYYY] (required) Date of birth [MM/DD/YYYY]     County of death (required) 

First parent’s name Second parent’s name Spouse on record (if any) 

 What kind of death certificate do you want? 
☐ Certified death certificate with cause of death information
☐ Certified death certificate without cause of death information (only for records 1997 to today)
☐ Certified VA death certificate for Veterans Affairs-related purposes
Requester - person completing this application 

Re
qu

es
te

r 

Requester name (please print) Date of birth (MM/DD/YYYY) 

Mailing address - UPS will not deliver to PO boxes or APO addresses. Apt/Unit # City State ZIP 

Daytime phone Email 

MANDATORY — Check the boxes below that describe your relationship to the deceased person: 
1. ☐ A child of the subject
4. ☐ The spouse on the record

2. ☐ The parent of the subject
5. ☐ The grandparent of the subject   

3. ☐ The sibling of the subject
6. ☐ The grandchild of the subject

7. ☐ Party responsible (licensed mortician or funeral director) for filing the death record
8. ☐ Subject’s personal representative; the certified death certificate is required for the administration of the estate
9. ☐ Successor of the subject; the certified death certificate is required for the administration of the estate
10. ☐ Trustee of a trust; the certified death certificate is required for the proper administration of the trust
11. ☐ Determination or protection of a personal or property right (You must submit documentation showing this relationship)
12. ☐ Adoption agency — to complete post-adoption search (Employee ID required)
13. ☐ Attorney — my Minnesota Attorney License Number is: _________________ NON-Minnesota Attorney - affix copy of license
14. ☐ I am presenting a valid, certified copy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) that orders release of the death certificate to me
15. ☐ Local/state/tribal/federal governmental agency (Employee ID required)
16. ☐ I have a signed statement from a person listed above; it specifies the decedent’s full name (first, middle, last) and date of

death, the signer’s relationship to the subject of the record, and authorizes me to obtain the certificate.
17. ☐  I am a representative of the Department of Veterans Affairs (Best practice: wait until family has verified death record.)
 Sign this form in front of a Notary Public if you are applying by MAIL or FAX. 
I certify that the information provided on this application is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge. It is against the law to 
provide false information to get a death certificate. You may be subject to fines, jail time or both. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.227 
and section 609.02, subdivisions 3 and 4. 
Signature of requester named above Date 

(if applying in person) 

N
ot

ar
y 

Pu
bl

ic
 Signed or attested before me on   _______ day of  __________________, 20_______ 

Notary stamp/seal 

Printed name of notary public 

Notary public signature My commission expires 

City of deathOR Age State

MN
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Death Certificate Application 
Name of person completing this application 

How many certified death certificates do you want? Fee Subtotals 
One certified death certificate $13 
Additional copies are $6 each if you buy them at the same time as one 
purchased at $13. 

# of additional copies  x $6 

How many VA death certificates do you want? # VA certificates Fee VA certificates 
VA death certificates are for Veterans Affairs related purposes only $0 $0 
How do you want your request processed? Fee Choose processing 

Standard – request processed in the order received $0 

Enter $0 or $20 Faster – your request goes ahead of standard requests (Does not include UPS delivery) $20 
How do you want the certificates you ordered delivered to you? Fee Choose delivery 

Regular First Class Mail® $0 

Enter $0 or $16 United Parcel Service (UPS) $16 

For UPS delivery, check here ☐ to require a signature.
The Office of Vital Records and UPS are not responsible for deliveries that do not require a signature.  
UPS will not deliver to PO boxes or APO addresses. 
If you want UPS delivery to an address outside of the United States, you must include a UPS prepaid envelope when you 
submit your application and fees. 

 The amount you pay must cover the certificates and services you requested. 

Amount due 
Write in total if filling out by hand 

Amount due 
How do you want to pay? Fees are due with the application and are non-refundable.  Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226. 

☐ Credit card
MasterCard/VISA/Discover

Cardholder name Valid thru MM/YY

Card number 3-digit security code

☐ Check
Check #____________________

☐ Money order
Money order #_______________________________ 

Make check or money order payable to the Minnesota Department 
of Health and send by mail with application. DO NOT SEND CASH. 

Checks returned for non-payment will result in a $30 charge to you. 
You could also face civil penalties.  
Minnesota Statutes, section 604.113, subdivision 2. 

 Send your application, check, money order, or credit card information 
By mail (Do not send cash) 

By FAX 

Minnesota Department of Health  
Office of Vital Records 
PO Box 64499  
St. Paul MN 55164-0499 

Application with credit card information only 
651-201-5740

The Office of Vital Records returns applications that are 
incomplete, not signed in front of a notary public, or not paid in full 
at the time of application. 

If you have questions about this form, contact health.vitalrecords@state.mn.us  or 651-201-5970. 

mailto:health.vitalrecords@state.mn.us
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