

Birth certificate for homeless youth

Eligibility

A youth who was born in Minnesota and is homeless may get their birth certificate at no cost.

As defined in law, a homeless youth is "a person 24 years of age or younger who is unaccompanied by a parent or guardian and is without shelter where appropriate care and supervision are available, whose parent or legal guardian is unable or unwilling to provide shelter and care, or who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence."

A homeless youth younger than 16 years of age may get their birth certificate even if the birth record is confidential.

Issuance and expiration

Each no-cost birth certificate issued to a youth will expire six months after the date of issuance. This helps protect against identity theft and fraud should the birth certificate get lost or stolen. The expiration date is printed on the certificate.

Youth experiencing homelessness may apply more than once for a no-cost birth certificate, for as long as they are eligible.

Application

Only one certificate may be issued for each request.

A homeless youth may request their birth certificate from any Minnesota vital records office. The youth must:

- Complete the Homeless Youth Birth Certificate Application and
- 2. Provide **one** of the following for identification:

- An unexpired identity document with a photo/image and signature that can be authenticated by the issuer (youth must send a copy of their ID if they mail or fax their application), OR
- An Affidavit of Homeless Status signed by an advocate, submitted within six months of signature, and with a copy of the advocate's employee ID, OR
- c. A Statement to Identify signed by someone who has known the youth two or more years (signature must be notarized if the youth mails or faxes the application).

Authority

- Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.45, subdivision 1a, (c)
- Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (2) and clause (3)
- Minnesota Statutes, section 144.2255
- Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226, subdivision 3
- Minnesota Administrative Rules Chapter 4601, part 2600

Minnesota Department of Health Office of Vital Records PO Box 64499 St. Paul, MN 55164-0499 651-201-5970 health.vitalrecords@state.mn.us www.health.state.mn.us

12/07/2021

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-5970.