
Minnesota Fathers’ Adoption Registry (MFAR) 
F R E Q U E N T L Y  A S K E D  Q U E S T I O N S

What is MFAR? 
The Minnesota Fathers’ Adoption Registry (MFAR) is a 
database of men (putative fathers) who think they may 
have fathered children with women to whom they are 
not married. The Minnesota Department of Health 
(MDH) maintains MFAR. 

What is a putative father? 
A putative father is a man of any age who thinks he 
may be a child's father. He is not married to the child’s 
mother when the child is born. He has not established 
paternity with a court order and he has not filed a 
Recognition of Parentage form with the Minnesota 
Department of Health. He is not a legal father. 

How does MFAR work? 
Before an adoption becomes final in Minnesota, the 
law requires a search of MFAR to determine if a 
putative father has registered. If he has registered, a 
notice goes to his address on file in MFAR. The father 
can then decide if he wants to participate in decisions 
regarding his child, establish paternity, or do nothing.  

When should a man register? 
A father not married to the mother of his child may 
sign up with MFAR before the child is born or within 30 
days after the child’s birth. Registration after 30 days 
may not protect his rights. 

How does a man register? 
The putative father must fill out, sign, and return the 
MFAR Registration Form to the Minnesota Department 
of Health. See the registration form for the address. 

Is registration required? 
No. Registration is voluntary. 

Will MFAR registration put a 
father’s name on the child’s birth 
record? 
No, his name will not go on the birth certificate. A birth 
record only lists the name of the legal father.  

What happens if a man does not 
register?  
If a putative father does not register: 

▪ He may not learn if his child is in the adoption 
process

▪ The adoption may occur without his approval

▪ The court may rule that he

▪ Has given up any rights he has as a father in 
the adoption process

▪ Abandoned the child

If a putative father registers 30 or more days after the 
child’s birth, the court will determine if the registration 
is valid.  

What must a man do after 
registering? 
A man who has registered must keep his mailing 
address in MFAR up-to-date; the court requires a 
notice be sent to the address on file if the child is in the 
adoption process. 

Does registration affect the 
mother? 
When a man registers with MFAR, he provides the 
mother’s address, if he knows it. If the man gives the 
mother’s address, we let the mother know about the 
registration. If the father does not give the mother’s 
address, or if the address is not valid, the mother does 
not learn about the registration. 
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Who can search MFAR? 
Agencies supervising the adoptive placement of a 
child, the birth mother, attorneys representing the 
birth mother or prospective adoptive parents, or the 
county agency involved may search the registry. Child 
support agencies may also request a search. Only 
searches made 31 days or more after the birth of the 
child are valid in court.  

What happens with a search? 
Before an adoption becomes final in Minnesota, the 
law requires a search of MFAR to determine if a 
putative father is registered. The court must have 
proof of the MFAR search and proof of notice to the 
putative father at the address on file with MFAR before 
it will finalize the adoption.  

What does a putative father do 
when notified by the court? 
The putative father may choose to: 

▪ Pursue his rights as a father

▪ Deny that he is the father and agree to the
adoption

▪ Do nothing.

If the father chooses to pursue his rights as a father, he 
must go to court and file a paternity action to establish 
that he is the child's legal father.  

How does a man establish 
paternity? 
He may fill out a Voluntary Recognition of Parentage (ROP) 
form with the mother; start a paternity action in the 
local District Court where the child lives, or contact the 
county child support office in the county where the 
child lives to apply and get help establishing parentage. 

For information about adding a father to a birth record 
with a Recognition of Parentage (ROP) or with a court 
order, see Birth Records and Paternity 
(www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/rop.html). 

If a man cannot afford an 
attorney 
If a man who has registered with MFAR cannot pay for 
an attorney, he may contact the court administrator’s 
office in the county where the child lives. He may 
qualify for legal counsel appointed at public expense. 

Why is a putative father’s name 
not on the birth record? 
The birth record of a child lists only the names of the 
legal parents.  

MDH has not received a signed and notarized ROP 
form or a paternity court order. 

Will I have to pay child support if I 
register with MFAR? 
Registering on MFAR does not force a man to pay child 
support. However, child support agencies may search 
MFAR to locate a putative father, establish paternity, 
and establish an order for support.  

Minnesota Department of Health 
Minnesota Fathers’ Adoption Registry 
PO Box 64499 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0499 
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