

Licensee Regulatory Modifications

RADIATION CONTROL, RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS UNIT

ATTENTION

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) Radiation Control Unit is aware that because of the current travel restrictions, recommendations to work remotely and avoid contact, and furloughs or layoffs due to the peacetime emergency, some licensees are having difficulties complying with the timeliness of certain radiation protection program requirements.

Minnesota session laws 2020, Chapter 74, article 1, section 13 issued on April 15, 2020, allows the Commissioner of Health to temporarily delay, waive, or modify Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4731 that governs the use of radioactive materials.

MDH supports licensee's efforts to protect public health and offers the following guidance for licensees to assure the continuity of radiation safety during COVID-19-related restrictions. This is a fluid situation and this notice is subject to change.

Requirements for Implementation

The Radioactive Materials Unit will provide direction and guidance to the licensees who meet the needs of Minnesota session laws 2020, Chapter 74, article 1, section 13.

If a licensee uses the regulatory relief for the licensee's recurring radiation protection program requirements under Minnesota Rules, 4731.2360, subpart 1 (leak testing frequency); 4731.4070, subpart 2, item A, and subpart 4, item A (industrial radiography leak testing frequency); 4731.2200, subpart 2 (radiation measurement equipment calibration), 4731.4060, subpart 2 item A (industrial radiography survey meter calibration); 4731.4080, subpart 1 (quarterly inventory); 4731.4140, subpart 3 and subpart 4, item A (industrial radiographer training and job performance review); 4731.2010 subpart 3 (annual program review); and 4731.3075 subpart 5 (commitments made by the licensee in their license application and referenced in specific conditions in their license document for: semiannual sealed source inventory, radiation survey frequency, dosimeter exchange frequency, radiation safety refresher training frequency, and radiation safety committee meeting frequency) the licensee must:

- Document which rule parts are being extended due to COVID-19 restrictions
- Document a plan to come into compliance within 60 days after the termination of the peacetime emergency declared in Executive Order 20-01
- Show compliance within 60 days after the termination of the peacetime emergency declared in Executive Order 20-01
- Make the documentation available to the MDH Radioactive Materials Unit inspectors upon the next inspection

Situations Not Included in this Modification

This modification only applies to the specific rule parts indicated in this document. This regulatory relief does not include initial or post maintenance equipment calibration, initial source leak testing, or initial safety training.

Radiation Control, Radioactive Materials Unit 625 Robert St N PO Box 64975 St. Paul, MN 55164-0975 651-201-4400 health.ram@state.mn.us www.health.state.mn.us/ram

08/24/2020

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4400.