Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification Program - MDH

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification Program

Announcements

Criminal Background Check Updates

One Time License Fee Surcharge for New Applicants

Effective October 1, 2018, all individuals applying for hearing instrument dispenser certification must pay a one-time surcharge of $22.50 to process a criminal background check (CBC) Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.17(1). Applicants submitting an application must provide a check or money order payable to the “Minnesota Department of Health” for the license application fee including the one-time CBC surcharge.

Hearing instrument dispensers who were certified before January 1, 2018, shall pay a onetime surcharge of $22.50 to renew their certification when it expires after October 31, 2020. The surcharge shall cover the commissioner's costs associated with criminal background checks.

Please note that new applicants are also required to pay an online applicant background study fee to the Department of Human Services (DHS). Instructions for completing the background study can be accessed here: Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF) We recommend applicants mail their certification application to MDH and start the online background study process on the same day.

Criminal Background Checks Required for Hearing Instrument Dispensers

EFFECTIVE APRIL 16, 2018

Effective April 16, 2018, all applicants for initial certification as a hearing instrument dispenser must undergo a criminal background check as required by Minnesota Statutes 144.0572. This process can take up to three weeks or longer. The Department of Human Services processes this background study and the fee is separate from the application fee. The fee for a background study is $50 which includes the cost of fingerprinting. The Department of Health will use this information when making certification decisions. For those renewing their certification, background checks will be required beginning January 1, 2020. For more information on how this data can be used, please refer to the statute: 144.0572 CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECKS

Instructions for completing the background study can be accessed here: Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF)

2017 Legislation

Effective July 1, 2017 the certification fee for initial and renewal Hearing Instrument Dispenser will increase to $750.00. Initial application fee shall be prorated. View fee schedule here.

Effective July 1, 2017 the late fees will increase to $260.00

Effective July 1, 2017 the Hearing Instrument Dispenser Trainee fee will increase to $230.00.

FDA Guidance

Effective for hearing instruments dispensed on or after December 7, 2016, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) will not enforce the requirement that persons aged 18 years or older either have a medical examination or waive such evaluation prior to obtaining air-conduction hearing aids.

In making this decision, MDH is following guidance from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The guidance is intended to support consumer access to most hearing aids.

Both the FDA and MDH will continue to enforce the requirement that persons under age 18 be medically evaluated prior to obtaining hearing aids and to require compliance with the FDA warning regarding eight medical conditions.

Practitioner Renewal Information

Renewal notices for the October 31, 2018 renewal were mailed on August 8, 2018. Your renewal notice will provide you with the user name and password for the online renewal process. Once you receive the renewal letter, you may begin the online renewal process through our online portal at online portal If you do not receive your renewal notice by August 24, 2018 please call 651-201-3724 or email health.HID@state.mn.us

If your Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification expired on or before 10/31/2017, please email health.hid@state.mn.us to request a renewal notice.

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Examination

Trainee Information

Initial Application Information

Practitioner Records

Practitioner Information

Consumer Information Center

Updated Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 08:30AM