Body Art Announcements
2020 Body Art Technician Renewals
Renewal applications for Body Art technician licenses expiring March 31, 2020, will be mailed out by the end of January.
Completed applications must be returned via mail to MDH and must be postmarked by March 1 or earlier, so the department has time to process all applications before the expiration date. If you have not received your renewal application by Feb. 3, please contact us.
Renewal applications sent after March 1 must include the late fee of $150.
Call 651-201-3770 or email us at email@example.com with any questions.
Please note: pursuant to Minnesota Statute, Chapter 146B.10, subd. 2a(a) “The technical violation fee for practicing body art after a body art license has expired and before it is renewed is $200 for any part of the first month, plus $200 for any part of the subsequent month up to one year. Continued practice or operation after one year becomes a disciplinary violation.”
August 1, 2019 Legislative Changes
Legislative Changes Effective August 1, 2019
Changes have been made by the Legislature in the 2019 session modifying the requirements for supervisors of temporary body art technicians. These changes are effective August 1, 2019.
Supervision of a temporary technician requires the following experience:
- Licensure as a body piercing technician for one year OR must have performed at least 500 body piercings.
- Licensure as tattoo technician in Minnesota or a jurisdiction with which Minnesota has reciprocity for at least two years.
Technicians who agree to supervise more than two temporary tattoo technicians, or more than four body piercing technicians, during the same period must provide MDH with a supervisory plan that includes the following items:
- The type of license held by each supervisee.
- The number of hours per week the temporary technician is being supervised.
- The anticipated duration of the training period.
- How they will supervise more than two technicians at a given time.
Supervisors will now be required to notify MDH when they are terminating a supervisory plan, and to provide a reason for doing so. Notifications must be submitted in writing within 14 days of the termination. Additionally, MDH may refuse to approve as supervisor any technician who has been disciplined in Minnesota or in another jurisdiction.
2019 Establishment Renewals
Renewal applications for body art establishment licenses expiring September 30, 2019, were mailed July 30, 2019.
Please submit your renewal application, along with the renewal fee, on or before September 1, 2019. This gives the department time to review your application before the expiration date.
Renewal applications sent out after September 1, 2019, must include the late fee of $300.
Call 651-201-3770, or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions.Please note: pursuant to Minnesota Statute, Chapter 146B.10, subd. 2a(c) “The technical violation fee for operating a body art establishment after the license has expired and before it is renewed is $300 for any part of the first month, plus $300 for any part of the subsequent month up to six months. Continued practice or operation after six months becomes a disciplinary violation.”
Any individual performing body art without a valid license is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. Any individual performing tattoos to persons under the age of 18 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor (regardless of parental or guardian consent). If you are aware of individuals practicing without a license or tattooing minors, please complete a Minnesota Body Art Complaint Form (PDF) and mail it to us, or contact your local police.