Bloodborne Pathogen Training Requirements - MDH

Bloodborne Pathogen Training Information

Bloodborne Pathogen (BBP) Requirements

BBP coursework of at least five hours must be completed within the year PRECEDING your initial application or your renewal application.

In order to qualify for the training requirements of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B.03, Subd. 4, the training must include:

  1. bloodborne pathogens,
  2. the prevention of disease transmission,
  3. infection control, and
  4. aseptic techniques.

To comply with the five-hour requirement, an applicant may choose to take multiple courses. All individuals applying for or renewing a Minnesota Body Art Technician or a Minnesota Guest Artist license must attach copies of certificate(s) with their application.

Bloodborne Pathogen (BBP) Coursework

The Minnesota Department of Health accepts but does not endorse any of the following training programs:

Above Training
2 contact hours (online)
Bloodborne Pathogens Training

Advanced Associates Premeiere CE
5 contact hours (online)
Minnesota: Bloodborne Pathogens Training for Body Art Professionals

Alliance of Professional Tattooists
2-6 contact hours (depending on online study or in classroom)
Online Blood Borne Pathogen Certification

The American Red Cross
2 contact hours (online)
Bloodborne Pathogens Training for Tattoo Artists - Online Course

Association of Professional Piercers
5.5 contact hours (online)
APP Online Courses (Bloodborne Pathogens for Body Piercers 2020 Minnesota Edition)

Body Art Training Group
5 contact hours (online)
Bloodborne Pathogens Courses

Biologix Solutions
5 contact hours (online)
Body Art Professionals Approved Online Body Art Industry Specific OSHA/Cal-OSHA Compliant Bloodborne Pathogens (BBP) Training

4 contact hours (online)
Bloodborne Pathogens and Infection Control for Tattooing and Body Piercing

In-Pulse CPR, Inc.
1 hour
Bloodborne Pathogens Training

International CPR Institute
3 hours
Bloodborne Pathogens Training

MN Safety Council
2 hours
Minnesota Safety Council: Course Details and Registration

Pacific Medical Training
3 contact hours (online)
Bloodborne Pathogens (BBP) for non-medical persons

Pro Trainings, LLC
2 contact hours
Bloodborne Pathogens Online Courses from ProTrainings

Informational Resources on Bloodborne Pathogens in the Workplace

US Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Updated Thursday, 05-May-2022 16:52:05 CDT