Information Bulletin 16-04
HWS: Housing With Services: 25
Housing with Services (HWS): Housing Manager Continuing Education and Housing Manager Dementia Training Requirements
New Laws Effective January 1, 2016
The purpose of this information bulletin is to inform Housing with Services (HWS) Establishments of new state laws effective January 1, 2016 and enforced January 1, 2017 related to Housing Manager Continuing Education and Housing Manager Dementia Training.
The Minnesota Department of Health will verify compliance with the continuing education requirement in the HWS establishment's annual registration form.
The Housing Manager laws do not apply to a HWS establishment serving the homeless registered under Minnesota Statute 144D.025.
Housing Manager training requirements are located in Minnesota Statute 144D.10. The HWS laws are located in Chapter 144D.
Implementation of Housing Manager Continuing Education
Effective January 1, 2016, the person primarily responsible for oversight and management of a HWS establishment, as designated by the owner of the housing with services establishment must obtain:
- At least 30 hours of continuing education every two years of employment as the manager in topics relevant to the operations of the housing with services establishment and the needs of its tenants.
Continuing education earned to maintain a professional license, such as nursing home administrator license, nursing license, social worker license and real estate license can be used to complete this requirement.
Housing Manager Dementia Training
HWS Establishments with Alzheimer's disease special programs or special care units
Managers of HWS Establishments with Alzheimer's disease special programs or special care units, and/or that advertise, market, or otherwise promote as providing specialized care for Alzheimer's disease or related disorders under Minnesota Statute 325F.72:
- All managers must have at least two hours of training on topics related to persons with dementia for each 12 months of employment thereafter.
- Managers hired January 1, 2016 or later, the housing manager continuing education must have at least eight hours of initial documented training on the following topics related to persons with dementia completed within 160 working hours of the employment start date:
- an explanation of Alzheimer's disease and related disorders;
- assistance with activities of daily living;
- problem solving with challenging behaviors; and
- communication skills
New managers may satisfy the initial dementia training requirements by producing written proof of previously completed required training within the past 18 months.
Documentation and Records
Documentation of the training, the dates conducted and the topics covered must be documented in writing and recorded in the employee’s personnel file. MDH has provided an optional form for documenting compliance with these requirements. Please see attached form.
The HWS establishment must maintain records for at least three years demonstrating that the Housing Manager, the person primarily responsible for oversight and management of the establishment, has attended educational programs as required by Minnesota Chapter 144D.
Enforcement of Dementia Care Training Requirements
For housing managers, the commissioner shall review the statement verifying compliance with the required training described in section 144D.10, paragraph (d), through the housing with services registration application and renewal application process in accordance with section 144D.03. The commissioner may also request and review training records at any time during the year.
Fines for noncompliance
Beginning January 1, 2017, MDH may impose a $200 fine for every staff person required to obtain dementia care training who does not have training records to show compliance. Prior to imposing the fine, the HWS Establishment will be allowed two weeks for staff to complete the required training. Fines will be imposed on the HWS establishment for staff who have not met the training requirements.
The HWS must allow for the required training as part of employee and staff duties. Imposition of a fine by the commissioner does not negate the need for the required training. Continued noncompliance with the requirements of sections 144D.065 and 144D.10 may result in revocation or nonrenewal of the housing with services registration.
Public List on MDH Website
After January 1, 2017, the Minnesota Department of Health shall make public the list of all housing with services establishments that have complied with the training requirements.
Technical Assistance and Resources
From January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2016, the commissioner shall provide technical assistance instead of imposing fines for noncompliance with the training requirements. The commissioner shall also provide information about available training resources.
Training resources are available to meet the training requirements in this law from a variety of sources. One available resource is provided through the Minnesota Act on Alzheimer's collaborative which provides several options.
Please refer to: Act on Alzheimer's
For additional information or if you have questions please contact:
Minnesota Department of Health
Licensing & Certification Program
PO Box 64900,
St. Paul, MN 55164-0900
651-201-4101, toll-free (888)345-0823
Housing with Services (HWS) Housing Manager Training Requirements – Optional Form (PDF)