Consent and Confidentiality Laws in MN
Minnesota has state laws that allow minors to consent to certain types of services without parent or guardian permission (Minnesota Statutes Sections 144.341 - 144.344). These laws help young people seek confidential health care for sensitive issues such as pregnancy or pregnancy prevention, sexually transmitted infections, and substance use or abuse. Minnesota Statute 253B.04 subd.1 allows youth who are 16 years of age or older to consent for inpatient mental health services.
Confidentiality protections allow adolescents and young adults to seek the health care they need and protect their privacy for these services. How the law protects confidential services for young people depends on their age (whether a patient is a minor - under 18 years or an adult - 18 years or older), and whether the patient can legally consent to their own care.
Below are some resources to help understand the consent and confidentiality laws in Minnesota:
- Adolescent & Young Adult Health Care in Minnesota: A Guide to Understanding Consent & Confidentiality Laws (PDF)
- Consent & Confidentiality: Providing Medical and Mental Health Services to Minors in Minnesota Legal Guidelines for Professional (PDF)
- Minor's Consent for Health Care, MN State Statute summary (2018) (PDF)