Medical Cannabis Program Updates
What Happens After the Emergency Executive Order Ends: Frequently Asked Questions
Emergency Executive Order 20-26 (PDF) went into effect on March 31, 2020. As Minnesota begins to safely transition back to a more normal summer, Gov. Tim Walz has started to rescind Executive Orders that, due to the state’s progress against COVID-19, will no longer be necessary. These changes will impact Minnesota’s Medical Cannabis Program. Medical cannabis patients and their caregivers should plan ahead to renew their registration to avoid any potential interruptions or delay in getting their medical cannabis.
How to contact us
Our Call Center staff are available 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. You can reach us at 651-201-5598 or 844-879-3381 (toll-free) or email email@example.com.
You must submit a complete re-enrollment application and get it approved by Aug. 1, 2021; otherwise, your account will expire because patients must renew their enrollment once a year.
To start your re-enrollment process, contact your health care practitioner to get recertified for your qualifying medical condition.
Once recertified, you will receive an email with a link to your re-enrollment application. You must pay your annual registration fee at that time. After you submit your application, the Office of Medical Cannabis will contact you by email when your application has been approved or if we need additional documentation.
Please note: A certification from your health care practitioner will expire after 90 days if you do not complete enrollment during that time. Office of Medical Cannabis staff may take up to 30 days to process your re-enrollment application. Applications are processed in the order they are received.
No. Extensions on enrollments or certifications are not allowed under state law.
To see who certified you last year, log in to your Registry account and find your certifying practitioner’s information under “Certification Information.” If you need help finding a participating health care practitioner, here are some tips:
- Ask your medical team or advocacy groups that represent your medical condition.
- Search on the internet, including the websites for Minnesota’s medical cannabis manufacturers (Green Goods and LeafLine Labs).
The Office of Medical Cannabis cannot share lists of participating health care practitioners, because their information is considered private data.
Patients can use telemedicine for the initial certification until June 30, 2021. After that, for any new patient, a health care practitioner is required to conduct an in-person visit for initial certification. They will assess the patient to determine if they have any of the qualifying medical conditions.
According to Emergency Executive Order 21-21, a person’s status as an emergency caregiver will expire two business days after 70% of people 16 years or older in Minnesota have received at least one dose of COVID-19 vaccine or by July 1, 2021, whichever is earlier.
To reinstate their enrollment, your caregiver will need a background check and can start that right away. Follow the instructions on the Designated Caregiver Background Check Informed Consent form (PDF). Because of changes in law, patients will no longer need to get approval from their health care practitioner to add a caregiver.
Once the Office of Medical Cannabis receives an approved designated caregiver background check, your caregiver’s enrollment will be extended two years from the date of the background check. Your caregiver can then pick up medical cannabis on your behalf.
Please note: It can take up to one month to process background checks.
No, state law does not allow for extending caregiver enrollments. Designated caregiver background checks are valid for two years. To reinstate your caregiver enrollment, you must pass a background check from the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. For detailed instructions, see the Designated Caregiver Background Check Informed Consent Form (PDF).
Because of changes in law, patients and their registered designated caregiver can continue to use teleconsults with a Cannabis Patient Center pharmacist.
Yes. Because of changes in law, patients and registered designated caregivers can continue to use curbside pickup.
- Patients will no longer be required to get approval from their health care practitioner to add a caregiver; however, caregivers will still be required to complete a background check.
- A registered designated caregiver may support up to six medical cannabis patients at one time.
- Registered patients ages 21 and older will have access to smokable medical cannabis, effective in spring 2022.
Dried raw cannabis will be allowed for registered patients who are 21 years or older beginning either on March 1, 2022, or at an earlier date if the testing labs and administrative rules are ready sooner. Check the Medical Cannabis Program web pages for updates.