- Medical Cannabis Home
- For Patients
- For Caregivers
- For Health Care Practitioners
- For Public Safety
- Laws and Rules
- Print Materials and Forms
- Registry Login/Create Account
- Petitions Process
- Data and Reports
- About the Medical Cannabis Program
Guidance on Where to Use Medical Cannabis
Patients registered with Minnesota's Medical Cannabis Program can use their medical cannabis only within Minnesota state lines. Medical cannabis can be used on private property but cannot be smoked or vaped in public places where it is illegal to smoke or vape commercial tobacco. It is against the law for patients to grow their own cannabis plants.
Medical cannabis cannot be used or carried:
- On a school bus or van
- On the grounds of any preschool, primary, or secondary school
- In any correctional facility
- On the grounds of any child care facility or home day care
- On the grounds of federal facilities (such as courthouses, post offices, airports, and national parks)
Vaping or smoking medical cannabis is not allowed:
- In any public place, including on public transportation, in any indoor or outdoor area used by or open to the general public or place of employment.
- While driving, or operating machinery, and anywhere vapor could be inhaled by a minor child who is not a patient or where the smoke would be inhaled by a minor child.
People who are living in apartments should check their lease agreement or property manager to determine if any policies ban use of medical cannabis in individual rental units. This is especially important for people who live in federally assisted housing.
Due to the federal prohibition of cannabis, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) does not have the discretion to admit users of marijuana, including medical cannabis, to the public housing program. For applicants, if the public housing authority or private landlord determines that any member of a household is an illegal user of a controlled substance (including medical cannabis), it will deny admission to the housing.
For hotel, motel, or vacation rentals, ask about the rules before you book your stay.
If a registered patient is caught by law enforcement using medical cannabis where it is prohibited, they have no protections from medical cannabis program laws and subject to criminal and civil penalties.
Keep your medicine in its original container
Patients should keep their medical cannabis product in its original container (the label provides proof that you are a registered patient in the program).
Medical cannabis should be kept in a secure location, out of the reach of children and pets. For poison emergencies, call the Minnesota Poison Control System at 1-800-222-1222. Service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.